We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A truly relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I live in Melbourne but booked to stay at the Grand Hyatt as a last minute solo getaway treat before the school holidays began. Even though I booked on a great deal through a third party I received nothing but 5 star service. Checkin was quick and friendly, being allocated my room early and offered a late checkout without fuss. I was amazed to later receive fresh fruit, chocolates and a personalised card from Su, who had checked me in, which referred directly to our conversation a few hours previously - this was a true reflection that as a guest I was not just another name on a computer screen. I made good use of the amazing gym facilities - the hotel has what must be the best hotel gym in Australia, coupled with pool, spa, steam room and sauna - plus changing rooms fit for a private boutique. The girl on reception at the gym was amazing, showing me around and answering my numerous, sometimes inane, questions professionally and patiently.

I didn't eat in the restaurant but ordered room service in the evening. This came in good time, was professionally delivered and was tasty - though the fish option could do with "something on the side" to accompany it.

The rooms themselves are huge compared to many other hotels I have visited. I loved the layout with the bed facing the floor to ceiling windows and especially the cute seating area near the window. Similarly the bathroom was modern and spotless, and I loved having BOTH a good sized bath and separate shower.

I have stayed mainly at 4.5 star hotels in Australia (which the exception of a self-graded 5 star hotel in Melbourne) and I have to say I felt the Grand Hyatt fully earn't its extra half a star. The only improvements I would like to see is free wifi (please please Australian hotels - find a way to offer this!) and someone on "door duty" when you arrive (I am used to Asian hotels where you cannot move without someone opening a door for you :) ) but on the whole I had a thoroughly enjoying night away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear howjac ,

Thank you for your kind words on your stay at Grand Hyatt. We really enjoy reading the anecdotal stories from our guests, as they often go unheard. Our staff really go that extra mile to make sure you feel truly welcome, offering a home away from home. As for your comments on wi-fi, this is being looked at across the hotel industry in Australia. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,466
    932
    346
    115
    71
See reviews for
555
1,529
185
1,204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last year after booking a mystery deal on wotif. Everything was fantastic!

The staff were very professional and nothing was a problem. The batteries in my remote went flat and we called up for new ones. The next day we had a bottle of wine and an apology note from the hotel. This was totally unnecessary but a nice surprise.

Have just booked another stay and can't wait to go back to the breakfast buffet. It's amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Ozdickie,

What a great mystery prize! There’s nothing better than spending a surprise Grand Night In at the Grand Hyatt.

Glad to hear that you’ll be back for the best buffet breakfast in town! Til next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The room was well laid out, spacious and a comfortable bed. There were lots of noise at night, mainly from the street but some from the hotel maintenance team who seemed to carry out their work at night. The shower floor was very slippy so ask for a bath mat. Breakfast was $40. WiFi was expensive as was the food and wine. The staff were helpful and obliging. Nice hotel.Good location.

Room Tip: The higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear jonnytrip

Thank you for your candid feedback . Whilst our beds are renowned for their blissful comfort, it’s disappointing to hear that this was marred by noisy hotel works during the evening. That aside, we’re pleased that the staff were attentive and accommodating throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times now and unfortunately have to say this will be the last. Never been offered an upgrade once even though have stayed Club level every time. Air conditioning struggles even in the better rooms. Never any acknowledgement of prior stays at the hotel (unlike almost every other hotel I stay in on frequent business travel). Staff not personable as a general rule (there are exceptions).Last stay I actually called downstairs and complained that the room and bathroom in particular smelling strongly of cigarette smoke met with scepticism (even if I am wrong I should be treated as if I am right paying these rates at this level). No wine in bar fridge. Service slow. WOw - never expected this from any Hyatt and previously thought they may be exceptions - but after my sixth stay now have come to realise its the way things are at this hotel..sadly..

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Dillon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Dillon H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and it’s dissatisfying to hear that our performance has fallen well short of your expectations. Being a frequent guest and busy traveller, you should have been treated with the polish, respect and familiarity that you expect from a 5-star hotel . We apologise that our service was not up to scratch and greatly appreciate your detailed comments as they are a valuable learning opportunity for us to get things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroville, India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed recently after many years break since last staying here. Of course the location is the same and the rooms have been changed but the problem is that the staff have changed too and they are simply not as good as they were or as they should be. If you read other reviews it would seem that many agree with this. Of course this can be easily improved with training and development however it does seem that this problem is across many areas of the hotel. This then introduces the question of why are them management not recognising this. But it's still a Hyatt and there are many very good things too but the fact is service is a major let-down.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear npk123

Thank you for revisiting our hotel after many years and we are sorry to learn that whilst the hotel has so many great experiences on offer, that this was let down by poor service. We pride ourselves on providing genuine hospitality and impeccable service and we failed to deliver on this promise. We hope you come and stay with us again, so we can give you a seamless friendly experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed last month whilst he was on conference, and after a very disappointing Spa experience I left feeling angry. Having sat down and taken the time to write an email to hotel management, I am disappointed I have not yet recieved a response, where as scrolling through reviews on trip advisor you are happy to respond publicly to any negative feedback.

Positive feedback on the hotel itself, our bed was oh so comfy. Like sleeping in a giant cloud! Breakfast buffet was also good although service dismal especially from a lady who seemed to be in charge at the time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJCJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear SJCJAE,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and disappointed that you have not received a timely response from the hotel regarding your critique. On the upside, our beds are blissfully comfortable allowing for a heavenly sleep! We love your similie, because it is like sleeping on a giant cloud! We hope you choose to stay with us again and allow us to deliver a memorable stay for all the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our stay was pleasant however a few small flaws let the hotel down. Our room was not turned down so we returned to a messy room. Cleanliness of rooms could be improved. Although the swimming facilities were great, offering guest 3 water temperature options, the pool mirrors were a disgrace. Staff at the gym were un helpful, towels were torn and looked like old rags. When asked where to return used gym towels, staff at the counter did not take the towel from us but told us to drop them in the towel bin that was about a metre away from where they were standing. Overall a nice hotel however the service on this occasion really let it down. If you want luxury, go to crown towers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravelreview49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear mytravelreview49,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Whilst it’s pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it is disappointing that our service was lacking on a couple of occasions. It is the little things that count which can turn a great visit into an extraordinary one. It’s also these same things that can let you down.

We do hope to see you back again so we can give you the 5-star service that truly reflects the Grand Hyatt promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
771 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing