We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to usual 8Hotels standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #41 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Not up to usual 8Hotels standard”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The location was extremely convenient for the Entertainment Centre where I was attending a conference. However, the hotel standard was well below par compared to the 8Hotels in Brisbane and Sydney. The access to the shower was ridiculous - you had to turn sideways to get in, the door to the bathroom didn't shut properly and I had to draw the curtains whenever I was in the room as it was overlooked from all sides. The room "felt" dirty but this may be due to no light over the shower and the exhaust fan didn't work (a common complaint amongst my fellow guests). I did not feel safe in a room tucked away in a corner on the top floor and every night there was loud music nearby playing until after 1am. On the only other positive note, besides the location, the staff were extremely friendly however, the manager did not contact me regarding my safety concerns - it was left to the front desk who tried their best. As a single female business traveler, I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy312013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Judy312013,

Thank you for your recent review.

Firstly please allow us to apologise for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us. The Pensione Hotel prides itself on providing clean and comfortable accommodation for all our guests and it is disappointing to hear that you did not find it so.
Our apologies also for any noise disturbances you may have experienced whilst staying with being located in the us. Unfortunately heart of the CBD means that sometimes we have some noisy neighbours however please rest assured that any noise complaints we have are currently being recorded in the hopes of being followed up with any relevant parties. I believe our friendly reception team had offered to assist you with moving rooms but unfortunately we had not heard back from you in regards to this.

Thank you for your kind words in relation to our team. We certainly do pride ourselves on our guest interactions and delight in taking the time to share our knowledge and recommendations for Melbourne.

I would like to invite you to call or email me with any concerns you have in regards to your stay, please feel free to contact me at your leisure and we can certainly address and safety trepidations you have.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    967
    315
    87
    41
See reviews for
264
739
469
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre so it was certainly conveniently located. My room was very small but this was fine as I was travelling alone. The layout and furniture in the room made it a bit difficult to work though. While there was a small "desk" there was no chair to sit on - just a small soft 'stool'. I also had one of the internal rooms which affected my mobile phone reception. My only other real complaint relates to the check-in process. I don't understand why it is necessary to ask guests to decide whether they will be having breakfast at the hotel when they first arrive in order to qualify for a special 'check-in breakfast rate'. I didn't elect for this but probably would have had breakfast in the hotel at least once but didn't want to pay a higher rate because I didn't make this decision when I was checking in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viking100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear viking100,
Thank you for recent review.
Firstly please allow us to apologize for any difficulties you may have faced in regards to your room layout. Whilst all rooms come with a small desk space and a stool we can certainly understand that space constraints can make things a bit of a challenge. We are confident that had reception been alerted to your distress they would have certainly shown you some of our other room types or indeed assisted you with a high backed chair from the café to ensure that you were all the more comfortable.
In regards to your check in whilst we only offer two exclusive breakfast deals upon check in we also have many other dining options available in the café. Our a la carte menu features meals from $8.00 and up which we believe is certainly a competitive price in Melbourne’s CBD. Should you ever wish to stay again we can certainly include these breakfast options as a part of your stay along with many other inclusions such as wireless internet access and late checkouts. Please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would love to have the opportunity to look after you in the future.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is just a short walk away from Souther Cross station, as well as tram station Flinder Street / Spencer Street. 7-11 is just around the corner to top up MyKi or resupply, and plenty of restaurants nearby.

The hotel itself is clean and quiet, staffs are friendly as well. Had no problems with the check-in and even helped me with some of the questions regarding going around and about Melbourne. Best surprise of the day is that I got upgraded to a bigger room.

Will definitely use this hotel again if I come to Melbourne next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear AndyBoey,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear of your experience and how friendly and helpful you found our team to be. We certainly delight in our daily interactions with all our guests and thoroughly enjoy sharing all our local knowledge.
Should you ever be travelling to Melbourne again please feel free to let our friendly reservations team know who will ensure that your next stay with us will be as equally enjoyable as the first.
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is convenient to Southern Cross railway station. Front office staff are efficient.
The room is suitable for one person only, it is minute. Having said that it however it is well appointed with coffee making facilities, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel , hair dryer and flat screen tv with some Fox channels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear westoz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are thrilled to hear of your experience with our front desk teams and are glad to hear you found our location so convenient! In regards to your room the Pensione Hotel has many different room types available with varying sizes, should you ever wish to return to us please feel free to give our friendly reservations team a call and they will certainly look after you and allocate you something a little larger.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I travel to Melbourne often, and over the last few years I have tried many different hotels. I now only stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne. The staff are fantastic and always helpful, the price is very reasonable and the rooms are cosy and the beds fantastic.

Great location, great staff, smart interior design and I love that you can open the windows ! I have recommended the Pensione to many friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the newer section and not on the ground floor. Higher rooms are bigger and lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anganwadigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear anganwadigirl,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoy your stays at the Pensione Melbourne and thank you for the kind words in relation to our team. We certainly do enjoy our day to day interactions with all our guests and delight in taking the time to make each and every experience at the Pensione a unique one.
Please let us know when you are planning to return to Melbourne as we would once again love to have the opportunity to look after you.
We hope to see you soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed in a 'petite' room on a Wotif deal and I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room with really comfortable double bed and crisp sheets, adjoining bathroom, desk, TV, radio, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. I was at the back of the building and my windows were framed by vines which softened the view of buildings. The hotel had a great rooftop sitting area, shame it was raining when I was there though. Cool mix of heritage and modern.
Great location on Spencer Street just down from Southern Cross station and right near Flinders Street. Staff were friendly and helpful with questions and printing tickets.

Overall a great nights stay, clean and comfortable in a petite so reckon the larger rooms would be great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Natasha W,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed our facilities so much. The Pensione Hotel prides itself on providing clean and comfortable accommodation and we are thrilled to hear you had such a memorable stay in Melbourne.
Should you ever wish to return or indeed stay at any of our other 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would love the opportunity to look after your next stay.
We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We found this little gem on Wotif, and were so pleased that we decided to stay there.

We had travelled from Sydney on the train, and Pensione was just a hop, step and a jump from Southern Cross Station. Extremely helpful staff, and a delightful little room, that was compact, clean and very comfortable. No complaints whatsoever. Our room overlooked Spencer Street and the city, which was lovely. Very soundproof, so traffic noise was not a problem.

A very reasonable rate, which also included a continental breakfast, and a free wine (which we sadly missed out on, as the bar shut early!).

Close to Southbank and the casino, and right in the heart of Melbourne.

We only stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed longer, as this hotel is so convenient to everything. A quick walk back to the station in the morning, where we picked up an airport shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChezzaGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear ChezzaGaz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear of your experience and thank you for your kind words both in relation to the Pensione and our friendly team. We are truly fortunate to be located amongst some of Melbourne’s hot spots and indeed Pensione makes a great base to set our and explore our wonderful city.
Should you ever be travelling to Melbourne or indeed to any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly look after you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,852 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
163 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 159 in Melbourne
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing