We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, lots of rooms available for all budgets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #40 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ideal location, lots of rooms available for all budgets”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel twice during our tour of south Australia. This was the first place we stayed after our flight from the UK and because we were only staying a short amount of time on the first visit we booked a cheap room.
The staff were really friendly when we arrived. We couldn't checkin until the afternoon and arrived from the airport before 7am! They took our bags and gave us directions to various places in the city to explore before we could checkin - great.
When we checked in I have to admit I was a bit disappointed with the room. It was tiny and had no natural light, the light it had was from the corridor and the light outside the frosted window was on all the time. We did have blackout blinds but that of course made the room very dark. But that being said it was only for a short stay and it was cheap - apart from the light it was a comfortable room and if you are looking for a cheap room with close links to transport and the city this is it.
We came back to this hotel later in our trip and had pre-booked a different room - it was lovely. We had two big windows, lots of light and a lovely big room with all the usual amenities. A really lovely touch was the 'welcome back' gift we had waiting when we arrived - we hadn't said we were coming back so the fact they checked this was great and really elevated the service of this place.
I would come here again and happily recommend it. The staff are really nice and happy to help with anything you need. On one occasion we booked dinner but had no idea where it was, the lady on the desk looked it up online for us and helped us work out a nice route to walk there.
Lots of nice little touches made this place a hidden gem. Well worth booking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear SamJoL,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so thrilled to hear that the Pensione made such a great impression on you and are glad you enjoyed your little welcome back gift! The team and I thoroughly enjoy taking the time to make each guests experience a unique one as it is indeed the most rewarding part of our jobs. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your second stay better in one of the larger styles of room, we can certainly ensure that for your next stay we accommodate you in a space with more natural light.
Please let us know when you are travelling to Melbourne again and the team and I will certainly ensure that your next stay with us will be as equally memorable as the others.
Hope to see you soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    945
    308
    84
    40
See reviews for
256
720
444
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a very affordable petite double room for myself. People can complain about the size of the room, but what you are paying for is very cheap for Melbourne, and has had a modern makeover, and an excellent location! I was most impressed with the hotel, the staff and the general feel. My room overlooked the small internal courtyard and was very quiet. Seems the staff are more than happy to accommodate individual requirements, and I whilst the hotels I stay at are usually bigger, this is a little hidden gem. Will stay there again. Booked my next night already, and for the $$ you save, I can't see how you can go past it.

Room Tip: Ask for an internal room if you want less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTraveller1Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear OzTraveller1Child,
Thank you for your recent review.
We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our location and facilities and thank you for your kind feedback in regards to our team! We certainly do enjoy taking care of all our guests in an effort to make you as comfy as possible for your adventures in Melbourne. Should you ever wish to stay in Melbourne again or indeed visit any of our other 8 Hotels properties, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fantastic location and very clean and tidy rooms
All the trimmings but rooms are tiny but great value for the price very friendly staff and great security for late night entry
Breakfast was amazing in the restaurant on bottom floor

Room Tip: Rooms were quite small but very comfortable great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sue S,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are delighted to hear how friendly and helpful you had found our team to be and are glad to hear you had such an amazing breakfast at Olivier’s! The team in there certainly pull together a yummy breakky that is sure to help you get started on your adventures in Melbourne.
Should you ever wish to stay with us again we would love to show you some of our larger room types so you can stretch out a bit more, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would be delighted to look after you.
We look forward to one again welcoming you to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a hidden little gem is this lovely boutique hotel in the middle of the beautiful city that is Melbourne!
When I called to make the booking, the lady I spoke to was so polite and friendly. I told her that it was mine and my husbands 5th year anniversary and we were staying in the city to celebrate and told her where we were going for dinner.
Checking in was a breeze!
When we got to out room, there was a box of chocolates on our bed, with a hand written note congratulating us and a map of Melbourne with instructions on how to get to The Spaghetti Tree!
It was the little touches like those, plus the cleanliness of the room, the oh - so comfortable bed, the 11am check out and the friendly team that will make us return again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Renee B,
Thank you for your lovely review.
Congratulations on your 5 year anniversary! We are so thrilled that you choose to share it with us and are happy to hear you had such a memorable experience. The team and I love to take the time to look after all our guests as it’s our daily interactions with you all that make our jobs so worthwhile.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon, please give our friendly team a call and we will certainly ensure that your next stay with us will be just as wonderful as the last.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have stayed at the Pensione Hotel 3-4 times now, and have always enjoyed the hotel. The rooms, although quite small, are clean and modern, with a comfortable bed.

The hotel is extremely well located, within easy walking distance to Etihad stadium, and either a quick tram ride or comfortable 20-30 minute walk to MCG. Easy walking to Elizabeth/Swanston Street shopping areas.

Another great thing about the location, it is right across the road from Southern Cross station, where the airport Skybus arrives and departs...

Room Tip: We had Room 002 this time, on the ground floor, just around from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Durbundo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Durbundo1966,
Thank you for your recent review!
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy our location and how perfect it is for your footy trips! We are so fortunate to be so close to some of Melbourne’s biggest hot spots that Pensione makes the perfect base for exploring our amazing city.
Thank you also for continuing to stay with us, we do love all our regular guests and all the team here enjoy seeing familiar faces – you guys are family too!
We hope to welcome you again real soon, please let us know when you are returning for your next trip and we will certainly look after you.
Warmest Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Good location, close to restaurants, stadium, trams etc. Staff were friendly and competent, and the restaurant (breakfast and dinner) was excellent. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable.

Maintenance of the room could have been better, air con was quite noisy and the remote was missing the cover. The bed was very soft, which wasn't my taste, and there is live music from the pub right next door on Friday night, both of which made sleep somewhat elusive.

Over all though, it was a nice stay, and a good hotel for a short stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Zoe1591,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.
Firstly please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience in regards to any noise you may have experienced in regards to the back packers next door. Our maintenance teams are currently looking at some new sound proofing options to tackle any extraneous noise whilst our friendly reception team have some lovely sleep well packs available for all our guests who may have any trouble sleeping. Should you wish to stay with us again we will certainly ensure that we not only allocate you towards a quieter side of the building but place one of these cute little packs in the room for you.
Thank you however for your kind words in relation to our team and Oliviers Café! We currently have some great specials coming up so watch this space!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
Warmest Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I was worried about my hotel choice leading up to the trip but my worries melted away upon arriving at the hotel. Warm and inviting, the lobby screams that this is a place that tries and I like that. Fantastic service which started when I rang a week prior to our trip to ensure that we had a window- our wishes came true and we walked into a triple room with two windows! Excellent location and close to transport, this place was a pleasant surprise. The only let down is the awkward shower which can't decide if it wants to hot or cold and the bathroom walls need to be cleaned. However, would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imnotacarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear imnotacarrot,
Thank you for your recent review.
We are delighted to hear that our friendly team made such a great impression on you and that you found our newly refurbished lobby to be so inviting – we love our new selfie station! Our apologies however for any difficulties you faced with your shower, I have scheduled our maintenance teams to begin regular testing of the showers to ensure that this doesn’t repeat.
Please let us know when you wish to return to Melbourne or indeed visit any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia. Our friendly reservations team will certainly ensure that your next stay at any of our 8 Hotels properties will be just as memorable as the first.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing