We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool was a deal breaker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Ranked #97 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The pool was a deal breaker”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Staying in Melbourne for business. It was a toss up to go for a place with a pool or free WiFi. The pool won, as Melbourne was still so hot in March. Having the pool was fantastic, especially as it was located on the rooftop, so it had good views. Great to be able to cool off after work too. The room was comfortable and clean. Being in the CBD made it wonderfully handy but a little noisy on the Saturday night. The Wifi wasn't free, which gets annoying when you are travelling on business, but it wasn't expensive. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors could be quieter on the saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maranzanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Maranzanis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

Our rooftop pool is a great place to wind down after a long day at work or out shopping, and you’re right the views of Melbourne from the rooftop are amazing.

I would however like to mention we do offer 15mins per day of free WIFI access to all in-house guests. As you said we do have other paid options that we also believe are inexpensive.

The hotel has considered double glazing in the past, and has decided that although there would be some noise benefit from this being installed, the hotel would also lose the benefit of its opening windows. Many of our guests appreciate the opening windows and the fact you can get fresh air into the rooms, and this is therefore an important feature of the hotel. I have asked Maintenance to check all the windows in the Premier King Rooms to ensure they are properly sealed, so that all excess noise can be restricted as much as possible.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Williams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    794
    566
    260
    146
See reviews for
267
878
183
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

upon checking in staff were very friendly . we were apparently upgraded... we couldnt sleep in the room the first night as we were here on business... and needed to make sure we were resting as needed to complete our various meetings and such.. the second night we inquired about a upgrade... that was ok , needed to stay another night in the odd room. did that.. the first night in the 15th floor.. we were excited to be staying in a bigger room. bed was 2 beds shoved together. could feel the line down the bed. but none the less was fine. had a cold buffet the next day ( was ice cold ) - paying 20 ish dollars/ for cold food. but was quite hungry.. into the night , we had been at a very important event all day. came back about 11pm. was greeted by a lady called Jess. .... was very rude.. What room are you in? no good evening no hi how are you? - that person cant stay with you , you know we have a policy. we said no worries he is leaving we are just waiting with him. for his ride. ( we hadnt even been on the town. we were networking all night :) but nice of her to treat us like we were drunk.... i dont even drink for the record. .. then again .. as he left. whats your room number ???!! again.. wow did you just ask us this..? she said yes. i need to know. and we said well we just told you 5 mins ago/../. and we were with a team member. who was staying in the hotel ( same deal again ) - is she going into the room with you?? WHAT!! we said? she continued its policy .. and we said is it policy to harass people? .. now in that time. there were other guests. and they werent hassled repeatedly .. looks like Jess Needs more Training or a new area to work in. because we wont be going back... oh forgot to mention . we are in the city quite abit and our business people we know there is about 243 of them who wont be staying there.. very dissapointing... rude and abrupt . tried talking to someone when we checked out today. all they did was make excuses. for Jess. not good enough ,, sorry isnt enough to be treated like your doing something wrong when your not.. and the funny thing down our hall there was 12 people hanging out ., door open.. that same night.... so how did we get harassed and they didnt .. wonderful !
and that night we stayed in the 15th floor . there was a we are sorry we are refurbishing. note in the directory .. this meant we experienced steaming hot showers. no cold water and burning ones yep . hot then cold aircon problems... oh and we were almost charged for room service when it wasnt ours. and we had to convince the staff it wasnt us.. yep . not going back... still was charged full price for rooms and food and everything ....... great way to fix issues with a customer.

Room Tip: dont stay there. unless your desperate. and need to stay in that area try the Mantra up the road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jadesingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jadesingsnow,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I’m very disappointed and sorry to read that you found our hotel to be below your expectations.
Our buffet breakfast we find is good value for the large variety we offer. The food we serve on the buffet is regularly turned over, to ensure the warmth and freshness of the food is maintained. All cooked food on the buffet is freshly cooked as required, and our fresh fruit and baked goods are all delivered the morning of service so you can be assured as to their freshness.

All members of our team pride themselves on their customer service and their ability to go above and beyond for all guests no matter the time of day or night. The hotel does have very strict security measures at all times however during the hours of 11pm and 7am they are monitored even closer. I apologise if you felt any of our night team members were being rude to you during this security check.

The Assistant manager you spoke to the morning of your check out did pass on your feedback to myself to follow up, as reports of rude staff are very rare and something the hotel takes very seriously.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the future as I am sure that you will find your next stay a much more satisfactory experience.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Williams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Healesville, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked here to be close to the Comedy Theatre. Room was smaller than I had thought. The bathroom was in sad need of a makeover. The resealing was mouldy. There were long dark hairs on the hair dryer (mine is short and greying). The room need a dust. The curtains were off the hook.
On the upside, the staff were great. The meal in Encore was good value up until I found a 'raw prawn' on my Seafood Sampler plate.
Would I stay again. Probably not. It was my one night out and was looking for a more upmarket place. The décor in the room was dated and dark.
Note to self, give the bemire breakfast a miss and find a café in one of the laneways. Better value for money.

Room Tip: Only rooms facing the street and those higher up at the rear might be better. Ask to be relocated i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Trudi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

It is very unfortunate to read that you found your stay with us to be disappointing. Your description of the room is quite disturbing and today I have asked for the Executive Housekeeper to do a thorough inspection of this room to ensure it is suitable for sale. In the condition you describe it, there appears to be issues with its presentation.

The Economy Rooms such as the one you booked are about 20-23sqm depending on the room, and offer comfortable accommodation which was refreshed and updated in 2012-2013. The work we did last year should have removed such issues like the bathroom grout that you spotted, so we will ensure that whatever issues found are rectified.

I am glad to read that you found our staff to be pleasant and friendly however. Our team always pride themselves on providing warm and helpful service.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the location (close to restaurant for a night out with friends) but the service was indifferent at best, the room old and in desperate need of an update. Bathroom was grotty and very old. We were charged for items from the minibar we did not consume and the whole experience was less than I would expect from a hotel from this chain. Would not recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kjwarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Ms Warriner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your time with us, and found the room to be below your expectation. The room in which you stayed was refreshed as recently as 2013, with updated furniture and curtains, as well as new bedding. We are doing further work on the bathroom in this room in the next month or so to ensure that the standards of the hotel are maintained.

It is very disappointing that you didn't enjoy the service experience either, as the staff at the hotel pride themselves on the levels of service they provide to our guests. Your feedback has been passed onto the Guest Services Manager so she can speak with the staff who checked you in and out, and ensure they are providing the high level of service we always expect.

Thank you again for your feedback, as it helps the hotel improve and ensure a positive experience for our guests in the future.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Booked well in advance so got a good deal on the room; ended up with a king size room, which I was pleased with as I didn't have the squishy feeling that I'd had on a previous stay! This is a good mid-range hotel with mid-range prices. Especially enjoyed a bit of time at the rooftop pool on a warm Melbourne afternoon; the buffet brekkie is pretty good value, the bed was comfy, the room was clean. Only down side was they seemed to keep forgetting to clean my room! However, this was dealt with promptly when I enquired about it. If you want plush luxurious surrounds, this isn't the place for you, but if you're after a good value comfortable hotel in a fantastic location, then stay here.

Room Tip: There are rooms that are off to the side in a very quiet location, just to the left of the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear C & J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

Very glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you found the Premier King Room in which you stayed to be comfortable and spacious. I am very sorry about the housekeeping staff forgetting to clean your room, but it sounds like the duty manager was able to sort it out for you quickly which is good to hear. I have asked the Executive Housekeeper about this, as there are systems in place to ensure that all rooms are cleaned each day.

It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the rooftop swimming pool and also our breakfast buffet. We agree that it is good value, and I think that for $21 for a full buffet breakfast is one of the best value hotel breakfasts in Melbourne.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next choose to stay in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in an "Executive Room" facing Lonsdale St and would have preferred a quieter room if we had known about the construction noise from across the street and the early morning noisy trucks. Our room was quite small and dominated by a large office chair, large t.v. and blinking modems. Definitely set up for the business quests but when we were there - seemed to be mainly bus groups and retirees. Bed was comfortable but prefer a larger bed for 2 adults. The air conditioner is located above the end of the bed and is a bit uncomfortable blowing over the bed at night. The breakfast buffet was excellent, great value for the price. Great location - close to Chinatown, Queen Victoria Market, Gardens, trams, buses, train and shopping. Would have preferred a regular bar size fridge instead of a wine bottle storage fridge.
Room cost was $554.00 for 3 nights with breakfast for 2 adults each day. Would stay there again but would request a room located in another area.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking Lonsdale street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver_Budgie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Silver Budgie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite some issues that you seem to have had with your room. I note your comments about the room size, and perhaps for your next stay you would like to consider one of our larger Premier King Rooms. These are significantly larger than our Executive Rooms and offer King Bedding as well as being beautifully renovated in the past 12 months.

The noise from the construction site across the road is unfortunately outside of the control of the hotel, and due to the hotel having balconies and opening windows in its rooms it cannot offer double glazing at this time. However the site is limited in the hours it can operate, and we find that generally noise levels are pretty reasonable.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakedistrict
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great place to stay for north part of CBD. Close to Greek precinct and Chinatown. Rooms OK for size and considering the price so worth it for a night or two only. Staff were friendly and service on front desk quick

Room Tip: Get a room higher up, we were on the 3rd floor and its was kinda noisey from outside.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltraveller1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Globaltraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and found the location of the hotel to be convenient. It's also great to hear that you found the hotel to be good value for money, as well as clean and of comfortable size. The hotel's staff always pride themselves on their guest service, so it is great that you found them to be friendly and efficient.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when your global travelling brings you back to Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#76 of 160 in Melbourne
2,187 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,157 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Property: Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing