We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Ranked #100 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had stayed in the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Adelaide, on a previous trip to Australia, and were pleased with that so, when coming to Melbourne, we booked an economy room for 4 nights.

We wanted a centrally located hotel with bar, restaurant and swimming pool at a reasonable price and that is what we got.

On arrival reception were welcoming but apologetic, they informed us that the air con was not working in any of the rooms. We had prepaid for the rooms and were offered a full refund if we wished to find another hotel or they would provide a fan for the room. It was too late to go looking for another hotel that night so we stayed, after having negotiated free wi-fi in recompense for no air con.

The room had a small balcony so we could open the door and the fan worked OK. Fortunately it was not that hot.

The roof top swimming pool was good and we rated the bar and Encore restaurant(see separate review). The staff were efficient and friendly.

The location is excellent, being close to Chinatown, and the free City Circle tram and $5 tourist shuttle bus stops. Travelling around the CBD was easy.

However, there were two negatives. My husband, who is just under 6 feet in height, found the bed to be too short and the housekeeping left some things to be desired. The room appeared to clean on arrival, but dirty cups were not removed, surfaces were not dusted and the bathroom floor was not cleaned during our 4 night stay.

All in all the hotel provides a lot of pluses for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel, and it's also wonderful to know that you chose to stay with us after a positive experience at our Adelaide property.

It's unfortunate that you were here during the period that we suffered the air conditioning outage, and it's great that you didn't find the rooms too hot as we waited for our electricity supplier to bring the system back on-line. I'm sorry also that your husband didn't find the bed as comfortable as possible. At the hotel we offer a number of different room types with bedding varying from double, queen and king size. It sounds like you were assigned a room with double bedding, so please feel free to book a King Room (Chancellor, Executive King or Premier King Room) next time to ensure you're as comfortable as possible. Also, I have passed on your feedback about the housekeeping service to our Housekeeping Manager. The servicing of the rooms during stays is just as critical as prior to arrival in our opinion, and the Housekeeping Manager will be monitoring the cleaner who serviced your room to ensure the quality is up to standard.

However it is great that you enjoyed your time at the hotel overall, and we hope to welcome you back next time you visit Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed at Grand Chancellor hotels in Hobart and Launceston and found them terrific. The experience in Melbourne was mixed. First the price was good.

I was only there for one night and on making my booking I requested a walk in shower as I am slightly disabled and find stepping over the bath difficult. I chose the lowest non-refundable tariff and received prompt email notification from the hotel that a room with walk-in shower would cost an extra $60. This was mentioned again at check in. I declined the offer as for that price I could have stayed elsewhere.

Mercifully the bath was not high, but the absence of any hand rails, no rubberised mat and a slightly slippery tiled floor did not add to my enjoyment.

My suggestion is that instead of listing “shower, bath” in their facilities list, the text should read ”shower over bath” when this is the only option. This gives clear and unambiguous information on an important OH&S issue. It’s also about actually enjoying one’s stay, and in a Melbourne heat wave that cannot be done without a shower!!

Another question is why hotels consider it helpful to place a full length mirror behind the bathroom door, facing the loo? Seriously infelicitous placement.

There are also 5 or six quite high steps leading to the hotel from the street and I could not find any alternate disabled access.

The hotel is well located, staff are friendly and helpful, there are great restaurants etc nearby. Just not suited for even mildly disabled guests.

Room Tip: Check the details before committing to a tariff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doneworkingAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear DoneworkingAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory and have reviewed your feedback in detail. I would like to thank you also for providing your feedback to us in email, as this allowed me to find your specific reservation to assist me in responding to your feedback.

Your reservation was made through the website Booking.com, and I note in your feedback your suggestion that we advertise the rooms as having "shower over bath" instead of "shower, bath". The hotel would very much like to advertise the bathroom facilities in this way, and in some websites we do so. Unfortunately on Booking.com there is no option for us to do so, as we need to select the room amenities from their list, and shower over bath is not available.

I note in your feedback that you requested a walk-in shower on your reservation, and that you received a prompt reply from our reservations department outlining your options. The hotel has some newly renovated rooms called our Premier King Rooms, These have had the bathrooms completely renovated and now include a walk-in shower (albeit with a small step). This was the $60 upgrade that you were offered by Reservations, as the Economy Room which you booked does not have a walk-in shower facility. As we understood that you requested the walk-in shower, and we still had the Premier Rooms available when you arrived to check-in, it was offered to you again as an option by the front desk.

The entry to the hotel does have steps, and we have inquired as to the possibility of getting ramps and other devices (such as a wheelchair lift) installed at the front of the hotel to assist those with less mobility access the building. Unfortunately due to the placement of the building, and the steps specifically, we are unable to make these alterations. There is alternative access however, through the car park which has direct lift access to both the lobby and accommodation floors, allowing you to avoid the stairs.

Thank you again for your feedback, and once again we are sorry that the hotel did not meet your requirements on this occasion.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We visited Melbourne for four days and were pleased with our choice of accommodation. Room (economy) was surprisingly large and comfortable with queen bed and plenty of pillows. What impressed us was the housekeeping service which did a wonderful job each day regarding room maintenance. Congratulations! The buffet breakfast was good, offering a variety of fare to suit most tastes.
Reception staff were helpful and friendly; nothing was too much trouble. We would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors quieter in regard to traffic and a/c units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Judith,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and found our Economy Room to be suitable for your needs. It's also great to read that you found the room to be well cleaned and maintained; feedback which I have certainly forwarded on to our Housekeeping department.

The breakfast buffet items are changed on a daily basis to ensure that guests staying for longer than one night get some variety of options, and it's great to see that you appreciated and enjoyed that. The hotel's staff also always pride themselves on the level of service they provide to our guests, and it's great to see this being seen in a positive light by our guests!

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A short sharp trip to Melbourne booked HGC on the strength of the roof top pool. Upgraded on arrival to a seventh floor room overlooking Lonsdale St. The room was a good size, clean with excellant storage. King bed very comfortable but pillows a little too 'bouncy' for me. Wifi a tad expensive so we just spotted off our phones. Late January is hot but the air-con worked well. Nespresso would be a nice addition over sachet coffee. Spent more time out of the hotel so although we checked out the pool we sadly never took a dip.
Location wise it was brilliant being close to Chinatown and all the interesting alleys with amazing restaurants and bars. Cool shops around Collins Street. Easy to hop on a tram to St Kilda and used our hire car to venture up to Smith and Gertrude Street. Parking at the hotel is super cheap compared to rates advertised at other parking buildings. Found all the staff very friendly.
A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Buy a pre-loaded tram ticket at any 7/11 as you can't on the tram. Seveth floor room meant stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarebelleuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Clare,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and found the room to be both spacious and clean. It's also wonderful to read that you found interactions with our staff to be positive and friendly, as the team here always pride themselves on the level of service they can provide to our guests.

Your comments about the pillow are noted. Most of the pillows in the hotel are almost brand new, but the hotel is currently considering the implementation of a pillow menu for the hotel's Executive and Premium Rooms, which would give you the option of other pillows if you don't find the usual ones comfortable enough.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Location and price wise you're doing pretty good to stay here. we had the executive room which wasnt huge and in addition to a comfy firm bed we had two seats and a foot rest, that our bags sat on. the bathroom was clean and large enough, though the window into the room was odd but comes with a pull down shade for the shy. products were very good and generous. room quite enough not hearing neighbours nor main street which we faced. the corridors are a little dated as is the smallish lift but they lead you to a decent room so not too fussed. staff were all lovely from reception to kitchen. location youve got all of melbourne near you including the cheap eats chinatown, the QV food court and safeway-dan murphys etc the only let down was the buffet breakfast where you wont starve but found the pastery section ordinary at best; defrosted generic fare. the hot section was nice enough and topped up reguarly, was included in room but next time i'd opt to eat out and the myriad of cafes in the cbd.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joancollins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Joan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful - something we always pride ourselves on here. The Premier King Room in which you stayed (you were upgraded from the Executive) has been completely refurbished in 2013, and I am glad you found the bed to be comfortable.

The location of our hotel is one of the best in Melbourne, we believe, and it is great to see that you found it convenient to all the attractions in the city.

Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet have been forwarded to the chef. Although it is good that you found the hot selections to be satisfactory, your comments in regards to the bakery items is concerning. The items presented are freshly delivered each morning, and are certainly not defrosted from the freezer. We will be looking at the quality of what is being delivered very closely to ensure that our guests are receiving the best possible options on the buffet.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

You cannot fault the location of the Chancellor particularly if you are a foodie, so close to some of Melbourne's most fabulous restaurants. Sure, it has a few rough edges but its not purporting to be a five star hotel. We were initially given a pretty dark room and asked for something a bit brighter. The receptionist was very helpful and we were given a much larger, brighter room Loonsdale street side for a small daily surcharge.
I'm not one for picking up on little things and there were a few but when you consider the value for money, who cares. Parking was not included but was an incredibly reasonable $20.00 a day with a very friendly and obliging attendant

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and found the room to be suitable and our staff to be friendly and helpful. From reading your review I believe you were upgraded to one of our Premier King Rooms which were completely refurbished last year. These rooms have fabulous views over Lonsdale Street and the church opposite, and I am glad to read that you found the outlook to your liking.

It's also great to read that you found our car parking options to be good value. We recently did some analysis and we believe that our guest parking options are the best value in the city. I will also pass on your feedback regarding the service you received from the attendant to the car park operator.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

From the get go, we were treated wonderfully by the hotel. Having flown in from Sydney on an early flight, I politely asked if I could leave my bags at about 8am and the receptionist said "you're room is ready if you wish to go up". Couldn't believe it, so unusual for a five star hotel.

Considering the rate is very much lower than many other five star hotels in the area, it is excellent value for money. We stayed in a Premier King Room, can't fault the room, great décor, very spacious, modern, excellent furnishings etc. The only negative about the room was the noise at street level on a Saturday night. We were on the fourth floor, never again. There was yelling, screaming, fighting, yahooing, sirens, car hoons, you name it! No fault of the hotel though. I didn't even mention it to them upon checkout the next day.

My wife loved the Clipsal Saturn push button light switches so much, we changed our whole house when we got home, costing us a mint. Lol.

The buffet breakfast was literally "crap". Had we have known, we wouldn't have wasted our money on it. Sorry Grand Chancellor! The waitress was rude, the food was ordinary and not a great selection. The outside border of the room is tiled and the rest of the room is carpeted, whatever you do, don't sit at a table against the wall, because of the uneven floor, the tables are at an angle. I couldn't stand it, so changed tables.

All in all, I would highly recommend you stay at the Grand Chancellor.

Room Tip: If your room is facing Lonsdale Street, get as high as is available. Do not stay on the fourth floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbie5163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Bobbie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be comfortable and well decorated (I like the light switches as well!). The Premier King Room like the one in which you stayed were fully refurbished last year and have been very popular with our guests ever since.

I am sorry however to read that you were disturbed by noise from the street. The hotel is considering upgrading the windows on the front to be double glazed to restrict noise disturbances, however one of the popular aspects of the hotel's rooms are the opening windows which would be removed with double glazing.

It is also disappointing to read of your negative breakfast experience. The staff who work across all departments in the hotel pride themselves on the level of customer service they provide our guests, and I was very disappointed to read that you found the service to be unfriendly. We generally receive positive feedback on the breakfast food, both in quality and selection so I am surprised that you found it to be below expectation. I have forwarded your feedback onto the hotel's chef.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the review of your stay, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 161 in Melbourne
2,457 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
1,853 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#86 of 161 in Melbourne
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,351 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#127 of 161 in Melbourne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#91 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing