We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Melbourne City
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Adelphi Hotel(Melbourne)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,799)
Filter reviews
2,799 results
Traveller rating
1,133
1,154
368
94
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
1,154
368
94
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoebox roomsouthern cross stationgreat locationrooms are smallspencer streetshower doorshort staycrown casinothe ground floorsky bustrain stationdouble bedshort walkpublic transportone night staywould stay againfree tram
Filter
Updating list...
2,207 - 2,212 of 2,799 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My second time staying in Pensione was even more positive then the first. I was in Melbourne for work purposes, and only stayed for two nights. The hotel even offered a Myki (metro) card so you don't have to buy one for a short stay. It's location is great because you can either walk or take the tram everywhere (several tram stops surrounding the hotel).

It's a great hotel, fantastic staff who are always helpful and are very knowledgeable about the city. Importantly, they make excellent recommendations about restaurants to eat at and go out of their way to accommodate you. Their hot breakfast options were worth the value; delicious food and big meal. The room itself was great. Granted, it is "European" style in that the bathroom is small, however this was adequate for a short trip. The petite room (#204) I got was very clean and bed was good.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, and certainly stay for a third time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooCow7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear MooCow7 (hehe we love your username!)

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!

We are thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad we could assist you with exploring Melbourne! The team and I delight in sharing our local knowledge with all our guests – you could even say we are all hardcore foodies!

Should you ever wish to return to Melbourne or indeed any of our 8Hotels properties, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would love the opportunity to look after you for your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very convenient to exhibition centre, southern cross station, free tram route and dfo.
Quiet rooms, smallish but very modern and clean.
Small ensuite but suited us well. Friendly and helpful with luggage storgage, tips, airline check-in and overall helpful staff.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 474angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear 474angela,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne. We were so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and found our staff friendly and helpful!

Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly! We love to look after our return guests!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is perfect for an inexpensive clean modern hotel.Really pleasant helpful check in staff, a good sized room with everything one requires and although there were many rooms opening on to internal areas which would be very quiet even my room facing Spencer street was acceptably quiet. in the evening the restaurant delivered a delightful meal to my room at no extra cost and with a smile. breakfast was only $15,00 for a delicious breakfast with eggs Benedict. Only problem was on my final morning when the kitchen was overwhelmed by guests and it took 4o minutes for my hot breakfast,.If only restaurants would be honest and say there is a delay would you prefer the buffet. but no, they kept saying its just coming......... I had to settle for cold anyway in the end as I was getting so late fro my conference. Great shame and spoilt an otherwise flawless hotel stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear 474angela,

Thank you for your recent review!

Firstly please allow us to apologize for any difficulties you may have experienced with regards to your breakfast. Whilst it can get very busy during high occupancy periods we can certainly understand how frustrating it can be when you have an appointment or conference to attend to. As a result I have had a meeting with all of our Food and Beverage team in regards to changing our standards and I can assure you that your feedback has been taken on board.

Thank you however for your kind words in regards to the rest of your stay, it is great to read how pleasant and helpful you had found our team to be.

Should you ever wish to return to Melbourne please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would delight in the opportunity to look after you sometime in the future.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great value hotel, room was small but comfortable. Location very handy a few minutes from Southern Cross Rail, 5 mins walk to South bank. Restaurant great staff and dinner was a reasonable price and well presented, overall very good value for money and location spot on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Elizabeth W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our location and thank you for the kind words in regards to our café team! Olivier’s is a great little place to enjoy breakfast or dinner and watch the world go by! I will certainly pass on your kind remarks to the chefs.

Should you ever me travelling to Melbourne or indeed any of our 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly make enquiries on your behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

When we travel to Victoria from interstate, to visit family, we always enjoy our break in Melbourne on our last day. we always stay at the Pensione Hotel as it is a beautifully kept building and it's amenities are always clean and comfortable. It always isa very welcoming place to come and relax.
It's proximity to the shops and station for train and skybus services is so convenient for us for our travels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Annette B,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always a delight to welcome back our return guests, thank you for choosing to stay with us again! It is great to read how much you enjoy your stays with us and are glad to hear how convenient you find our location to be. Please feel free to give our friendly team a call for your next stay and they will certainly do their best to ensure that you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews