We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised....”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After reading mixed reports on the Mecure Welcome Melbourne, we were very happy with our stay. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet, with a lovely new bathroom.
We have stayed in many hotels over the years and found this hotel great value for money, perfect position, and very friendly staff, will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Mary W,

Thank you for your positive review. I am absolutely thrilled to read about your experience with us and couldn't be happier that you decided to try us yourself, and be pleasantly surprised.

We look forward to your next visits.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    1,687
    1,275
    411
    219
See reviews for
729
1,530
567
671
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to a theatre we were visiting, and also to the shopping heart of Melbourne CBD. The rooms were standard...had everything you needed - but what it lacked in shine it made up for in location. Staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient. The hotel bordered the Chinatown stretch which meant excellent restaurants so close by, and the Emporium Shopping Centre was across the road. Would definitely recommend. Everything within walking distance, even the DFO was only a half hour walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopsiethecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Poopsiethecow,

Thank you for your compliments on our location the friendly, efficient service provided by our team member. I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you also for the recommendation and We look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Tucked away in the heart of the cbd, loads of dining and shopping close by, great staff. Only stayed one night but will definitely be back! The room was clean, compact but big enough for one or
two. If your wanting value for money, central location and comfy beds then this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Lucie N,

Thank you for your positive review.
Your recommendation is indeed greatly appreciated.
We do hope to see you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location for this hotel is excellent, right in the city. I travelled with a teenage son and we had twin beds. It was quiet, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was reasonably new. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and it was a standard buffet. We booked the room at booking.com so got a deal - I would not have been as happy if I had to pay full price. The check in staff were helpful and businesslike. Nothing that would leave a lasting memory but it was most definitely fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Ours was away from the lifts and down the hall. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Diane C,

Thank you for your review.
As a Senior Reviewer we appreciate your honest feedback.
I'm pleased we met your expectations and our facilities fit for your purpose.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

As we were in the city for a show one evening, we decided to stay the night. Having stayed in the Mercure Welcome hotel beforehand, we knew what to expect.
When we have stayed here before, we booked and received a room with a queen bed. Much to our delight, this time our room had a king-sized bed in it. Although the room itself was not huge, it was more than adequate. To make things even better, we had a microwave inside the room. That meant that we were able to buy our evening meal from one of the many nearby restaurants and eat it in our room, before heading off to the theatre.
This particular hotel has a deal with a multi-storey car park in Russel St. We parked the car and then walked to the hotel. Upon checking in, we had our car park ticket stamped by the hotel receptionist. Although we had a bit of a bother leaving the car park as there are no attendants available at the car park, it still beats paying the full $69 per day.
As this hotel is in the heart of Chinatown, the location is ideal for a city stay. Most things in thecity are only a few minutes' walk away. With an abundance of restaurants nearby, a hotel guest need never go hungry.
As we were checking out the next day, we noticed a group of airline staff wer also checking out. Although we wer unable to see which of the Asian airlines they were from, it just goes to show that the hotel cannot be that bad if airline staff stay here.
The cost of this hotel compared to other city centre hotels is very reasonable. We are not too worried about luxury extras that many other hotels charge for. A clean compfortable room is mainly what we are after just for one night. Being at the end of a corridor, we did not have loud guests walking past us all the time. Some guests are so inconsiderate.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room close to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ianb111,

It is always pleasing to read a positive review from a Top Contributor!
I'm glad the services used were satisfactory.
Our close proximity to Chinatown, transport and tourist attractions is very beneficial to all travellers.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing