We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking into the room was like a taking a time machine to the 1980's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Ranked #100 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The lobby was ok, the elevator was looking a teensie bit dilapidated. The hotel room was of average size. The furniture in the room looked like the type that a hoarder would pick up on the side of the road.This place is ok for a very short stay and provides you with a bed and bathroom, but you could get it much cheaper elsewhere. The balcony stunk like chinese food.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattrrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,236 - 2,242 of 2,391 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

I booked this hotel because of two previous happy stays at the Grand Chancellor in Brisbane. After reading some of the TA reviews, I did wonder if I hadn't made a mistake this time! But our fears were unrealised. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and most of the staff were excellent. Our room was on the 9th floor (902) and I was surprised to find a king bed rather than the double that had been booked. There was a door opening onto a small bacony which did, unfortunately, directly face a brown and unappealing wall of the building next door; but did also afford a bit of a glimpse of the beautiful stone Wesley church across the road. The room next door (901) did have a larger balcony and probably a more direct view. There was virtually no road noise in this room, and although the airconditioning unit did quietly hum it was not intrusive. As another guest has noted, there is a bit of a gap around the door to the corridor and if you are like me and like a dark room, too much light comes in when trying to sleep. However, this was fixed with well-placed towels & the ironing board! The curtains blocked out light from the windows very well and we managed to have a sleep in both mornings. This is an older hotel but the room was spacious, clean and stocked with the little bits and pieces you would expect in a 4 star. Breakfast had variety, was well presented and was replenished promptly. We paid $132 night incl. breakfast each morning and a late check-out of 12 noon, with secure luggage storage for a later departure. Internet was extra, but with a internet room 3 doors down it was too easy to go there. All in all this hotel ticked the boxes I needed, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

After reading some good and bad reviews we risked a 2 night stay and were very pleased with the standard of this hotel. We've travelled extensively all over the world and this hotel was perfect for location and breakfast was very good. The perfect base for being out and about visiting a city. After all, you're hardly in your room apart from sleeing! We didn't find it noisey or scruffy either. Thanks Grand Chancellor.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Linnilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, Sunday and Monday. I was upgraded on arrival to an executive room. There were renovations on the floor I stayed on - very loud drilling noise in the afternoon and banging at 8.30am in the morning, also the airconditoners (in the room and on the roof of the building next door) were very loud and it wasn't possible to turn the room air-con off. I am presuming this was the reason for the upgrade! The staff were very friendly, check in / out very efficent and an excellent breakfast (included in room price with the deal I got).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose_J8711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The location of this hotel was great - close to the Greek precinct, the shops and the tennis but definitely not what we were expecting in terms of room presentation.

Our flight arrived earlier than check-in time and we were asked whether we would like a $20 upgrade to an available room. We elected to do this as we were off to the tennis. Imagine our surprise when the standard of the room was definitely not 3 star let alone 4. We thought the other rooms must have been bad! The room was a reasonable size but the condition of the paint on the walls and the knocked around furniture was equal to that of a hotel in Egypt.

After returning from the tennis we realised the air conditioners in the hotel next door was incredibly loud. We asked reception for a room change which they were able to do for the following two nights. The receptionist told us that there was ongoing legal action regarding the noise from the A/C. Our new room although a little dated was definitely not as battered around as the first one. if you choose to stay here I would definitely request a room away from the air conditioners next door unless you live next to a subway and don't mind the noise!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This is essentially a cheap motel style inner city hotel. That's not necessarily a bad thing, so long as you know what you're getting and don't fall for the '4 star' claim. Rooms are seriously dated, but clean. No facilities to really speak of. Staff are friendly which is a positive, and location is nice and central. It's about 20mins walk to Melbourne Park from the hotel which was my main purpose as was visiting for the Australian Open tennis.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eponline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Good value and very comfortable.
Staff were good and very helpful throughout our 6 nights stay.
Plenty to do in Melly and all within easy reach of hotel on foot (I'm 60+ and found it easy!)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanFIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,457 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,852 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,350 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#128 of 161 in Melbourne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#91 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing