We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our booking through Qantas was keenly priced including breakfast and parking. Unfortunately on check in there was no record so we cooled our heels for a few anxious minutes. Eventually it was "sorted" and we received an "upgrade" to corner city view and not the requested river view. Never mind - the room was excellent as the refurbishment is complete. Staff were unfailingly polite but I felt like I spent the entire time forwarding our reservation record and clarifying the package. Felt like a bit of a prat arguing about the complimentary bottle of wine, and I still had to point out that our bill was wrong at the end of the stay. If one person had followed up on an issue when it arose it would have saved so much hassle and this distracted from an otherwise pleasant stay, The breakfast was excellent but there was huge queue on the Sunday morning. The hotel location is perfect, and the beds are very comfortable. There are issues with noise from the corridors which betray the age of the building but overall we enjoyed it and will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear shortblack,
Grand Hyatt Melbourne is perfectly poised in the heart of the city to explore the magic of Melbourne, and the beds are so comfortable that we even sell them online due to popular demand! However it’s disappointing to hear that your check-in and check-out experiences were somewhat problematic. We have raised the matter with our Front Office manager for further review, to ensure such instances do not reoccur. Despite this, we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,483
    933
    346
    116
    72
See reviews for
560
1,540
186
1,204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our first impression of the Grand Hyatt was the wonderfully friendly porter who assisted us with our bags and vehicle.
The reception staff were also fantastic, sorting out an issue with what we thought was a prepaid account as a gift, and offered complimentary sparkling as an apology.
The room, overlooking some wonderful old (and new) building in the CBD allowed us to chill out on the comfy couch watching the sunset, enjoying the sparkling wine.
The bathroom is spectacular with deep bath and huge shower.
The gym is exceptionally equipped and the breakfast ... WOW I was in heaven!
The only criticism I have is that there were dirty and wet towels in the wardrobe and greasy marks on the bed head.
Apart from these small housekeeping issues, we can't wait to go back next month!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear skime,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. There’s nothing better than being perched on the chaise lounge overlooking the majestic Melbourne city skyline, whilst sipping on a glass of sparkling! Only to be followed by a truly decadent breakfast in Collins Kitchen the next morning. However, on another note, we’re sorry to hear that our Housekeeping was not up to scratch – this is certainly not indicative of our 5-star standards. We have raised this issue with our Director of Housekeeping for review, but are looking forward to welcoming you back when you next stay at Grand Hyatt Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights as a treat around our wedding day, one night prior and two nights after the big day.

We loved our stay here and felt like royalty as soon as we arrived. The service is second to none.

We received a complimentary room upgrade and bottle of sparkling wine as a gift for our wedding which was really thoughtful.

The rooms are great, very well clean, well appointed and may well be the best room I have stayed in yet.


The rooms are also great for having make up done in (so I am told) with plenty of light and large mirrors.

We hope we can stay here again one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilly979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear hilly979,
Thank you for your very kind review – we are so pleased to hear that we were able to make your big day that little bit more special. We put a lot of thought into making our rooms very comfortable for our guests with the little extra luxurious touches you would expect from Hyatt. Congratulations on embarking on the next chapter of your life together, and we would love to welcome you back soon – perhaps for your first wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We browsed around for hotels around Melbourne to stay for our anniversary. We contacted our short-list to see which would reply and give us best offer. My wife wanted to try Grand Hyatt after hearing reviews about their new bed. We decided to book for Grand Hyatt Melbourne. Found an offer for "City View Grand King room" online and contacted reservation. First it was confirmed, then I was told it was a special 3 nights minimum booking but they were going to honoured the first email. Then I called in not wanting to give my credit card details over email but the gentlemen were not very helpful so put the phone back and decided to do everything over email. Strange enough all the emails were replied by female and all were very helpful unlike the gentlemen on the phone (note Hyatt).

Check in was a great start. Easy, offered late check out without being asked, congratulates us for our anniversary and did all the paperwork for my membership while I enjoyed the room. The room is modern, good size, very well arranged to fit an L shape sofa with large round table. Impressed! Then we sneaked out to get some snack and came back to find a bottle of Chardonay to congratulate us for our anniversary, complimentary of Grand Hyatt signed by Maricel, another caring female staff of Grand Hyatt. Even more impressed!! During our search since the offer was very good they could not give us anything that other hotels were offering but yet it came because they note what we were celebrating.

Love the hotel, love the people and service. Great bed, I love my pillows. Definitely recommending this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear CS_Melbourne,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to read that it was the little extra touches that really made your stay with us, and made our Hotel stand out from the crowd. However, we are disappointed to see that your reservation process was not as smooth as it should have been. We will certainly pass your comments to our Reservations manager for review and appropriate training. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again – perhaps for another special occasion, or even just for a relaxing weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

As you would expect from an upper class hotel, first impressions are very good, very open and staff were extremely friendly. Room was in great condition, modern and clean. Booked a grand king room, when we got there they couldnt get us on the high level that we were supposed to be, so they offered us a complimentary breakfast as compensation. Breakfast closes at 10:30am, we got there at 10:15am, and staff advised us since we only have 15 minutes to eat, they gave us the option to order anything from the breakfast room service menu and have it delivered rather then rushing us, I found this to be a great option. Overall, great hotel, great rooms, great service. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choz_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear choz_man,
We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! First impressions really do count, and it all starts with our professional and friendly staff. It’s a shame you missed out on the Collins Kitchen buffet extravaganza, however the room service breakfast is a great option if you are running out of time. Next time, perhaps delay breakfast that little while longer if you’re staying over a weekend and indulge in the 12pm Afternoon Tea on a Saturday, or the 11.30am Sunday Brunch. We hope to see you again soon at Grand Hyatt Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed with family to attend theatre nearby and can't fault the service. Took full advantage of all facilities including the pool and gym - spotless.

Our view over Flinders St and the MCG was to die for (on previous stays we have overlooked the church and KPMG).

Our connected rooms made for a spacious stay and this will definitely be our home base for future CBD visits.

Special mention to the interaction of staff with my nieces (4 and 6). I am yet to stay somewhere that so many staff are genuinely kind and interested in children. It made the time even more special for us as a family.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandarook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Tandarook,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your recent stay with Grand Hyatt Melbourne. We highly recommend connecting rooms for families – it makes everyone’s stay relaxed and comfortable. Travelling as a family often has its challenges, and our hotel endeavors to make it as easy as possible. We certainly hope you will stay with us next time you and your family visit Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

First time back in Melbourne after 6 years, I chose the Hyatt based on location and the premium fitness centre.

Great location backing onto Flinders Lane; offering great dining options (Chin Chin was a highlight and was thrilled it was so close to the hotel).

The hotel felt fresh and extremely well-designed - the room had everything we needed. Housekeeping was prompt but never intrusive. We particularly enjoyed the curved couch offering a great alternate to lying in bed to read/watch TV.

We only had Room Service once (breakfast) as I'm not a big fan out waiting for 40 minutes after ordering; but delivery was prompt, service levels (both placing the order and delivery) were outstanding and the quality of food was a highlight.

The proximity to the MCG is also worth noting - the Grand Hyatt was a block from the Yarra/access to the path that takes you straight to the MCG. Walking took 15 minutes = brilliant! And better than a taxi.

My only gripe would be with the knowledge of the Concierges. On a number of occasions we asked basic advice (closest convenience store/access to the riverfront from Russell Street/nearest place to get ice-cream) and up to three Concierges at a time couldn't answer. Thank God for smart phones, I guess. But if a guest can discover answers to those basic questions in three nights, surely at least one Concierge would know?

Regardless, this is undoubtedly our hotel of choice when returning to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marika_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Marika_G,
Thank you for your review! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the facilities comfortable and well designed. It is certainly something we put a lot of thought into when we did our room redesign a couple of years ago. I’m sorry to hear that our Concierge staff were not as well informed as you expected – I have raised this shortfall with our Front Office team. We will be conducting further training that not only addresses guests’ most frequently asked questions but also highlights where basic services and amenities are located in the nearby area. Look forward to welcoming you back to your hotel of choice – Grand Hyatt Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing