We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ben from Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Lovely hotel with luxury feel. Totally recommended. Staff are very good. Rooms we'll finished with very comfy king beds.
The restaurant was a huge disappointment however and would recommend going elsewhere for al la carte dinner. The restaurant was a little pricy, the food was cold and not very good. The waiters and waitresses lack experience and where generally terrible. Apart from this the hotel is recommended. Good end of the city too.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Ben,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We are sorry you were disappointed with the restaurant and your comments have been passed on to management for action. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,793 - 3,799 of 4,571 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I spent two days at the Hyatt. Great location lovely room however the best of all are the staff.

Professional staff are there to make your stay a great one. Very impressed. From the bell boys to reception to housekeeping, everyone we came across were appropriate and a pleasure.

Just what u would expect from a Hyatt and a hotel of this calibre.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Furree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Furree,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have wonderful staff who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is our favourite hotel in Australia, perfect for a few nights of luxury and relaxation in Melbourne. Perfectly located to restaurants, bars, transport and the river, easy 5 minute walk into the main shopping mall. Rooms are large, fantastic king size bed, work area and lounge suite. Bathrooms have everything you need, separate bath and large shower with great amenities. We always stay in the club room, with access to the grant club through the day, with complimentary continental breakfast (great salmon), biscuits and coffee/tea and soft drinks all day long, then amazing canapé's (hot and cold) and drinks from 6:00 to 8:00 every evening (wine, beer, spirits). Staff are friendly and helpful, especially in the grand club (thanks Yaya, John and Emmanuel). Free fast wifi in the hotel and club, also free in your room if you are a Hyatt Platinum Member. Checking in is always easy, especially if you are in a club room where you can go straight up to the club and check in there, nice and private. Perfect as always. Thanks Hyatt
They have a great gym and pool area. The pool is nice and warm with a very large spa pool and cold plunge pool. There are huge change rooms, with separate steam and sauna in the mens and womens. Ample towels, always clean and well serviced.

Room Tip: corner rooms are best, very quiet. Ask for a high floor and if you can book a club room I would def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location.
We are very fortunate to have wonderful staff who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

From the minute your taxi is greeted by not one but two friendly bell boys, to the second you gaze in awe at the beautiful and welcoming lobby, and to the moment you see the beautiful view of Melbourne city from your room, this hotel has you sold! This is definitely our favourite luxury Melbourne CBD hotel. Its location is perfect, the rooms are spotless and modern, and the breakfast is delicious too! It is the only hotel we choose to stay at when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Seek T

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have wonderful staff who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband would stay here for work and I had joined him a few times and the place is stunning. The views are gorgeous. The room and bathroom are nice and spacious and it was nice and clean too. The great part was the curtains that completely blacked out the room, it was a bit of a struggle to wake up but it was nice to be able to sleep in with the whole room nice and dark. It was easy to get to places. This will definitely be my hotel of choice should I need to stay in a hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Donna,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed a leisurely sleep-in in our comfy beds. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

For a stay on the Paris end of Collins street, Grand Hyatt Melbourne is the only place to be. Exceptional service, and beautiful rooms there is no better place to stay.
Ive stayed 3 times here and the only complaint I have is that the rooms must not have very good soundproofing as every time ive stayed, ive either been able to hear noise from the hallways, or we've had management tell us off for talking "too loud". Depsite this not being the case (my speech was at the same volume it normally is) I think the rooms either echo the sound out, or they are just poorly insulated.
Having said that, the venue is amazing, the club lounge is excellent (for those in the know, thsi club lounge serves warm canape's) and the views from the lounge / rooms are excellent.
You get a perfect view of the south eastern suburbs, beach and the MCG from the higher floors.

Room Tip: Get a club room if you can. Always nicer and on higher floors - plus, theres the added benefit of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koul_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Dianne,

We are terribly saddened to hear about your experience during your recent stay with us. This behavior is inexcusable and management has been notified and action will be taken to insure no such incidences will happen again.
We are glad to hear you will stay with us again and I hope we take this next opportunity to reassure you that we do deliver 5-star service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed in the standard room. A good sized room. Very nice and clean room with the comfortable bed and pillows. The hotel location is great very close to everything in the city. Would love to go back again :)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KP783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear KP,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to return. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,921 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £144 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing