We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Centre of Excellence in the Centre of Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #112 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Darling Towers on Collins is in the heart of Melbourne, near the corner of Collins and Swanston Streets. The apartments are close to theatres, restaurants, shopping, nightclubs, and the vibrancy that is Federation Square.

Rooms are neat and tidy and the appointments are modern and extremely functional. One and two bedroom fully serviced apartments with kitchen and laundry facilities in each room, as well as TV, radio, internet connections and all the facilities you'd expect in a top class motel room or serviced apartment. It's also deceptively quiet. No traffic noise, sirens or anything else to disturb you.

Reasonable rates, and a willingness by the Concierge desk to provide as much information as needed ensure that Darling Towers on Collins is a worthy choice for a relaxing stay, or as a welcome respite before or after an important business appointment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailormod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

Darling Towers on collins is in a perfect location for shopping, restaurants in Degreaves St, Federation Square, Musical Theatre, Movie Theatre, tram stop outside the door. Very quiet, good layout of rooms, high standard of fittings, plenty of extras eg pillows, blankets, tissues etc. Very well equipped kitchen. Two bedroom apartment was perfect for three adults, although we were upgraded to an apartment suitable for four.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andiamo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Our one bedroom flat was spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything we needed. Staff were helpful and friendly. We will definitely be returned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucerosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We couldn't have asked for better accommodation for our holiday!
So convenient - extremely central and tram stop right at the door.
Beautiful apartment - and very comfortable beds!
Will definitely stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamnotpavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed 5 nights with friends in a 1 double, 2 single bed room. As far as hotels / apartments go, it didn't have the homely vibe I was expecting. Room felt old, impractical and in need of work. Bedroom with 2 single beds lacked any storage space. Other facilities were very basic, no 'nice touches' or anything impressive. Just after walking into our room, a cupboard fell off its hinges when opened. To their credit, it was fixed straight away - could have been worse if injury had resulted!

We had also stayed there for four nights without any hint of housekeeping, despite nearby rooms often being serviced. We had to ring reception to request fresh towels, and upon delivering them we had an impromptu mini-service.

The security to enter the premises was reassuring, but once in the building it felt more like a block of council flats from an English TV show than an inner-city Melbourne apartment.

Location could not be faulted - close to shopping, trains, cafes etc with Collins St trams literally out the front.

We weren't in Melbourne to spend all day in the room - which was fortunate. Certainly not a holiday disaster story - but for what we paid we were expecting more. I wouldn't discourage people from staying there, but I would encourage you to consider other options.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUFC68-99-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

A true home away from home with the added benefit of have housekeeping!
Darling Towers never fail to produce a truly easy and comfortable stay.
From the moment I arrived until the morning I left the service at this set of serviced apartments was excellent. You can often stay in apartments and feel "stranded" like they just take your money & then don't want to know about you for the rest of the time, but I always felt safe & secure & that help was around if needed. Which is important as a female.
The rooms are perfectly comfortable, not overly styled and certainly not dowdy or bland - just right.
The location is ideal if you need to shop, eat, travel around, work, go to sporting events or conferences whatever! It is central to everything and the tram at at your doorstep with the trains & buses very close by.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Stayed here for a week with a work colleague in a 2-bed appartment. Pleasantly surprised by the spacious facilities, good price in such a great central location. We were lucky to get upgraded to a larger and more luxurious flat so had particularly great value for money.

The flat had a well equipped kitchen, washing machine/dryer, iron etc. There is internet by cable connection (no wireless) but it is extremely expensive - it charges by the download and even just using it for emails and the occasional surfing, it cost more than 15 Oz dollars a day. Scandalous! Better to go to nearby pubs and use their wireless connections for free.

The staff were generally helpful - though some seemed very jaded and were at pains to point out that this isn't a hotel (so presumably don't expect the same level of service).

Would definitely stay there again and happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessa2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#101 of 162 in Melbourne
852 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#107 of 162 in Melbourne
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £70 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay more, but these self-contained apartments are a steal, fully equipped with everything you need from a dishwasher, stove and oven, broadband internet access and reverse cycle air-conditioning keeping you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern and stylish. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch a game at Docklands Stadium, then head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing