We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Night's Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #42 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Avenel, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Night's Stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My son bought me concert tickets and a night at this hotel. Fabulous night. Hotel room was immaculate, bathroom very tiny but the bed linen more than made up for it, just divine. Had everything we needed and the location is fantastic being just across from Spencer Street Station.

Room Tip: Various rooms to choose from - ours had a Queen bed and a single bed. there's a lift so doesnt r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWriggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear CWriggles,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are thrilled to hear of your experience at the Pensione and hope you had a wonderful time at your concert! We are also glad to hear how much you enjoyed our Microcloud bed toppers – all the team here have them at home and love them. You can make a purchase online if you like! Should you ever be traveling to Melbourne again please feel free to give us a call for your next stay and our friendly reservations team will certainly look after you.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    966
    315
    87
    41
See reviews for
264
738
468
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were in Melbourne for a short visit to attend a show. The Hotel is very convenient to Southern Cross Station. The room was quite small but big enough as we were only there to sleep. The bathroom was a little on the small side but ok. We thought it was good value for money. Ideal location for shops and sight seeing all with in walking distance to lovely Restaurants. The Restaurant on sight was great for Breakfast and a lovely friendly Irish Manager who was a breath of fresh air to deal with. He had such an awesome personality.We would certainly stay again on our next visit to Melbourne. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to other people

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Bernadette123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear 65Bernadette123,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words in relation to our café team - they certainly are a great bunch! Should you ever be returning or wish to visit any of our other 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would love to make enquiries on your behalf. We will certainly ensure you are well looked after!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were in Melbourne for a short visit to attend a wedding. This hotel is conveniently located close to Southern Cross station (the main train station in Melbourne and also a drop-off point for the airport bus). We booked an "original double room" - it was small, with a bar fridge, tea/coffee making and had a poky little bathroom which was hard to do your make up in - but it really was all we needed and what we expected for the price we paid. we were on the ground floor at the back and our room had a window onto a brick courtyard, and it was nice to have natural light. Staff were friendly enough. We had breakfast once at the Olivier cafe, it was pretty tasty, but coffee was variable depending on which barista was on (really, no excuse for bad coffee in Melbourne though!). there are supermarkets at Southern Cross station if you want additional food.
All in all, I'd be happy to stay there again for the price simply because of the good location.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception/street may be noisier - our room was at the back of the hotel on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ristari,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us and found the food in Olivier's tasty. My sincerest apologies for the variable coffee you experienced. This is certainly not the norm as we Melbournians take our coffee super seriously. I will be sure to do some follow up training with the team!

Should you be traveling to Melbourne again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly.
I would love to be able to personally ensure your next stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Warmest Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Location is ok being the far end of CBD & Flinders station. The approach and entrance to the hotel is unimpressive- very much on the road & in between stores. Lobby & reception area and staff were all great however our room came about to be disappointing. It was quite small and worn out or perhaps I got one of the worst ones on ground floor. We had booked this as a last minute from a travel website being at a good value which probably got offset in the quality of room that we received. Looking at the common area interior I believe there would be better quality rooms in here as well. Anyway, all in all for us it was just an avergae experince with its location being a positive

Room Tip: Get a quality room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SahTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear SahTripper,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

I am terribly sorry that you found your Original Double Room less than satisfactory. I can certainly appreciate that this basic room style does not match our modern decor in the lobby and common areas and we do the very best we can to represent them honestly through images and the prices we offer them for online. You may be interested to know that we have just confirmed refurbishment works on these rooms so WATCH THIS SPACE!

In the meantime, should you be traveling to Melbourne again in the future, we would love to be able to accommodate you again in one of our superior room types with modern facilities. Please feel free to contact me directly at any time.

I hope you hear from you!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked thus hotel for a short trip to Melbourne on arrival we were greeted a a very friendly receptionist who welcomed us warmly. We were up graded to a bigger room on arrival. The room was very comfortable and clean location was great and very close the the train station and trams pass by right outside. Ideal location for shops and sight seeing all with in walking distance. The restaurant on site had lovely food and a very friendly girl working there. We will certainly stay again on our next visit to Melbourne

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Bernie21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your upgrade, found the staff friendly and the food in Olivier's yummy!

We love to look after our return guests so please feel free to contact the team directly at any time and we will be sure to look after you!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Hotel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A beautiful boutique hotel in a great spot. I chose the Petite Double Room, which is perfect for 1 or 2. The MicroCloud bedding was heavenly, easily the 2nd best hotel bed I've slept in. Staff are A1.

Room Tip: Lots of variety of room types. My room was fairly close to Spencer Street, a very busy street but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLoume2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear LouLoume2013,
Thank you for your lovely review!
It’s so great to hear you had such a wonderful stay and were glad to read just how much your enjoyed our bedding. All the team here love Microcloud so much too that we all own a few products ourselves! Should you ever wish to stay with us again or indeed any of our other 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly ensure your next stay is just as memorable.
We hope to see you again soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Pensione is a small budget hotel on Spencer Street. Very helpful staff. Clean room and wonderful bed, best bed in a hotel in ages. Great location on all the tram and train routes. Excellent value for money. Got a great bed and breakfast deal as we stayed 6 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the one and only small suite on level 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear BrendaBr,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are delighted to hear of your experience at the Pensione and thank you for your kind words in relation to our team. We would be thrilled to have you stay again, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly ensure your next stay will be as equally memorable as the first.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,846 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
163 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 159 in Melbourne
3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing