We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel, close to everything, with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I originally chose the Pensione Hotel, Melbourne because it is within walking distance to the Conventions Centre and the train station. A tram stop is in front, it is ideally situated, and the prices are very reasonable. When I arrived I was pleasantly surpised to find a lovely hotel, charming and yet up to date. The staff were welcoming and efficient and the excellent service I received from Reception was a wonderful surprise. I have stayed in many hotels both overseas and in Australia and I must admit that this was the best service I have ever received. A welcoming smile, good advice and making an effort to make sure that my stay was pleasant. The room was lovely and well serviced and my whole stay at the Pensione was a happy experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Melbourne and intend to use this hotel for all future visits.

Room Tip: Excellent location. Great service and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaylefromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Dear Gayle
Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback!

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how friendly you found our team to be! We pride ourselves on our personalised service making sure that you are as comfortable as possible, which is our number one priority!

We look forward to having the opportunity of looking after you again for your next stay at the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,293 - 2,299 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2011

I booked a room through the Postcards special so was a bit wary of what to expect and must admit a little nervous from reading the reviews. I am an ex duty manager of a hotel and have travelled extensively and never felt the need to write on these websites, but felt inclined to do so this time. I have to say, the entire stay was just perfect. I am not sure what everyone is saying about the size of the rooms. They are fine. We were in a standard double but it accommodated us perfectly. Sure it is cosy, but still plenty of room to get around and it has to be said, I have stayed in a lot smaller and worse. The staff were fantastic, the location was great and bfast was also included and was great. For the price you pay, it is an absolute steal. You can't go in expecting a 5-star place for what you pay, but if you need a nice getaway in a great location,for a great price, look no further. Would I recommend and be back? Without hesitation. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask reception if any upgrade available b4 check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluesmanJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Dear BluesmanJay
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay!

It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us!

We pride ourselves on providing you with a clean and comfy stay and are always happy to help and share our own experiences of Melbourne’s hidden secrets.

I’m also glad to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast! My personal favourite is the mushroom and avocado sandwich. It’s to die for!

We look forward to a time where we may welcome you back to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

It was the first time for us in Melbourne and in Australia.
The hotel has a good position in the city. After a day of walking all around the city it was a pleasure to find our room . Confortable and quite. The first evening, as we were exausted, we tried the restaurant in hotel. The meal was so good taste, and good price. So we chose to eat there, the following evenings
In the hotel we can find all what we need: Good services, kindness of the staff, always interrested by that we have visited. And giving a lot of advices for the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarfatij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Dear sarfatij

Thank you for your valuable feedback!

We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the location of our quirky little hotel! While we are so close to many tourist destinations we also know of Melbourne’s hidden gems and love to share this information with all of our guests!

It is also great to hear how much you enjoyed the food in the Café; my personal favourite is the Sri Lankan style curry, yum!

It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities; we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Smoky towels, gluey bathroom floor that has never been cleaned, blood-stained bedsheets, stinky room (it smells like rotten food for the whole night because the room has no ventilation!), smelly air-conditioning, dirty cups in breakfast room... It is more like a cheap hostel than a hotel even though we paid the price of a 5-star hotel for a one night stay. Horrible experience, and will never ever go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RendyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Penguindies
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!
First of all let me say how terribly sorry I am to hear that you found your stay to be so unsatisfactory! The Pensione Hotel Melbourne prides itself on providing a charming environment that is clean, comfortable and reminiscent of the Continental European Pensione’s of old and I’m sorry that you found this not to be the case.
We would therefore like to invite you to contact us at your leisure to discuss any of the above as our usual accolades on Tripadvisor demonstrate our high attention do detail and general warmth of our rooms.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The room was supposed to be a double however the room was so small we had to CLIMB over our luggage to get to the bathroom. Bathroom was not very private and small, there was sliding door which did not fit, however it had to be a sliding door as bathroom was so small it would not accommodate a door opening inwards! Do not stay here if you don't want to sleep in a broom cupboard!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear MrsG76
Thank you for taking the time to write to us in regards to your recent stay
I am sorry to hear that you found the room to be a little cosier than expected! We do have a wide range of options to suit people with all sorts of different needs and would have been more than happy to show you a larger room as your comfort is always of the highest priority!
We are also in the process of looking at new ways to extend the bathroom door coverage in order to give you that extra little bit of privacy and we are hoping to achieve this goal in the very near future.
Should you choose to stay with us again we would be very happy to welcome you back and to ensure that you have a most charming and pleasant stay with us!
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Service and location was great. Room is tiny, however don't let that stop you. Place was very boutique, great bedding, massive tv, and cute bathroom.

Will definitalty come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny11Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Johnny11Syd
Thank you for your kind feedback!
It is really great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our little property with all its kinks and quirks and would love to have you stay with us again!
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

It is a nice clean boutique hotel with a comfy bed.
However the lack of privacy when using the bathroom is bad. As mentioned in previous reviews, definitely not sound proof due to a decent sized gap between the wall and door. When the bathroom door is closed you cant open the small closet that contains the fridge. What a design fault!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear bel81
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback!
Recently management has undertaken the initiative to extend the bathroom doors to cover this small gap and is looking at implementing several ways to fix this with our maintenance team. We are also looking into the fault you mentioned and hope to have this fixed as soon as possible. I am glad to hear however that you found the hotel to be nice and clean and enjoyed staying in our comfy beds! Should you wish to return to us in the near future we would be more than happy to show you our progress with the bathroom doors and also something a little bit more spacious so you can stretch out and relax that little bit more!
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#31 of 162 in Melbourne
201 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 162 in Melbourne
3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 162 in Melbourne
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £63 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing