We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #41 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

When we travel to Victoria from interstate, to visit family, we always enjoy our break in Melbourne on our last day. we always stay at the Pensione Hotel as it is a beautifully kept building and it's amenities are always clean and comfortable. It always isa very welcoming place to come and relax.
It's proximity to the shops and station for train and skybus services is so convenient for us for our travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Annette B,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always a delight to welcome back our return guests, thank you for choosing to stay with us again! It is great to read how much you enjoy your stays with us and are glad to hear how convenient you find our location to be. Please feel free to give our friendly team a call for your next stay and they will certainly do their best to ensure that you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    943
    307
    84
    40
See reviews for
254
718
442
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Brilliant hotel - clean, warm feel, friendly staff, great price, fantastic location. 5 stars. This is now my hotel of choice for my visits to Melbourne. I'll stay here every time.

Brilliant hotel - clean, warm feel, friendly staff, great price, fantastic location. 5 stars. This is now my hotel of choice for my visits to Melbourne. I'll stay here every time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Happy T,

Thank you for your kind words!

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with and are thrilled to hear that we are now your hotel of choice! Please let our friendly reservations team know when you are planning to visit Melbourne again and they will certainly make sure you are well looked after.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had three nights in Melbourne, and weren't fussed about staying in one of the huge top-of-the-range hotels; we wanted somewhere central to base ourselves and rest our heads at night and didn't want to spend a fortune on accommodation. Pensione Hotel fitted our brief well. We caught the SkyBus from the airport; this stops at Southern Cross Station, a mere 5 minute walk to the hotel. Check-in at the hotel was friendly and efficient; we were supplied with helpful maps and information about using the trams (which stop right outside). We arrived at 10.30 am, not really expecting our room to be ready, but it was. The room itself was very small, but functional. We were on the ground floor, towards the rear of the hotel, and didn't have any problems with noise at any time during our stay. The room had one frosted non-opening window; this, and the size of the room, might have been an issue if we'd been intending to spend more time at the hotel during the day, but it wan't a problem for our stay. The bathroom was probably the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel, but sufficiently functional for our requirements. And the bed...without a doubt one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in; this in itself would be enough to make me return to the Pensione on my next trip to Melbourne. The hotel's location is great to base oneself from for exploring lovely old Melbourne. Trams at the door, or a 10-15 minute easy walk to the main CBD. Eateries and convenience store within coo-ee, and airport transport close by. If you're after a very spacious room with a view and all the extras, don't bother...but if you want a clean, well priced, centrally located, no frills room then I would have no hesitation in recommending the Pensione.

Room Tip: A number of reviews mention the small size of the rooms and bathrooms; keep this in mind when making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear jillimc,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our central CBD location handy. We are sorry to hear that you had found your room a little cozy however the Pensione has many different room types available ranging in different styles and sizes. Should you like one of our larger styles of rooms for you next stay please feel free to contact us directly. We love to look after our return guests!

We look forward to welcoming you again and having the opportunity to look after you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

stayed one night in november . excellent facilites the room was small but had everything i needed . toilet shower etc . bed very comfortable. price good and staff very friendley and helpful, tram outside the hotel , station up the road soo easy . would definately stay again.staff very helpful and gave out a map and directions to help a country traveller.will be back .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hev66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear hev66,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are delighted to hear that the Pensione was everything you expected and how helpful and friendly you found our teams to be! We are so fortunate to be so well located within the CBD which makes visiting some of Melbourne’s most famous landmarks a breeze.

Please let us know when you wish to return to Melbourne and we will certainly ensure that you are well looked after for your next stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in Melbourne in July to see Pink! Pensione Hotel is literally a 5 min walk from the train station. The staff were really helpful, and explained to us where to go and how to use the tram system. There are no opening windows in the rooms. (one gentleman was complaining about it when we arrived, which was ridiculous because it rained everyday we were there!) The windows are huge and gives you an outlook on the beautiful building across the road. We stayed in the Petite Double room, which was in our price range at the time, it was a bit small, but fine because we were out of the room all day and exploring. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Check room sizes before you book. Make sure you are aware of the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Caitlyn P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!

We are thrilled to hear of your experience and thank you for your kind words in relation to the team. It is great to hear that the team were able to assist you with directions to the Pink concert – we hope you had a wonderful time, we hear she’s great!

Should you ever wish to stay with us again or indeed any of our 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly team who would love the opportunity to make enquiries on your behalf.

We hope to welcome you back real soon!

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights end of October. Paid the cheapest price got the smallest room, ok with that, get what you pay, was internal room near lifts, on Saturday night ONLY, could hear guests talking/laughing till 2.30am going to their room. I'm a light sleeper. I am fussy about cleanness and I was overall 95% happy with that. Loved the personal note from duty manager, chocolates and the change of towels each day even though we didn't leave them on floor. Paid for 1 days breakfast, fantastic and good value. Reception staff very polite and helpful. Will stay when going to Melbourne again. Husband and wife

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUTH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear RUTH W,
Thank you for your recent review!
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our personal touches and how helpful and friendly you found our team to be. We love to take the time to look after all our guests and ensure that everyone who stays at the Pensione has a unique and warming experience. We are sorry to hear however that you were disturbed during your sleep – we are confident that had our night audit team been alerted to your distress they would have certainly investigated the matter.
Should you ever wish to stay again or indeed any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would delight in having the opportunity to look after you!
We hope to welcome you back real soon!

Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've stayed here before - and happily chose to do so again. Was delighted with the "welcome back" note, and as it is "familiar territory" for me now, I found my way around Melbourne easily. (lots of walking and window shopping). I stayed for four nights - and have absolutely no complaints about the service and facilities, but in the end was sick of dodging the tv on the wall, and having no where to put my suitcase. One or two nights solo it is fine, but longer and the tiny space gets annoying. TG I was on my own....

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that is not so squeezy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear elly25,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and are overjoyed at how the Pensione has become such a comfortable and familiar space for you – we love our regular guests! In regards to your room size the Pensione has many options available that may suit you for a longer stay, please feel free to give our friendly reservations team a call for your next stay and they will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing