We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
“Affordable stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It's really an affordable stay with David Jones and Myers just around the corner. I stayed at a refurbished bathroom, it would be much better if the bedroom and kitchenette have a make over too! It would be great if there's heater in the room too.

Staff were generally friendly and my concern on the bathroom cleanliness was addressed upon my check in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sevon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sevon F,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us..
Our location is the perfect base for a Melbourne vacation.
I am delighted to read that you found our team member to be very friendly and your concern was addressed to your satisfaction.
The in-room temperature can be controlled individually. Alternatively if you require an additional heater, our team member would have been able to organize one for you.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    1,673
    1,266
    408
    219
See reviews for
718
1,524
566
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I wouldn't return to this hotel.
1. The location is fantastic,no denying that
2. The rooms are TINY, like ridiculously tiny
3. The beds and pillows hard as a rock, pillow foam all falling apart
4. Paper thing walls, I could practically hear my neighbours breathing. Not fun listening to lifts, talking, banging doors all night
5. The interior is just down right old and gross looking
6. If you go through the photos that someone else has uploaded, our room was basically identical with tiles hanging off the walls
7. The thing that bothered me the most was to turn on the shower, you have to pull this level thing down near the bath taps, impossible not to get scolded with hot water or freezing water when trying to adjust. No idea how you would even do this if you were elderly, bad back, had a disability.
8. My advice is to pay that little bit extra and stay on the other side, Mecure on Swanston OR anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crappppe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, General Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced.
We are currently over half way through our bathroom renovation program which addresses all the points you mentioned and have also planned works beginning soon that will action the overall appearance of the rooms and bedding. All renovation projects are programmed to provide sustainability to the hotel and our guests and your feedback and our already planned schedule will continue to drive this improvement program.
Once again my apologies and thank you for your comments.
Regards, John Dickson Dickson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we stayed here saturday night with a group of friends, we were in melbourne to watch the footy. From the very start we had a lovely stay. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but clean. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet, even for a saturday night. It was right in the heart of Chinatown so great access to the MCG via a tram, a drink at the Windsor and dinner that night only a stroll away.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and away from the lifts and had no trouble with noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sharon G,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Reviewer.
We're pleased that you had a lovely stay with us.

The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with China town, most tourist attractions and shopping at your doorstep, as well as only a short tram ride to the MCG.

We look forward to seeing you back in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is located in a fantastic location. The staff were very pleasant and the entertainment options re dining etc.. were very good. Our room 1233 was very small, however having stayed at this hotel ten years ago, we were aware of what we were in for. What was inexcusable was the cleanliness of the shower. The entire grouted area of the tiles in the shower were covered in black mould. For this reason, I struggle to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimamo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear K_moore29,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location & the friendliness of our team member.
Rest assured that I have personally addressed your valid concern to our Executive Housekeeper for his urgent perusal.

We are in the process of refurbishing the bathrooms and they are currently being done in stages with a couple more floors to be done (12th floor is one of them). This is not an excuse for the substandard cleanliness you encountered. Once again, our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Should you decide to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me via email on H3028-gm02@accor.com & I shall endeavor to assist you.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I would agree with other reviews about this hotel, great location for shopping food and convenience but rooms have paper thin walls. I could hear neighbour's door opening and closing all the time, Water running the drain pipes and people walking in the lobby. It's a shame because the staff was friendly and rooms were clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJ_788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear CJ_788,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor.
As a Senior Reviewer we appreciate your honest feedback, both the positive and the not so positive ones.

Hopefully we can still look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
694 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing