We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a very pleasant 5 night stay at the Hyatt. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds very comfy. We had a fantastic view, and the hotel is situated in a great location - easy to walk to places of interest, and the free tourist tram runs fairly close too. The hotel was busy as it was the week before the Australian Open and players were staying here, but the service was still of a high standard - Brian on the desk at night was extremely helpful and courteous. My only gripe was that you have to pay for WiFi - always seems money grabbing these days when you can generally get it for free in cheaper hotels!! However you can go round the corner to one of the many nice cafes etc in Melbourne and use for free - or price of a coffee!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear nlm123
Thank you for your kind review and it rings true that Grand Hyatt Melbourne is lucky to be right in the heart of Melbourne amongst the hustle and bustle. We will most definitely pass on to Brian that his excellent service struck a chord. In terms of Wi-Fi, we hope to implement a better solution in the near future and look forward to seeing you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    908
    338
    108
    70
See reviews for
543
1,477
180
1,177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This used to be one of the best places to stay in Melbourne, but no longer. Service in the restaurant is slow, and it took more than an hour for someone to come and fix the remote in my room. Add to that a high tariff, a A$29 daily fee to use the internet, and even a 1.5% surcharge if you pay your bill with a credit card, and you see a hotel that is not great value but which manages to be quite annoying.

Room Tip: The higher the better. The elevators are slow and require a clumsy pass key to operate, but the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear travel1406
Thank you for taking the time to share you review and it is clear how disappointed you are. Our mission at Grand Hyatt Melbourne is to deliver an authentic and memorable experience exceeding our guests’ expectations at every touchpoint and not fall short.
Your feedback about the service levels has been duly noted and passed on to our restaurant and front-of-house staff.
We appreciate your frustration regarding the daily internet fee, and are looking into a better solution for our guests in line with market expectations.
We do hope you will consider staying at our hotel again, and afford us the opportunity to turn your experience around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

this was a four day break which was a mix of business and pleasure.This hotel is superb.The staff are first class. The whole feeling from the time you enter is of style and class. The rooms
are generous with a huge glass window to give you a view day and night. The foyer and lounge areas although very stylish make you feel relaxed., at ease and pampered.Well worth all the costs. The breakfast is also worth a visit, no need to eat again till dinner..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear kerry b
Thank you for your top-class review and glad that you received 5-star treatment. We will agree that the buffet breakfast is the ultimate dining experience and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We started at the Hyatt for one night following an event. The rooms are beautiful and include a large during area with lovely furniture. We had a city view which was great at night and although we are locals, felt away from everything in the luxurious surroundings. The hotel gym is huge, taking up an entire floor of the building. Overall, I would recommend this hotel in comparison to other five star Melbourne hotels as value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy0nH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear happy0nH0liday
An escape in your own city is a welcome treat in our books! The hotel has a lot to offer for that night away from home – whether it be reclining in our custom-built sofas admiring the view or getting the adrenaline pumping in the gym! We hope you come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is a great hotel located at the top end of Collins Street. The rooms are great, staff are very helpful and super courteous. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I've seen. The gym is exceptionally well equipped. Wi-fi is good but chargeable.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Chelsea159,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we agree that the buffet breakfast is a standout! In fact there are many things about our hotel that make our guests’ experience first rate, but you have identified them all. We hope you choose us when you’re next in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Hotel Melbourne for 2 nights.
Positives
* Fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne city, within walking distance to public transport and cafes.
* Check in was fast.
* Room had a fantastic view, able to see Federation Square, etc
* Room was clean and well maintained. Beds comfortable.
* Bonus - bottled drinking water provided.
* Air conditioning - worked well in the hot weather.
* Gym use/pool free to guests.
Negatives
* Only negative - guests need to pay to use tennis court. It would have been nice to have this free of charge, particularly given the Australian open had just been held in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEasiajetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear SEasiajetsetter,
We are delighted to note that your recent stay was enjoyable as we strive to ensure all facets of every guest’s stay are world-class. Unfortunately, due to popular demand, our plexicushion tennis court must be booked in advance and payment is required as part of the ongoing maintenance program. However, this may be something we alter in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The great Collins Street location welcomes you into the luxury foyer of the Grand Hyatt Melbourne. We stayed for 2 nights in Grand King room and whilst we are locals we spent the weekend as tourists in our own city.

Room: The Grand King room has all the luxury touches you would expect from a 5 start establishment. The floor to ceiling window allows you to take in the Melbourne skyline from a great advantage point. The lounge by the window is the perfect spot to sit and watch the hectic city scene below. The bathroom is well appointed, not the biggest by any stretch of the imagination but more than serves its purpose, marble through out provides the luxury feel.

Facilities: The pool and fitness centre is one area that remains untouched by the recent refurbishment. It is also used by the general public who have memberships to do so, everything looks a little tired and needs some investment in updating. This however was not high on my priority list so didn’t cause too much concern. All other public areas of the hotel are A1, luxurious modern feel through out. There is a cute little bar on the ground floor, which is very intimate and has a great vibe for a pre-dinner drink.

Dining: We ate breakfast both mornings in Collins Kitchen and it was superb! One of the best quality breakfasts I have experienced. Plenty of choices, multiple cooking stations offering fresh cooked goodies and the opulent surrounds make it a lovely way to start your day.

Location: Well you cant get much better than the Paris End of Collins Street where the Grand Hyatt is located. Tram’s right past your front door every few minutes, designer brand stores on your doorstep and everything that Melbourne has to offer surrounds you.

Complaints: None really, except for that the air-conditioning in the room is quite noisy which you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Also think the toiletries should be something a little more special.

Overall: Loved it and would highly recommend it. Stylish, Location, Luxury!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTravelabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear MelbourneTravelabout,
Thank you for your extremely thorough critique on all things Grand Hyatt Melbourne! We’re glad that our newly refurbished rooms ticked all the boxes, and that our Collins Kitchen 5-star buffet breakfast lived up to expectations. Perhaps next time you can sample the Grand Afternoon Tea? It’s well worth it.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,161 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing