We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #46 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed in a 'petite' room on a Wotif deal and I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room with really comfortable double bed and crisp sheets, adjoining bathroom, desk, TV, radio, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. I was at the back of the building and my windows were framed by vines which softened the view of buildings. The hotel had a great rooftop sitting area, shame it was raining when I was there though. Cool mix of heritage and modern.
Great location on Spencer Street just down from Southern Cross station and right near Flinders Street. Staff were friendly and helpful with questions and printing tickets.

Overall a great nights stay, clean and comfortable in a petite so reckon the larger rooms would be great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Natasha W,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed our facilities so much. The Pensione Hotel prides itself on providing clean and comfortable accommodation and we are thrilled to hear you had such a memorable stay in Melbourne.
Should you ever wish to return or indeed stay at any of our other 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would love the opportunity to look after your next stay.
We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We found this little gem on Wotif, and were so pleased that we decided to stay there.

We had travelled from Sydney on the train, and Pensione was just a hop, step and a jump from Southern Cross Station. Extremely helpful staff, and a delightful little room, that was compact, clean and very comfortable. No complaints whatsoever. Our room overlooked Spencer Street and the city, which was lovely. Very soundproof, so traffic noise was not a problem.

A very reasonable rate, which also included a continental breakfast, and a free wine (which we sadly missed out on, as the bar shut early!).

Close to Southbank and the casino, and right in the heart of Melbourne.

We only stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed longer, as this hotel is so convenient to everything. A quick walk back to the station in the morning, where we picked up an airport shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezzaGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear ChezzaGaz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear of your experience and thank you for your kind words both in relation to the Pensione and our friendly team. We are truly fortunate to be located amongst some of Melbourne’s hot spots and indeed Pensione makes a great base to set our and explore our wonderful city.
Should you ever be travelling to Melbourne or indeed to any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly look after you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Really enjoyed staying at The Pensione Hotel.Staff were very helpful and pleasant.Location was great with free central tram close by.Food in restaurant cafe was fabulous.We ordered breakfast every day as it was so delicious and healthy with great staff/service.Dinner also great.Building was heritage yet very modern and funky.timeout magazine in room was appreciated.Short walk to Collins st shops for retail therapy and close to Conference Centre.Would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 900KirstyG900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear 900KirstyG900,
Thank you for your recent review!
It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the kind words in regards to Olivier’s café! The café team certainly do pride themselves on their service and quality of food and it’s great to hear of your experience. Please feel free to let us know when you are returning to Melbourne and our friendly team will certainly ensure that your next stay with us will be as equally comfortable as the first.
See you soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We sadly only stayed here one night after a late flights from Cairns and was actually cheaper than the double rooms in all the backpackers around town!

We stayed in a petite double - from the reviews I was expecting a room no larger than the double beds inside, but we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is beautiful renovated while still keeping it's old school charm. I find in Australia we are spoiled with space so when people stay in rooms that they can't do backflips in they think they are small. It reminded me a lot of hotels we have stayed in in Paris - small, clean, cosy, but everything you need.

The room was very clean and provided a fantastic nights sleep! We were offered a free 12pm checkout and we didn't wake up until 10:30am!! We had read they had sleep easy packs available so we asked for these which were a nice touch.

The staff were happy, friendly and helpful. We kept our luggage there all day with no problem.
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Petite Double, which are located around the centre of the building so were very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHoff86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear TheHoff86,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us and for your kind words in relation to the team! The Pensione Hotel aims to provide accommodation and comfort to guests from all walks of life and indeed our daily interactions with our guests make our jobs all the more special.
Should you ever be travelling to Melbourne or to any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would delight in looking after you for your next stay.
We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards,
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I are regular patrons of the Pensione and we have always enjoyed the convenient location and efficient service. That is until we stored our luggage in the hotel store room. When we went to collect our three items of luggage, one was missing! Another patron had taken it by mistake. Yes we had our baggage receipts, to no avail. The staff did what they could to try and retrieve my husband's case from the person who had it, but they were unsuccessful and we boarded the plane back to Perth without it. The staff finally located the case and said they would send it as soon as possible. That was 10 days ago and we are still waiting for our suitcase to be returned. We maintained calm throughout this stressful ordeal, almost missing our plane, however keeping calm and carrying on has not produced a satisfactory outcome in this instance. A courier should not take this long and given that the mix up was not our fault and that we have been faithful patrons, we are feeling more than a little disappointed not to mention irritated, by the rather unpleasant ordeal. My husband has had to chase the matter up repeatedly and we have been told today that the case should arrive on Friday. Here's hoping. Moral of the story - hang onto your luggage!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Cheryl P,
Thank you for your recent review.
Firstly please allow us to sincerely apologize for any distress caused by this unforeseen situation. This is certainly something that has never occurred before and we apologize for the inconvenience caused by this. As a result we have tightened our procedures when handling and checking baggage however it is a rare thing indeed when two guests have identical luggage not to mention one being accidentally taken in the place of another. Our Front Office Manager certainly did try her hardest locating the case immediately and driving to collect it however regrettably the distance crossed was too far in order to have it popped on the plane with you. Once retrieved the bag was immediately set up to be shipped with a courier however even with their 3 to 5 day estimate shipping from Melbourne to Perth means covering quite a distance. With the same tracking details provided to you our diligent team has made contact several times to enquire about the status of your luggage however you can rest assured it is on its way.
Again we would like to take the opportunity to apologize again and hope that your lost luggage has now been returned to you.
Warm Regards,
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. I couldn't get a room in the same hotel as my friends but this hotel was still in a convenient location. Free copy of Time Out Melbourne in the room was great for finding additional things to do while in town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bronwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Bronwyn A,
Thank you for your recent review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and are glad to hear you made such great use of the Time Our magazine throughout your stay! Should you ever wish to return and explore more of Melbourne, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Windmill789
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
3,156 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#92 of 161 in Melbourne
1,957 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £57 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing