We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Ranked #12 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I was looking for a room downtown close to an office for a one night stay before flying out, and the Sebel fitted the bill, and I was glad I found it.

I didn't know what to expect, but it looks like, and is, a refurbished older hotel and still retains some of the 'old style', whilst being modernised.

My room was a good size and looked as though it was brand new renovated - but I understand it was done several years ago. Décor in the room was all dark, which I though a bit odd, but a minor point. Convenient power points were in short supply, which is disappointing in a refurbed hotel. The bathroom and shower were both quite large, an unusual but good feature in an inner city hotel.

Overall very satisfied with the hotel, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Michael076,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. It really is a fantastic property and we are very proud of the refurbishment we have completed there. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as the little extras such as the large bathroom. It is definitely unique for inner-city accommodation.

Thank you again for providing this feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    194
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
111
248
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights. I was extremely impressed with the hotel for the various reasons below:
- Friendly staff
- Spotless rooms
- Excellent service
- lovely décor

I also like the location although a bit of noise from late night patrons of the various restaurants and bars can sometimes be heard.. as well as the rubbish truck.. but now I am being just too picky.

the room itself is excellent for a family. there are folding doors that separate the bedroom from the living.. and the mattress on the sofabed is of a premium range. We had our 10 month old with us as well as my mother in law.. and they were able to sleep on the mattress on the floor.. and my son had almost no risk of sleeping on that mattress as there was hardly a drop to the floor if he rolled off. (never did)

the kitchen was decent, with my mother in law able to cook several meals for my son and we had to request extra towels which was always sent up quickly. I really liked the proper table for sitting at which can accommodate 4 guests very comfortably

The laundry on the 7th floor was a godsend (plenty of throwing up from my son which accounts for the extra towels).

The bathroom is excellent with a good water pressure and products like soap, shampoo etc.

Plenty of wardrobe space and twin TV's.

There is also a nice lounge with a computer connected to a printer for free B&W printing. very handy for several business meetings that I had whilst in Melbourne.

The only drawbacks was the lack of free Wi-Fi.

I personally felt the hotel was worth more than what I paid.. and this is extremely rare.. In saying this.. I hope they keep the rates as it is!

hope this has been useful..

Room Tip: perhaps ask for a room away from flinders lane?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Sharinds,

Thank you for providing such amazing feedback. It's fantastic to hear how enjoyable your stay was at The Sebel Flinders Lane. We have worked hard to refurbish this property to the highest of standards, and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed the quality and layout of the apartments. They really are breathtaking. On top of that, the amenities available, as well as the fantastic location and staff, make this property the perfect option for a luxurious stay in the city.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff were very welcoming, efficient, helpful
Apartments were lovely tastefully decorated, no noise despite being so close to busy trams & roads. Very comfortable. Very easy to access all city attractions including Federation Square

Room Tip: Views are only other buildings so be prepared. Large apartments & lovely kitchen too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsStillscottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear MrsStillscottish,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased that you found the staff welcoming , efficient and helpful, as well as the apartment tastefully decorated. We hope to be able to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The rooms have been beautifully refurbished and the hotel is very relaxing, clean and quiet. Great location if in the Melbourne CBD for business. Close to the river and many restaurants and parks. Friendly and efficient staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Richard T,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to hosting you again to enjoy the relaxing ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Most things within walkable distance. Kids welcome. Helpful and friendly front staff. Swift service. Laundry avaliable. Free 30min Wifi only in the lobby wich is a little bit annoying since most cafes offer free unlimited internet. Why not hotels?
Great and clean room, a little unusual furniture and wallpaper. Bathroom was totally black which I found interesting, a little bit butique style. Double windows, so little noises from the street below.
TV in sleeping room and living room. Kitchenentte with basic appliances.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitsambredi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear hitsambredi,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay & the proximity to many attractions. We hope you & your family can return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for a week in a comfortable, one bedroom apartment which was clean, well laid out & presented. Within walking distance are all the sounds & sights of Melbourne, tram stop is within 2 mins walk, great coffee shop right next door. The staff were very helpful and friendly, which makes any stay away from home even more pleasant . The Chinese restaurant close to the hotel has great dumplings and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Nick C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. It's fantastic that you found the property's location beneficial & that the apartment met all your needs. Our helpful and friendly staff would love to host you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Melbourne with a free tram within a 2 minute walk. The tram circles the CBD and you can get on an off as you please. The hotel was very central and allowed us to visit Melbourne without over the top prices in getting to our chosen destinations.
The rooms were well set out and the bathroom facilities were great. Kitchen facilities spot on also.
Reception staff were very helpful..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Glenda F,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the apartment, together with the bathroom and kitchen facilities, and the location of the property. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,244 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
1,464 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing