We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Melbourne hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great location, around the corner from the free tram that can get you anywhere in the city. Wonderful room clean and airy. We original had a double room but friends who recommended this hotel suggested we get the apartment This was easily changed for us.Unfortunately the lift stopped at the third floor and dragging suitcases up was a mission but by organising the day we only had to do the stairs once.Very helpful staff and will definitely stay there again and recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Beware of the stairs to the apartment on the 4th floor. Fabulous room but stairs have to be negotiat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette09NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Annette09NZ,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are glad to read how much your location and thank you for choosing to stay with us based on your friend’s recommendation! I am sorry however to hear that your cases proved to be a bit of bother up the stairs however we do have a 24 hour reception team who would be delighted to assist you for your next stay.
Should you ever wish to stay at any of our other 8 Hotels properties within Australia, Bali or Paris, please feel free to give our friendly reservations team a call who will certainly ensure you next stay with us will be as equally comfortable as the first.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warmest
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,966 - 1,972 of 2,644 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pensione hotel is located conveniently in the CBD with trams and public services at every corner. This makes it easy to travel throughout the Melbourne CBD!
The staff are very friendly and helpful ! From the minute my friend and I arrived we were greeted and assisted with all inquiries.
Staff members Mike and Lexi were particularly, excellent with their customer service skills and were very helpful in all areas.
Lexi gave great advice on great shopping and clubbing venues and mike helped locate these venues in the most convenient way possible!
Staff exceed excellence with their service!
Great place and even better staff members !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Jasminlena,
Thank you for your recent review.
We are delighted to read of your experience with us and thank you for the kind words in regards to our team! The team and I thoroughly enjoy taking the time to look after all of our guests which is certainly the most rewarding part of day to day tasks.
Should you ever wish to travel to Melbourne again or indeed any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would be delight to make enquiries on your behalf and ensure you are well looked after.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again real soon!
Warmest regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My third stay at Pensione Melbourne, booked direct through reception and got great rates again. Dropped off bags at 8am and warmly welcomed. Receptionist rang at 11am to say the room was ready. Arrived and our bags were already in the room.
A very quiet restful place to stay. Included breakfast was fresh and the cafe provides a warm atmosphere to watch the world go by.
5 Minute walk to Crown, DFO and Exhibition Centre and a few hounded metres from Skybus at Southern Cross Station makes this a perfect location for exploring Melbourne.

Room Tip: Internal rooms with windows to the atrium are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1770FAalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Alex B,
Thank you for your recent review.
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our location and are thrilled to read this was your third stay with us – we love our regulars! Should you ever be returning to Melbourne for business or for leisure, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team for your next stay and they will certainly ensure that we continue to look after you.
We look forward to seeing you soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at the Pensione Hotel with my two kiddies. Great location! Walking distance to Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium. Tram stop right outside your doorstep. Five minute walk to Southbank and the Crowne. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was just right for me and the kids. Very quiet and safe. Bathroom was a little on the cosy side but again, no major problem there. Breakfast offered every morning in the restaurant area which the kids loved! Staff there - in particular Nik - went above and beyond. All in all, stay great value for money. We look forward to staying there again next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Voula L,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are so thrilled to read of your experience at the Pensione and are glad to hear that our location was perfect for your time exploring Melbourne. Thank you also for the kind words in relation to Nik and the café team! We certainly are fortunate to have such a great team of people working with and I am confident both Nik and the team very much look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team for your next stay and they will definitely ensure that you are well looked after.

Warmest Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on a few occasions over the years and again Excellent Value. Staff were all really friendly and the room had a wonderful comfortable bed.
For the price and location, easy walking distance from the airport bus terminal, you can't go wrong . We will be back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Sarah E,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Its so great to hear from some of our regular guests, thank you for your kind words in regards to our location and team – we certainly do enjoy taking the time to look after all our guests, especially our return guests who are like family!
Please let us know when you are travelling to Melbourne again and we will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Book the Pensione Hotel Melbourne for a night away. I found the place very nice and clean. The room was small but cosy. We did get the cooked breakfast at a extra cost but was one of the nicest breakfast. There were two choices cooked breakfast or continental buffet breakfast. Both looked very nice and reasonable price. Plus the staff in the breakfast area was so warm and friendly. The stay at the Pensione Hotel Melbourne was a very nice night away. We will be back soon.

The only thing I would like to point out is the shower how tiny the doorway is to get into it. Not real good if you where on the larger side. Did bring this up when leaving.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kclovesjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear kclovesjc,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.
We are thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and thank you for the kind words in relation to our café! The guys in there certainly make an amazing breakfast and love to take the time to make all our guests feel super welcome.
My apologies however for any difficulties you faced in relation to your shower screen. Some of the rooms at the Pensione do have a slightly larger shower door area so I have made a note of this in our system to ensure that we place you in one of these rooms for your next stay.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again real soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed at pensione in melb for many years and in fact sometimes twice a year always for pleasure I'm staying there again in oct. The staff are informative of local attractions and always ready to help. The house keeping were very generous with their time and I found them to be extremely professional on all levels.I will only stay here as I always feel like I'm coming home.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brockii5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Brockii5,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We are so happy to hear that Pensione is like a second home to you and thank you for staying with us time and time again! Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to ensure that your next stay with us in October will be equally as pleasant as the rest of your stays. We love to look after our regulars!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,457 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,909 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £58 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing