We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Right in the heart of Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Ranked #14 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfort Right in the heart of Melbourne”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for a week in a comfortable, one bedroom apartment which was clean, well laid out & presented. Within walking distance are all the sounds & sights of Melbourne, tram stop is within 2 mins walk, great coffee shop right next door. The staff were very helpful and friendly, which makes any stay away from home even more pleasant . The Chinese restaurant close to the hotel has great dumplings and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Nick C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. It's fantastic that you found the property's location beneficial & that the apartment met all your needs. Our helpful and friendly staff would love to host you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    196
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
114
253
29
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Melbourne with a free tram within a 2 minute walk. The tram circles the CBD and you can get on an off as you please. The hotel was very central and allowed us to visit Melbourne without over the top prices in getting to our chosen destinations.
The rooms were well set out and the bathroom facilities were great. Kitchen facilities spot on also.
Reception staff were very helpful..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Glenda F,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the apartment, together with the bathroom and kitchen facilities, and the location of the property. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The property's website says it's an "all suite upscale boutique hotel", but the pokey cheapo room (just large enough for the bed) you'll get if you book via Wotif certainly fails my test of a "suite".

The noise coming from the adjoining room via the interconnecting door at the foot of the bed was enough to have me call and ask for another room. Unfortunately (this being a work trip), the booking was made for me through Wotif, so I wasn't eligible to be upgraded into a decent room, just another one in the same config - hospitality Russian Roulette.

Coughing up another $50/night got me into a much more suitable "Flinders Suite". There was still some sound leaking from the adjoining room, but at least it's off the room's entrance foyer, as far away from the bedroom as possible. (What is it with Australian hotels and wafer-thin walls and lousy door seals??)

If you CAN get yourself into a Flinders Suite the place is MUCH more comfortable. It's well-placed in the middle of the Melbourne CBD, a quick walk to Flinders St Station and all the cafes and restaurants the area has to offer. The heavy blinds close fully, guaranteeing no daylight sneaks in until *you* want it to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreigOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear GreigOnTour,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We apologise for the inconvenience encountered during your stay and understand that our General Manager has contacted you regarding your concerns and opinions. As always, we appreciate any feedback our guests can provide. It's always advisable to request the Flinders suite in future. We hope to be able to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The apartments are excellent. Spacious and clean. Very quiet and relaxing. Sensational Chinese across the street. Laundry facilities were useful. Great kitchen. Coles around the corner. Cleaning staff very efficient and friendly.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaust3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear aaust3,
We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, as well as the apartment's facilities and the property's close proximity to restaurants and the supermarket. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Thank you for the yummy chocolates and card for my Birthday - it was a lovely surprise and much appreciated.

We stayed in the Signature Suite - a stunning 5 rooms (kitchen/dining, lounge, study, bedroom, ensuite) with a comfy king size bed. All tastefully decorated.

It was lovely and quiet for a place in the centre of Melbourne’s CBD.

The Signature Suite has a deep bath (big enough for two) to relax in, the bathroom extras are lovely, although it would have been nice to dim the lights while relaxing in the bath and bathrobes to wear when you get out.

Our hire car was looked after well, and promptly bought up whenever we needed it.

Wish we could have stayed longer.........

Room Tip: The Signature Suite - very quiet, large deep bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Mamely,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are glad you appreciated the birthday card and chocolates, together with the stunning, and tastefully decorated accommodation. We would love to welcome you back soon for a longer stay perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Sebel at Flinders is simply amazing. The suite had everything we needed, fully equipped kitchenette, super comfy beds, etc. Guest laundry on the 7th floor, and a lounge with free espressos while reading the morning papers, completed the stay. The location is superb, trams, trains, cafes, all within a short walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TADoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear TADoc,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New delhi, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Flinders lane is very centrally located and we could walk to many of the attractions of Melbourne. Bourke Street shopping area, south bank of the Yarra river with many restaurants, museums, opera/theater and the Botanical gardens are all nearby. But the street is very narrow and one cannot see any sunlight. The only view is into other office buildings. It is a serviced apartment and not a hotel the suites are well furnished and very comfortable but it has limited services for the residents. There is no housekeeping service and rooms are not cleaned and towels and sheets are changed once in 8 days. Residents have to clean the garbage, do their own washing at the common laundrette and have to ask for a vacuum cleaner if they want to clean up the crumbs that fall on the carpet because of kitchen activities. The air conditioner in the living area was not working properly and could not be fixed by the staff, who did not have the technical competence. A serviced apartment that charges so much is expected to provide such basic housekeeping services.

Room Tip: If someone is paying this type of tariff, he should stay at a property overlooking the Yarra river a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Abjee,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the property's location and the well furnished apartment. Our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the faulty air conditioner. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
992 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing