We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Presents well, but pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayview Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Eden
Ranked #108 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Presents well, but pricey for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is outside city center, so if you want to get away from it all, you might like it. I'd say the prices are that of a good national chain like Marriott, but the quality is that of an unrenovated Holiday Inn. Front desk team was friendly and knowledgeable. The room was a good size, bay window was filthy on the outside. Beds did not match the headboard size. Bedding and bed comfort were excellent. Tub/shower combo- tub was quite mildewy and was still not cleaned after notifying the front desk. Hallways were quite outdated, carpet is in need of replacing. Toiletries were top quality. The hotel restaurant was very bad. One guy was there (at lunch time), NO ONE ELSE was there... no customers, etc. Found out why when we ordered from the ONE guy, and he did not understand English or know what was on the menu. He then went in the back & we assume prepared our meal- got stale crusty bread for 'panninis' (no grilling happened however), food was slapped together on the plate- no attempt at attractiveness. Lettuce in the salad was warm & limp. Traffic getting back into the city by car was a nightmare in the morning. Nice restaurants nearby on St. Kilda.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    263
    153
    54
    29
See reviews for
105
223
48
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stay here when I come to Melbourne for business because it's around the corner from our office, so very convenient. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the location is good, the restaurant is good, and it's near trams for getting around town. If you're business is around St Kilda road, it's a convenient and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We thought this was a very nice hotel... well it must have been a good 10 years ago....

The room was OK, by far the most umcofortable bed I have ever slept on... On the day we arrived our room didn't have a safe as they were changing them all... This was sorted the next day but we weren't too impressed.

The shower although powerful only had two settings, ice cold or boiling hot...

Wifi in your room is 18 dollars per day... however is free in the lobby... we found the free one from the lobby still worked in the room sometimes, but everywhere in Melbourne pretty much has free wifi so don't bother.

Parking was 10 dollars per day which isn't bad for the location, as you can walk downtown in around half an hour.

Location is good, and the room was quiet but this hotel is in urgent need of some refurbishing... the carpets were grubby and the bath tub had seen better days.

We enjoyed the swimmingpool to ourselves but the gym was out of order.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paloma1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Do not like this hotel. Staff more concerned with the theory of running a hotel than customer service. Rooms below average and there was zero zero zero service. Kasey from bookings was particularly unhelpful to both myself and my travel agent. I would definitely not recommend staying here especially if you are travelling for work and appreciate a supportive hotel experience when doing so.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanOren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Expect a welcoming ambiance rather than the "bells and whistles" of the modern sterile hotels. The foyer glass panel of Melbourne is stunning, staff are welcoming, and the meals in the dining room are well priced as is the price range. We enjoyed both a light dinner and breakfast at a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has self regulating air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipsBairnsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for an afternoon and night on the day of our daughters wedding.

Lovely big room, with kitchen and lounge area. Great view of Albert Park Lake from our window.

Delicious breakfast included in price, as well as chocolates and wine.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotheroftheBride14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went with my girlfriend and it was the 1st time we went to melbourne ! Great hotel, the rooms aren't luxury, but they are very good for the price we paid.
If your staying for more than 2 night you get 20% off so it truly is an amazing deal.

We got breakfast room service every morning, and the breakfast was amazing ! With a lot of choice, on time, and we got the same man brining it to us every morning, he was great, friendly and very professional.

The spa at the rooftop is amazing ! After visiting Melbourne all day in the cold,when you come back to the hotel and relax at the spa it's perfect. Sauna, zaccuzi, fitness room.

The location isn't the best, but still very close to the tram's to get to the city.

Overall perfect. My girlfriend and I had a great 4 days at your hotel.

Thank you

Raphael Glacet

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rglacet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayview On THe Park
Bayview On THe Park
#142 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#111 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seasons Botanic Gardens
Seasons Botanic Gardens
#82 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra St Kilda Road
Mantra St Kilda Road
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Eden

Property: Bayview Eden
Address: 6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#94 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bayview Eden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Eden Melbourne is conveniently located on Queens Road overlooking the picturesque Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip Bay. It is located in the heart of the St Kilda Road business district and is only a short tram ride away from Melbourne's Central Business District and Crown Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Eden Melbourne
Bayview Eden Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing