We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Ranked #76 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As a Platinum member of Accor's Le Club program, I had emailed the hotel to enquire about the Platinum benefits they would offer prior to booking. I was informed among other things that Executive Lounge access would be provided.

Upon check-in we were informed that the Executive Lounge was closed as "the hotel is quiet" and would be closed until the end of the month. Rather disappointing, especially when I had contacted the hotel prior to booking and this was not mentioned. The least they could have done was advised me in advance.

We were offered compensation though - daily breakfast in the hotel restaurant and two complimentary drink vouchers (in addition to the two given as a "welcome gift"). We felt that this was insufficient so were furnished with additional drink vouchers. The breakfast was quite plentiful which helped to make up for the lack of lounge access, and the drinks offered at the bar, despite what the voucher stated, were generous.

The free wifi is decent. I have had hotel wifi require you to log in again every time you return to the hotel, but this one was fast and consistent.

When asking for late check-out the day before our departure, we were offered until 12pm.

Very poor form for them to close the lounge - the hotel certainly wasn't quiet. I guess "quiet" means there were few people with lounge access actually staying. Now that Accor is the official hotel provider for the AFL, this hotel is flooded with AFL players on weekends. One team stayed the Friday night, another the Saturday night. As such the pool area is filled with recovery equipment (plunge pools and wheelie bins for ice baths).

Despite this, the hotel is actually quite nice. Great views over Albert Park lake, large rooms and recently renovated. Why did they have to ruin it by closing the lounge?

A minor annoyance - the design of the sink in the bathroom is such that there is no room for your hands to fit under the tap. (The tap is too close to the edge of the sink) This made it difficult not to make a mess when using the sink.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms offer a lovely view over Albert Park lake. Worth paying extra for.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Madge B,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and effort placed into giving us detailed feedback.

We strive to offer all our guests an enjoyable, pleasant experience, but it appears on this occasion, due to the Executive Lounge closure, we have not met your expectations. A private message has been sent to you via Tripadvisor to discuss this matter further.

As a Platinum Le Club member, I thank you for your loyalty and hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you during your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
There are newer reviews for Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The service is great. rooms are fresh and light. location is good and convenient short walk to bars and restaurants in Praharan neighbourhood. the park opposite is great for walks and running. only a short drive to downtown

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear markr27,

Thank you for reviewing us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient for a short walk to Prahran to enjoy the offerings of Chapel Street or for a spot of exercise across the road at Albert Park Lake.

Your comments will be shared with our team.

Kind Regards,
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for a conference. It was a great venue. We had a huge room overlooking Albert Park. Floor to ceiling windows with curtains that actually worked. Bed was comfy and the 1 bedroom suite roomy. Bathroom a bit small especially the shower but otherwise functional. No sink in lounge are but there was a kettle in cupboard so had to fill up in bathroom sink.

Great quiet location just down from Chapel Street (bit of a walk) and 1 block from the tram into town. Be sure and get a card to travel on tram- available from many convenience stores. Only have to tap on not on and off! Breaky was hot but pretty average at $30.

I had a glass of wine and some pretty ordinary snacks from bar/ kitchen but it was lovely to sit in foyer and look out on a rainy day. Heaps of seating in foyer. Used the gym which has fixed bikes and walking machines. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MojoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear MojoBrisbane,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst on business.

We appreciate you mentioning so many aspects of our hotel in your review, especially our Pullman beds. They are designed for our guest's comfort.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Pullman Albert Park provides a top quality Hotel at very reasonable rates. We stayed in a very comfortable Family Room, which are spacious and quiet. The bedding is top shelf! The staff at the hotel are very friendly and accommodating and gave us some great tips for things to do. It is not in the CBD, but is very close (100 metres) from a tram stop into the City (a 10 minute journey). Close to St Kilda and Chapple Street (20 minute walk or $10 cab fare) for an excellent choice of very resonably priced restaurants. The on site dining is also good, as is the bar, but Melbourne is a real buzz and so easy to explore, we decided to dine out most evenings. Breakfast is also very good and provides for all tastes. I will definately stay there again on visits to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Choose a Family Room if you like space and quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Donny G,

Thank you for your glowing review.

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us in our Family Room and delighted that we are your hotel of choice for any future travel to Melbourne.

I am sure other travellers will benefit from your experience detailed in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A wonderful first impression as you enter the lobby area. The decor looked great. Found the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were roomy, clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pullmanhotels.com
2  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Robyn M,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us during your business trip.

Our staff pride themselves on their excellent customer service, and they will be delighted with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
4  Thank adenoz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were there for a conference, and for most people the accommodation would have been fine.

The staff were attentive, happy and helpful. The ground floor coffee shop was wonderful, and the room service better than average (particularly the Rockett Salad with candied walnuts etc), and the shower was hot, with good water flow.

However the disabled access room is worse than hopeless. While the bathroom area is good, in order to create it without a proper redesign, they have built in such a way that there is a very large swinging door that is hinged the wrong way, which makes it very difficult to get around the room with the wheelchair (and other essential equipment). It also left barely enough room around the bed in the rest of the room for someone on two legs, and makes it practically impossible for someone in a wheelchair (let alone someone who needs an electric hoist or other such equipment to survive).
The bed was very comfortable, but at least 100mm too high for a wheelchair user to transfer onto, making what is supposed to be a special access room absolutely useless for 90 % of wheelchair users (unless they are traveling with a strong capable Carer who can physically overcome what has to be the worst designed disabled access room I think I have ever seen).

The room has a window that opens - which is very good, because the Airconditioning is useless, and while it purports to give you individual room control, it has obviously been disconnected to save money. The wardrobe is too small, and the fridge so small the mini bar contents fall out when you open it, add to this a bulky hopeless lounge chair filling what tiny room there is, no table to sit at to work, no free wi-fi in the room, nothing to put your suitcase on, etc, and you have one of the worst rooms I have stayed in for a long long time.

Room Tip: If you are in a wheelchair don't stay in room 6501 - in fact make personally sure any room being...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Andrew E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your recent stay.

It is encouraging to hear that our staff were attentive, happy and helpful; I will share these comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I have sent you a private message through Tripadvisor as we would like to discuss the issues raised regarding our special access rooms further with you.

Kind Regards,
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#110 of 160 in Melbourne
649 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#78 of 160 in Melbourne
958 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#65 of 160 in Melbourne
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
2,861 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Melbourne Albert Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Address: 65 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Sebel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £106 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Melbourne Albert Park 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park is located opposite Albert Park Lake, just minutes from Melbourne’s CBD and St Kilda’s beaches. The hotel offers 379 spacious guest rooms featuring LCD TV's, on demand movies, satellite television and internet access, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also features a gymnasium, indoor pool, spa and sauna as well as three dining outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Melbourne Albert Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Sebel And Citigate Albert Park Melbourne
Sebel Albert Park Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing