We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, but bedding was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #45 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My stay here was so bittersweet. The room was absolutely the smallest room I have ever stayed at in a hotel. Admittedly this hotel was mid-range, so perhaps I should have adjusted my expectations, but I still couldn't help but feel slightly claustrophobic. The bathroom was similarly tiny, and we only had one window. The room seemed a bit dull in general because of the lack of natural lighting. The saving grace was the bedding - it was absolutely lovely. Almost absolved the shortcomings I experienced staying at this hotel. However, in this price/class rating there are definitely better hotels in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gcdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear gcdv,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Firstly please allow us to apologise that you found your room to be less than satisfactory. The Pensione prides itself on providing clean and comfortable accommodation for all our guests and it is disappointing to read you did not find it so.
Whilst we can certainly appreciate that the bathrooms are quite compact and not for everyone, we are always looking for new ways to make them more comfortable for our guests. You may also be interested to know that the Pensione has many different room sizes available, I am confident had our friendly reception team been alerted to your distress they would have certainly assisted with moving you a larger room with natural lighting.
It is however fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed our bedding! They certainly are quite comfortable and make for an excellent night’s sleep.
Should you ever wish to return to the Pensione please do not hesitate to contact us as we’d love to introduce you to some larger room types. Please feel free to give our reservations team a call and they will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We hope we may once again welcome you to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,987 - 1,993 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Australia day. The hotel itself is very nice, the room was a little small but all we were doing was sleeping in it so that doesn't bother us. The service was good.

The location of the hotel is ideal for the price. An easy walk into the heart of Melbourne and appeared a relatively safe location later at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear JonFitt,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and thank you for your feedback in relation to our location and team.
We would love to have you stay with us again, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team should you ever be travelling our way as they will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
Likewise if you are ever travelling to some of our other fantastic 8 Hotels properties please let us know as we would be delighted to make enquiries on your behalf.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a great hotel. It has everything you'll need and is within walking distance of shops, trams, the station and the river. The location couldn't be better. The room was brilliantly designed. Yes, it's compact but big enough and very cute. Great hot shower!
I loved it here and would have booked for when I got back from Sydney but they were full unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guiggy,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our central location and the facilities of the hotel! Here at the Pensione we value our return guests, I am sorry to hear that you were unable to book for a return trip however please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team whenever you are travelling to Melbourne as they would love to have the opportunity to look after you.
Conversely if you ever wish to stay in any of our other fantastic 8 Hotels properties please let us know and we can certainly make enquiries on your behalf.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've stayed here every time I visit Melbourne. Mostly due to its convenient location to the airport's shuttle bus. But it is also a great Hotel.

My recent stay I was in Room 226. It smelt a bit damp as wouldn't get much sun due to the proximity of the next door buildings and it seems there is no working extractor for the bathroom. I think leaving the window open a bit could help this.
The very small sink is over the toilet then there is a shelf above it. It does make it quite hard to brush your teeth and wash your face!
Also, a spare blanket would also have been nice as it was a bit cool.

I had just been 20 hours on a plane though so wasn't too much of an issue in that state. Normally I think it could really bother me though. After being in other country's I was reminded of how stingy us Antipodeans are with our wi-fi; bring on the free wi-fi!

Overall though, I do still love this Hotel and will continue to stay each time I visit Melbourne.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Paula A,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are delighted to hear that we are your go to hotel in Melbourne and thank you for continuing to stay with us – we love our regulars!
Our apologies however for any difficulties you faced in regards to your bathroom. The vent above your shower should allow a constant air flow to come and go from within your bathroom so thank you for alerting us to this issue! I have asked our maintenance team to schedule a check for these vents to ensure that this issue does not repeat in the future.
With regards to wifi, we absolutely agree with you and as such, we are in the process of changing over to a complimentary service! This should be up and running very soon. Should you ever wish to visit any of our other 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would be delighted to assist you with any enquiries.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

As a frequent quest and after several visits already this year, I feel it is important to tell possible future quests and the staff at Pensione Hotel what a great place it continues to be. Everything just ticks all the right boxes. Right from the friendly and helpful staff at the reception, the cheerful young gentleman in the restaurant, the helpful and efficient cleaners, the location, the value and the comfort of the rooms. I just keep enjoying this great place and will not consider staying anywhere else for future visits to Melbourne. If you haven't stayed here, yet and are looking for a place where you get the "entire package", this is the place not to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann-Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Ann-Charlotte V,
Thank you for your lovely feedback!
We are thrilled to hear that the Pensione has left such a lasting impression on you and thank you for continuing to stay with us – we love our regulars!
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly ensure that you continue to experience the same high level of service that you are accustomed too.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 days during a conference and meetings in Melbourne. I had a single room which was small but well fitted out and convenient. The location is excellent for the city and only 5 minutes walk from the convention centre. The breakfast was good and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Certainly recommended and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jd135z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear jd135z,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us and that our location suited you so well for your conference! Thank you also for your kind words in relation to our team and Olivier’s Café – they certainly do serve up a fantastic breakfast to get you going for the day.
Should you ever be travelling to Melbourne again or indeed any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would delight in making enquiries on your behalf.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel twice during our tour of south Australia. This was the first place we stayed after our flight from the UK and because we were only staying a short amount of time on the first visit we booked a cheap room.
The staff were really friendly when we arrived. We couldn't checkin until the afternoon and arrived from the airport before 7am! They took our bags and gave us directions to various places in the city to explore before we could checkin - great.
When we checked in I have to admit I was a bit disappointed with the room. It was tiny and had no natural light, the light it had was from the corridor and the light outside the frosted window was on all the time. We did have blackout blinds but that of course made the room very dark. But that being said it was only for a short stay and it was cheap - apart from the light it was a comfortable room and if you are looking for a cheap room with close links to transport and the city this is it.
We came back to this hotel later in our trip and had pre-booked a different room - it was lovely. We had two big windows, lots of light and a lovely big room with all the usual amenities. A really lovely touch was the 'welcome back' gift we had waiting when we arrived - we hadn't said we were coming back so the fact they checked this was great and really elevated the service of this place.
I would come here again and happily recommend it. The staff are really nice and happy to help with anything you need. On one occasion we booked dinner but had no idea where it was, the lady on the desk looked it up online for us and helped us work out a nice route to walk there.
Lots of nice little touches made this place a hidden gem. Well worth booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamJoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear SamJoL,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so thrilled to hear that the Pensione made such a great impression on you and are glad you enjoyed your little welcome back gift! The team and I thoroughly enjoy taking the time to make each guests experience a unique one as it is indeed the most rewarding part of our jobs. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your second stay better in one of the larger styles of room, we can certainly ensure that for your next stay we accommodate you in a space with more natural light.
Please let us know when you are travelling to Melbourne again and the team and I will certainly ensure that your next stay with us will be as equally memorable as the others.
Hope to see you soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,571 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,604 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,932 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £56 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing