We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at mercure welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #109 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stay at mercure welcome”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was a great stay. They have new refurbished toilets and showers. The kitchenette was neat and clean. The housekeeping service is excellent. This was my 4th stay and will definitly visit again. Great Location. Walking distance to the bourke street mall/david jones/myers/H &M. Restaurants round the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Natasha D,

Thank you for your positive review.
We appreciate your continuous patronage and your kind words.
WE look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    1,682
    1,272
    410
    219
See reviews for
724
1,529
566
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to Melbourne to see Les Miserable at Her Majesty's Theatre - Mecure Welcome was a great price - comfortable very clean room and very quiet - right in the middle of the city.
Just a 2 block walk through China Town to the Theatre
Dinner in Louden Restaurant was excellent and very well priced

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor - it was very quiet Room faced east the morning sun in winter was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimanishep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Jimanishep,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Reviewer.

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our location is fantastic, just a stone throw away from China Town and only a short stroll away to Her Majesty's Theatre.
Thank you also for your kind words regarding dinner at Louden, I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Executive Chef & Restaurant Manager.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager.

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in July 2014. Very reasonably priced so wasn't expecting much. So surprised. Hotel in great central location so friendly staff. Was very clean and room lovely. Had breafast there and was really nice. Have stayed in other hotels in Melbourne which were more pricey but not as good as this. Will definitely stay again on future visits.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Colin M,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Reviewer.
We're pleased to read that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay.
Thank you for your kind words, greatly appreciated.

We can't wait to have you back on your next visits.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk Park, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Check in was done by an asian girl with an canadian accent quite good at her job,helped us out with a map of the city & bfast discount vouchers. The room is small the bath is lucky to be 3 foot long yes 3 foot. The shower curtain rail had surface rust on the rail at least a few mths worth , also the shower curtain had hooks & the curtain itself had cuts in it ,obviously to get it on and off easy( but why not just buy one with normal clip on hooks??). The blankets they keep in the cupboard had tears and holes in them ,the walls and ceiling are thin you can even hear when the person upstairs drops the toilet seat, the noise travels down to the room below, the vending machines on the floor are also noisy when someone uses them at 2am you can here the cling cling of the coins then a drop of what they purchased and we were 4 rooms away from the machine! But location wise it is very handy 2 min walk to china town, 5 min if that to the mall and 15 min walk to the vic markets. Also the airport shuttle bus does a pick up and drop off from the hotel. The buffet bfast is good but make sure you get the vouchers from reception as it is cheaper,however I asked for poached eggs and the girl chef had put too much vinegar in the water so basically all i got was a sour egg (I could not eat it ),there should be a sign to pre warn diners about this as some people are allergic to vinegar or just poach them without vinegar.( I know it can be done as I was a chef for 20 years) Hope my comment help others out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Suzie2107,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
I am very disappointed to read of the slip in standard you experienced with regards to some aspects of your room. I would like to assure you that the comfort of our guest’s and the cleanliness of our rooms is very important to us. As such I have personally addressed the matter with our Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager for their urgent perusal.

I also have passed on your concerns regading the poached eggs to our Executive Chef for him to address it to the rest of his team. In the future, please let us know of your preference for not having them poached with vinegar on the water.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback & hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is in the category that it is perfectly fine as long as you are thinking of a good place to sleep at night, rather than a hotel experience. It does what it says on the tin. Good bed (although we were upgraded to a King, other comments have said smaller rooms BUT you are in the centre of town....) bathroom ok, microwave/kettle/toaster. No real provision to eat in though, particularly if staying as a couple but then you are in the heart of Melbourne's CBD - more than plenty of options on doorstep. Careful if taking Skybus to hotel - may not drop in front although could collect in front...No complaints about hotel. Did not try hotel dining options and did not seen to be a gym/fitness centre available but Melbourne Central (5 min away) has a Fitness First.

Room Tip: Some tram noise in evening but higher the better would avoid this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Townmouse_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Townmouse_travels

Thank you for writing such a detailed review, greatly appreciated.

Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, my sister and I stayed her for 1 night as we were in Melbourne for the A-league.

The hotel is pretty average but did the job for us. It had a queen and a single which is very rare to find.

The hotel is in a great location but extremely hard to find/get to as it is down a one way lane way.

Very central to all major shops, restaurant etc.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Lauren P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay with us.

Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

KInd regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend, despite my misgivings about the look of the hotel itself.

I have never stayed in a Mercure chain before so I am not sure if the 'Welcome' is indicative of a Mercure's general quality, however I doubt I will stay in one again based on this experience alone.

The hotel absolutely stank. It smelled like old, stale cigarette smoke. The carpets were hideous and dirty and I am convinced that they were ripped out of some old, down-at-heel casino. My room looked out onto a slab of concrete and there was no natural light available. The bathroom was yellowed with age and tiny.
I was situated right next to a lift which woke me up every time it went past, it was so terribly noisy.

Some sort of loud construction noise commenced at about 4am and upon calling 'Reception' to complain, they stated that I was the 30th person to complain and there was nothing they could do.

Unfortunately I stayed here during the Melbourne Cup and there was no other accommodation easily available or I would have checked out immediately. The only benefit to the hotel was the excellent location, hence my 2 star rating.

Room Tip: I would be surprised to find out that there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, General Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Eva,
Thank you for your comments however a little confused over the dates and timing of your stay with us as this review dates back to September 2013 and referrs to Melbourne Cup last year?
Regardless, I would apologise over any such experience when ever the dates of your visit.
Please feel free to contact me directly to clarify any aspect of this and I am happy to comment further.
Yours sincerely, John Dickson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing