We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #106 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 22 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 4,339 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank VonL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Great location and service but not very clean in the private areas. A good spring cleaning of all the surfaces, carpets and walls in the room is overdue. The bed was too small and the bathroom was puny.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladysc215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Gladysc215,

Thank you for your feedback form your stay back in February.
I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay but appreciate you mentioning our teams helpful attitude.
Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you for providing a review.

Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank K I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great Location close to everything in the city and check in was seamless BUT... the size of the bathroom was terrible. Hand basin across the corner restricted the room and there was nowhere to place any bathroom toiletries. Had to put the toilet lid down as a table. Room was also very small but adequate. I booked a double, it would have been interesting if I had booked a single.
Hallways were narrow and dark. A bit like a Japanese business hotel
Staff were very helpful and that made the stay a bit better.

Room Tip: If you are travelling solo then book a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Muruk,

Thank you for your recent patronage and for your time to provide feedback.

Without looking into your booking, I could not tell what room was allocated to you, however we are in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms. They are currently being done in stages. On your next stay with us, I would recommend for you to ask for room with refurbished bathrooms.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedbacks. Greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Two thumbs up for its location. We stayed for two nights in a twin sharing room and we were so amazed with the size of the room and even more surprised on the bedding. It's like staying in a kid's room, small room, small bed and small bathroom. The hall way is narrow. It is more like a budget hotel, perhaps a 'Mercure Hotel' wanna be.

Other than that I think everything is fine, we had a warm welcome at the front desk and a quick check in. However, I think the front desk must know how to distinguish Le Club Accor member guest (especially I presented the membership card when checked in) from a non member. This happened when I checked out from the hotel and I was requesting for a payment receipt (as I made a reservation through the Accor website and charges already incurred) and the guy at the front desk mistaken me from making transaction at Agoda.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Martin W,

Thank you for your constructive review. I am glad that you enjoyed our fantastic location.

Rest assured that I have personally addressed your valid concern regarding the billing to our Front Office Manager for his urgent perusal.

Thank you again and we hope that we can look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, General Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 161 in Melbourne
965 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £61 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing