We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Ranked #13 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to everything.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed here in January, for a few days. The apartment itself was newly decorated, lovely kitchen area, neat and tidy. We had a one bedroom apartment with a fold out bed in the living area. It was ok for a few days, but any longer would have driven us crazy. The only drawback was that it was a little small for four adults. I know it states a one bedroom apartment when I booked it, but I was assured there was ample room for four.
I would stay here again, as the location is excellent. This hotel is not fully serviced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggy0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear tiggy0710,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. The location is definitely hard to beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    194
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
111
248
29
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here recently as a family of 4, as we had travelled over to Melbourne to watch the 'Dr Who Symphonic Spectacular' on the Friday night. Having stayed at the Pan Pacific in Singapore recently, I was preparing myself to be disappointed as a comparison would be unavoidable, but I am glad to say I was not!
We arrived at 6.30 am on the 'red-eye' from Perth, caught the Skybus from the airport into town, so we were at the Sebel by 9.00 am, and much to my surprise were allowed to check in to the room (606) straight away. A shower and sleep during the day made the late night that followed much more enjoyable. Room was spacious, well furnished, and a good sofa bed for the kids to sleep on. On the Sunday morning, we all slept in until 10.30 after a busy weekend, and with an 11.00 am check-out, things were tight. After speaking to staff on the front desk, we were allowed to check out at 1.00pm instead. Front desk staff was friendly, professional and more than happy to answer our questions.
Would definitely stay here again when next in Melbourne!

Room Tip: The room was extremely quiet given the busy location in the heart of Melbourne. Our room on the 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTerry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear PTerry2014,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. Wow - what a great review to be compared to your stay in Singapore and not to have been disappointed. Our staff do ensure that guests expectations are exceeded wherever possible and its great to hear that this was the case for you and your family.
We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

A recent trip to Melbourne saw us stay at this hotel for a week and we were quite happy with the experience. The location is excellent and central to all the attractions. it is not a fully serviced hotel with one room service half way through our week, but extra towels can be requested.
we faced Flinder's Lane and the sliding glass doors that opened allowed the sights and sounds of the city into the room when you want them. Other than that the room was exceptionally quiet with them closed. Do not plan to have anyone stay on the sofa lounge for more than a night as it was dreadfully uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room facing Flinder,s Lane. 2 doors down the Bull and Bear is great for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Kevn7,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to read that you found the sofa bed to be uncomfortable and hope that this did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here while in Melbourne for the tennis and it was a great place to stay. We were in apartment 809 and it is large, broken up into 5 spaces which act as rooms. There is a kitchenette with a dining area, then a lounge with leather seating and a large TV, then an office with another lounge and a desk, then the large bedroom, and finally a huge bathroom with a shower, and a large free-standing bath. It is conveniently located for the trams or trains as Flinders Street station is around the corner. A small Coles supermarket is around the corner on Elizabeth Street. We used the valet parking, which was $35 per day. Our car was brought to us promptly when we wanted it. Being a serviced apartment, the room is serviced only once every 4 days, but this was fine with us. If I was staying for a week or so, I'd be slightly disappointed with the small amount of storage in the bedroom. As we were there for three nights, it wasn't a hassle leaving most things in our suitcases. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a Signature Suite (room 809) which had a king bed and two sofa beds. The apartment was huge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear FreqAussieTraveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Melbourne. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and are sure you will have enjoyed the tennis - what a great year it was. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing