We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview On The Park
Ranked #144 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Melb
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Old!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location but what a tired, old ugly Hotel. The parking arrangement was ridiculous. You have to reverse all the way back past reception! The room was clean enough, but the Telly was an old analogue, the shower was in the bath and very dangerous to climb in to. Overall, a very run down, old Hotel. It wasn't cheap either. I wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    276
    284
    109
    119
See reviews for
130
294
74
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Mixed feelings about hotel. Avoid restaurant.

Arrived at hotel - no issues with check-in, reception staff attentive.

Windows on fourth floor leak - there was heavy rain and the drops were collecting on the inside of the window.


Television in our room was broken - staff response was above satisfactory - moved to a better room.

TV reception in new room is what you'd expect in an old motor in.

Decided to have dinner at the restaurant.

Waited 30 minutes for a hot chocolate. Watched said hot chocolate sit on bar counter for 10 of those minutes... Was no longer a "hot" chocolate. Gave feedback to waitress and she decided to make another which was barely satisfactory. In the meantime I also observed the maître de, walk around with another "hot chocolate" for ten minutes before delivering it to the customer's table. $6.00 later, not impressed.

Ordered a dry and overcooked chicken parmigiana for $22!

Note to restaurant: tandoori chicken doesn't go with a Caesar salad ... That cost $18

Finally, I have never met a more sullen and abrupt maître de in a restaurant... Clearly did not want to be there which has probably had some effect on how disappointed I am by the overall service and standard of the restaurant.

The hotel does the job overall but steer clear of restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hectic_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I checked into this hotel on 23rd - 26th Jul 2014 after about an hour's drive from the Tullamarine Airport. It's conveniently located on the same stretch as Bayview Eden, along Princes Highway, so don’t confuse between the two. The only feedback is that you need to keep to the left lane way and keep your eyes peeled because the driveway entrance to the hotel is quite small and may be missed if you’re not careful. It is, however, easy to make a few left turns round the back of the hotel from Beatrice Street (See Google Maps for road information).

After parking my car at the front carpark, I got out and walked into the hotel for check-in. Check-in to the hotel was smooth, I was asked for my last name and the reception found my booking very quickly. The lift was a bit old, but still working fine, I got a room with two queen beds inside and the view from my room was not bad. Facing the Princes Highway, I could see the Albert Park and the nice lake in it from my window. WiFi is not free, but since I had bought a Data Sim Card from the Airport earlier, all I needed to do was to tethering the connection.
The room is pleasantly nice although lighting was a bit dark, maybe due to the warm coloured bulbs they were using, but drawing up the curtains would easily curb this. Bed is comfortable and the heater worked fine throughout the night keeping me and my wife warm. Generally nothing to “complain”, of course there would always be better options elsewhere if you were to compare it with higher end hotels.

I checked online prior to travelling, that the Car Parking fees would be AUD 12 per night, so I shifted my car from the front carpark (free) to the hotel’s carpark (paid). I chose to park in the hotel’s designated carpark as it is under camera surveillance and would be safer. I can’t really say parking outside in the free area was safe or not, but generally Melbourne is a safe city and while travelling around in the City Centre for the few days when I was there, my car never had any problems.

However, if your car is big, I would suggest you park at the hotel carpark on level 1, because having a tight entrance and going up a ramp to level 2 may prove to be quite a challenge especially for new drivers. How the parking works is that you need to swipe the hotel’s key card and the barrier pole will lift up (so until you have checked-in, you can only park at those “free areas”). Parking is paid upon check-out, so don’t worry about it.

Access to the Melbourne City Centre is also easy from this hotel, usually you'll reach in less than 10 mins drive to the CBD where all the shopping, food and casino is located.

The hotel has an in-house restaurant, access to supermarket is near, 5 mins drive to Woolsworth, an Australian Supermarket, on Fitzroy Street (opposite a tram stop – what they are showing on Google Maps now is an old pic of its previous occupant), and they also have cafes serving nice hot chocolate, coffee, muffins and such. If you’re in the mood, you can even pop by the Albert Park with your take-aways and have your meal by the scenic lake.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Princes Highway is good if you're after a scenic view of the lake. Afterall, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently attended a company conference held at this hotel, due to short notice and a lot of attendees this was the only available venue. The hotel is more suited to short term tourists and if i was staying in Melbourne on a private visit i would consider staying here if cost was an issue, the bedrooms were clean and tidy but there was no extra value add to the hotel, the service provided at breakfast and in the bar was not really good but more adequate, this may be due to the lack of staff available and not the individual staff fault, this also the case at the reception.
I have stayed at may Melbourne hotels and this one falls into the "you get what you pay for" category.

Room Tip: Alright for short term stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Wells, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was initially concerned when I read some of the scathing reviews on this site. After staying at the hotel I am happy to say I was pleasantly surprised. I paid $110 a night for a premium room with 2 x double beds. The 3 night stay was for me and my two boys aged 10 and 8. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable positioned on the second floor. The room was surprisingly quiet with little traffic noise from a busy road outside. The pool and spa at the complex are excellent and on a freezing 5 degree Melbourne day the hot spa was beyond expatiations, beautiful and hot and vey relaxing. I was impressed with the value for money for the full buffet breakfast at $17.00 for me and $10.00 for each of the kids. Public transport (Tram) was a very short stroll away and only about a 10 minute ride to the heart of the city. Rooms were serviced daily.Cheap undercover car parking at only $12.00 a night is also a very attractive feature of the place I can not talk for others who have made comments on this hotel but my review is an honest account of my experience at the hotel. Don't compare it to a modern 5 star hotel as that is just not fair. Simply put I would gladly stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here alone for 3 nights and felt safe and happy. A good solid 3+star hotel. Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Across the road from Albert park lake for a walk each morning, and easy walk to st Kilda. Trams to city along st Kilda rd. $12 per day for undercover car parking which is more reasonable than some. Would happily stay again. My room faced the back of the hotel rather than the road, so silent! The gym is not worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a tired old hotel, I'm sure there's quite a few layer of paint on the walls. The look and amenities of the room are out dated. The location is near public transport although you will need public transport to go anywhere from this hotel. there is nothing near the hotel to see. Hotels in Melbourne are not cheap but you will enjoy many more hotels in Melbourne for the same price. Wi-fi was not included in the price, and it was around $12 per day!!

Breakfast was not included in the price, approx. $20 for breakfast makes staying at this hotel too expensive.

Look for other options

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
588 reviews
Bayview Eden
#113 of 160 in Melbourne
624 reviews
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#101 of 160 in Melbourne
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#64 of 160 in Melbourne
1,658 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview On The Park

Property: Bayview On The Park
Address: 52 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview On The Park 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Melbourne's CBD and St Kilda Beach, Bayview On The Park provides the perfect location to explore all Melbourne has to offer. Melbourne Aquarium, South Yarra shopping district and St Kilda Esplanade are all only a short tram ride away, with the added convenience of onsite car parking (fees apply). Bayview On The Park is just 25.5km from Melbourne International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Bayview On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing