We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #107 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 28 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, General Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,243)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Welcome Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 4,243 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend of shopping for the price & the location it was great! The location is the best - next door to David Jones & oppisite the emporium with all tram stops out the front. Yes the rooms are very basic but clean and they are great for sleeping & showering. We were in room 1131 far from the elevators & street noise - we faced a building wall. The room was quite small with no where to put 2 suitcases easily but we managed. The water pressure in the shower was very strong which was great. Breakfast was good no issues. Enjoyed the bar downstairs with daily $10 cocktails. Will stay again for location!

Room Tip: Dont expect the world for the price!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jasmine_paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, General Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Jasmine and Paul,
Thank you for your comments and I certainly agree on the positive location of the hotel and pleased you enjoyed this......have also passed on the positive service comments to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards John Dickson - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed here for a week, combination of business for the first 5 days as I was doing a course in Melbourne and the conference rooms were here at the hotel, then the last 2 days were just for pleasure. I had asked for a quiet room because I had read that some rooms were very noisy, and was given room 628. The room itself was small with a nice renovated bathroom (shower was tiny) but it did prove to be very quiet. The buffet breakfast was adequate, hit & miss with the scrambled eggs! I found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is really the best part, close to everything you need - China Town, Emporium Shopping Centre, Flinders Lane and lots of other eateries.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Director of Sales at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so mych for your great comments concerning the hotel, it's location and service aspects from our staff.......they certainly try hard!
With Melbourne's shopping reputation only getting strong, we certainly understand you wanting to be right in the middle of everything!
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards, John Dickson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank lefteye813
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, General Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 August 2014

One word to sum up this hotel - basic! Rooms are small but adequate, with a tiny window. We were on the 11th floor in room 1124. No street noise or lift noise, however on the last night of our 3 night stay there was some noise from the water pipes, but it didn't bother us too much. Breakfast was adequate and the staff in reception were friendly. The location cannot be beaten, everything is on your doorstep. I stayed here with my daughter and we had a twin room, my husband and I wouldn't stay here though as we prefer something a little better than basic. Overall, it did the job but I would look for something a little better on the same block due to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, away from elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie17Townsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, General Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Annie,
Thank you for your comments and pleased you enjoyed being in the heart of the city.
I will take up your report on the breakfast buffet and apologies that this wasn't up to standard.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, John Dickson - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, Friday 22nd-mon 25th. The hotel had a brilliant location! The rooms are dated and we found the rooms to be extremely loud. We had a squealing noise that was on and off all night for every night we were there. (It sounded like a tap that hadn't been turned on fully and the pipes squealing) We called the concierge desk and they promptly got us ear plugs delivered to our room. We required ear plugs for our entire stay. The rooms aren't very sound proof and had difficulty sleeping when you can hear conversations in the room next to you.

The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful on all occasions however. Definitely recommend if you are on a budget.

Overall, good hotel for the money.

Room Tip: I wouldn't suggest a standard room unless you are only staying one night. Extremely small rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank csi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear csi76,

Thank you for your feedback and for acknowledging the friendliness of our team member.
I am sorry to hear about the noise disruption from the neighboring rooms, and apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was a comment made by several guests as I was waiting for the lift to go to my room a few moments after I checked in. I was not sure how to take that one so I opened my room door in trepidation.

They may have been half right, the room was small and tired but it was functional and despite the wifi not working it did the job for the night.

It is not a business hotel. It is a tourist hotel and that was quite obvious, but it did have a full size iron board which I appreciated.

Would I stay again, probably not as it did not suit my needs but if I was travelling on holiday on a budget then definitely as it is a great location, only minutes to Chinatown and some great shops.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank greggo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Greggo60,
Thank you for your honest feedback.
May I suggest in the future, for you to try The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, adjacent to Mercure Welcome Melbourne, as I am sure you will enjoy the added comfort and facilities which this hotel offers.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £64 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing