We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$290
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,689)
Filter reviews
4,689 results
Traveller rating
2,967
1,087
401
142
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,967
1,087
401
142
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollins kitchenthe club loungecollins streetmarble bathroomstar hotelcorner roomroom servicefederation squarebeautiful hotelbuffet breakfastking roomvalet parkingyarra riverlate checkgreat roomlocation is excellentcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,537 - 4,542 of 4,689 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks around April/May and I have to say this is one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in. Whilst the rooms are clearly well maintained and looked after with very big beds and a large bath the same care is not taken with the rest of the hotel.

The state of the swimming pool and Jacuzzi was absoloutly disgusting. There was scum round the jacuzzi that just made you feel like you were stewing in everybody elses dirt and that you could not sit up against the sides. The Jacuzzi was closed several times for maintenance yet they never cleaned it once in the 2 weeks we were there. The pool was not cleaned either for the two weeks i was there. I swam pretty much daily after exercising in the gym and found that you would put your arm in the water and bring it out covered in someone elses hair. Not only that but there were hair bands and peoples ear plugs at the bottom of the pool along with plasters and more hair that was there the entire time.

Most pools have a shower on pool side and have notices informing people to shower before entering or leaving a pool. They should at least do this if they are not going to clean the pool as it would cut the amount fo dirt down a bit.

On a positive note we were really impressed with the honesty of the staff and the actions they took to resolve a certain matter where the maid broke my partners classes.The hotel left a message on our phone informing us they had broken them instead of letting us find them in that state ourselves and then gave my partner cash to get a new pair straight away.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view. Also i would ask for a room that looks out over the yarra side rather than the city.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelled23feme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear welltravelled23feme,
Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We are disappointed to learn that our pool area did not meet your expectations and extend our sincere apologies for your experience. It is particularly disappointing to note your comments as we do operate a regular cleaning and maintenance program to ensure the area always meets the standards we strive to achieve. We are sorry that this impacted your stay. Rest assured that your comments have been discussed with our Management team and our operations shall be reviewed based on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had an opportunity to stay in the excellently refurbished Grand Hyatt Melbourne.. For an extra cost on the booking you are treated to drinks and canapes nightly, followed up by a lovely breakfeast each morning on the Club Lounge 31st Floor.
My only issue was the service at times in the lounge could have been better, I felt some staff were a little too proud and less welcoming.... Having worked in hotels for many years at a 5 star level, they would have showed more warmth.... But overall, great location and great facilities.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Cllub Lounge facilities, well worth it...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne several times in the last few months whilst travelling to Melbourne to negotiate a deal. To my mind, the Grand Hyatt Melbourne is what a good city hotel should be. The rooms are all tastefully decorated, the beds are comfy but its the little touches of class that make it stand out from the jaded pack of business traveller inns. The bedside alarm clock is a Sony Ipod dock. The complementary tea is from T2 (not just some Lipton rubbish). The mini-bar includes a bottle of Moet. Downstairs there is a very cool restaurant and bar featuring a floor to ceiling wine rack. The bar serves 22 varieties of Martinis. The service is always good. The staff are attentive and friendly. I could not fault this place and it is always refreshing to stay there after some of the soul-less dives Ive been put up in.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views over Melbourne.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Colin, thank you for sharing your comments. It was wonderful to read how much you enjoy our hotel. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in october. Not a good rate but the service was good and efficient. I asked for an early check in and got my room as soon as I reached ( 10.00 am).
Front desk was very good prompt and corteous.
Nice rooms with almost all amenities that you could look for.
the parking right next to the hotel is really expensive. paid A$ 67 for a few hours.
Besides that the stay was wonderful. Will come back again

Room Tip: Look for the rooms facing the river... Views on the other side are not so good unless you are on a high floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarunKarnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your review and we are very pleased our staff played a part in making your stay enjoyable. For your next stay, please do let our reservations team know you would prefer a room with Yarra River views and we shall certainly strive to accommodate this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Hyatt in July 2011. It is an absolutely beautiful hotel within walking distance to everything in the Melbourne CBD. Having been newly refurbished, everything was brand new and it is the nicest hotel lobby I have seen in a long time. The bar is also great (with amazing spiced nuts complimentary) and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable.

Room was nice and would recommend to anyone who likes a little luxury. Could not think of a single thing to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Thank you for your lovely feedback on our renovated hotel and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews