We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I have stayed here once before but perhaps there has been a refurb since... it was nice then but fabulous now!!
I found the room to be extremely comfortable with everything required for an excellent stay.
Bed and linen/pillow --> super comfortable
Bathroom products --> superb (love love love them - fig and almond)
Extras in the room --> full sized kettle, scales in tha bathroom, comfortable lounge in the room, view of the city!
Room service for breakfast one morning/afternoon was scrumptious!!
There was obvious attention to detail in every aspect of our stay.

We will certainly be back --> Grand Hyatt has now secured its place as my preferred stay when I am in Melbourne :) Well done!

Room Tip: Room with a view would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Gibbos,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Grand Hyatt Melbourne really has had a new lease on life with the latest refurbishment. The guest rooms have been revamped from top-to-tail with all the finest trimmings. It is wonderful to hear that the some of the small touches made your stay with us extra special. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,174 - 4,180 of 4,458 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here over Easter for 8 days and it was mostly superb. we had a suite for 3 of us looking down Collins Street. What is the problem with hotels not giving enough draw space.The robe was great but not enough drawers for a longer stay. Trendy should not be at the expense of practicality.
However the Club lounge is another thing. The room is not very appealing decoratively.It's quite bleak. What is most annoying is the food,for breakfast never changed! I complained to the clubmanager but he couldn't have cared! It was only when I overheard someone else talking that I realized that we could for a small fee eat in the downstairs restaurant - I wish he'd told me. Also no-one served tea/coffee or evening drinks to you and attitude not warm like Clubs usually are these days!

Room Tip: High floors quieter and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltales3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear traveltales3,
Thank you very much for your comments as we value such an honest reflection on your stay. Grand Hyatt Melbourne has recently undergone an interior refurbishment of all our guest rooms and suites, and it is disappointing to read that you found our rooms a little dull. Whilst we understand that our newly designed guest rooms are not to everyone’s liking, we continue to receive great reviews about the functionality, layout and colour palette. We certainly do hope to see you return to Grand Hyatt Melbourne and appreciate the time taken to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

If your contemplating staying in Melbourne, then you can't let this hotel slip by. True luxury with all you would expect from a high end hotel. We used to stay at another 5 star hotel near by for years and always would come here for their incredible buffet breakfast. Truely amazing!
The rooms are are modern and comfy. Its really silent at night with none of that street noise you normally get from other hotels. You get what you pay for in life and staying here is no exception.
My wife and I now choose to stay at the Grand Hyatt when we are in town.
They have lots of different rooms and packages to choose from.
Just love it !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussieguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Dear Aussieguy71,
Thank you for your very positive review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree – the Buffet Breakfast is an amazing way to start your day – definitely worth getting out of bed for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel as part of our 50th wedding anniversary trip to New Zealand and Australia. I also gave a speech while in Melbourne. We had some very good experiences during our 29 day trip, but for a chain hotel, the experience at this Hyatt was exceptional. The reception staff (James) made us feel welcomed. It was clear from the beginning of the check-in process that he cared about making our stay at his Hyatt memorable. Our room was upgraded. The view was great. But James and the staff gave service that we found quite extraordinary. I travel around the world and his service was unique.
Thanks to James and the staff of the Gramd Hyatt for a very special three days in Melbourne. Int he end, we preferred Melbourne over Sydney (as cities) for our two-week visit to Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Alan S,
Thank you for your review. We are proud of the service we provide, and it is great to hear James went above and beyond to make your stay extra special. We will make sure James’ attention to detail and customer service is recognised as a true ambassador for Hyatt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt 3 nights end May 2012. Booked executive floor so had the benefit of the club lounge. It is on the 31st Floor so nice views over Melbourne city, fire place burning which is lovley ambiance. Nice to be away from the hum drum of the foyer and children.
Evening snacks and drinks nice to end the day, contintenal breakfast was basic no frills. Room was very nice well appointed, bathroom large and well appointed. Had breakfast in the Collins Room on the last day, not a good option was a Sunday and packed and people had to queue. Had to wait a good 20 mins for eggs, for a 5 star hotel breakfast was OK just too caferteria for my likely. Staff very pleasant and over all Hotel lovely. Best location to shops and football games and designer shops.

Room Tip: pay for the executive floor, the benefits are worth the extra, also means you get checked in on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherjbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear heatherjbelle,
The Grand Club Lounge is certainly a lovely oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the city! Reclining by a warm fire place is the perfect way to unwind and relax. We’re sorry to hear you found the breakfast in Collins Kitchen disappointing – unfortunately it does get very busy on the weekends. We have raised this issue with our Food and Beverage team, and are putting in place measures to make the service more efficient and the experience more pleasant on the weekend.
We hope to see you again for a Melbourne getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is my 2nd stay in the past 2 months. Had stayed prior 3 years ago and found the rooms very disappointing and the reception service, let's just say "are you good enough to be staying here".
Well obviously after a major refurbishment the hotel is completely different aesthetically and with mind set. Both times on check-in the reception staff could not have been more than welcoming with genuine pleasant attitudes. One gave me an upgrade which was lovely and both times I was asked if I would like a late check-out. The rooms are impeccable whether it was the lovely suite I was given, or the standard king room. The bathrooms are indulgent and the beds terrific. Room service food both times has been nothing less than fantastic and presentation as good as being down in the restaurant.

They have a superb fitness centre with everything and if you can't get a massage there, they can refer a really good massage company, which were very efficient in organizing someone within 1 1/2 hours.

The lobby bar is a great area for a drink and the staff very polite, if not a bit slow on taking orders. It wasn't busy.

Great position and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Melbourne CBD area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russellalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear russellalexandra,
Thank you for your review – Grand Hyatt Melbourne has worked extremely hard to ensure guests arrive with a real sense of occasion when they step inside our hotel. From the grandeur of the lobby to the newly redesigned guest rooms, it’s great to hear that we succeeded. A hotel is only as good as the staff, and it is great to get feedback - we have certainly passed on your comments regarding the slow service to our Food and Beverage team to address.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My two teenagers and I stayed here for two nights. The lady at check in was warm and friendly and offered us a late checkout- wonderful !Our room was pretty cosy with two single beds and a rollaway, but is is so great to have Doonas with crisp white covers, no tacky blankets here. The bathroom was lovely with a really generous supply of complimentary toiletries. Our room was spotlessly clean ( thank you to the hard working cleaning staff) and peaceful. We all slept well. This hotel is convenient to The Regent Theatre and a short walk to City shopping. This would certainly be our Hotel of choice for our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Maggiesfamily,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Melbourne is such a fantastic city for shopping and theatre visits – and we are certainly placed in an ideal location to enjoy both! We look forward to seeing you on your next girls’ weekend away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,845 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,027 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
890 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,827 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £132 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing