We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My hotel stay was exceptional during a business conference. All staff were polite and friendly, even though there were many people and it was a very busy time for them. Check-in and checkout ran seemlessly and the staff at concierge and reception were very helpful. The location was very convenient, a short walk to train station, points of interest and shopping precinct.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 389stephanies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,408
    909
    338
    108
    70
See reviews for
544
1,483
180
1,177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently booked a block of rooms to stay here the night before and night of our wedding (one suite and a number of standard rooms). We had a really wonderful stay with oru rooms being located on the one floor, an incredible view and the suite was incredible in size and perfect for what we needed.

Pros:
- We were greeted with champagne, chocolates, fruit and nuts on arrival
- The room (suite) was incredibly spacious
- An argument above us the first night was dealt with swiftly and we appreciated the free bottle of wine

Cons:
- Our reception venue had a discount code with the hotel and we struggled to be able to use this. Front desk staff had no knowledge of it
-Our one suite wasn't ready upon arrival and needed an extra champagne glass, so our party drank coffee and tea in the lounge which we were assured later would be complimentary- it wasn't/
- Breakfast is hugely expensive and as we had members of our group without club access we had to dine downstairs
- We ended up with double charges for the rooms and other items not itemised (so a stack of individual charges) the double charges are being refunded but it was still an imposition.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psq063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Returned to grand Hyatt after 10 years. Last impressions were decor was tired and food average. Well, wasn't I pleasantly surprised! Decor and surrounds updated and replaced, very modern. Massive makeover since last visit. Very impressed with the service and tipped everyone because of it. Buffet breakfast overall is one of the best I have had of recent times and averages $40 a person. Worth every cent. I also used the mayflower ballroom for a conference. Everything was 5 star. Location of hotel, great! Walking distance, short, to every major attraction on Melbourne city. If you want modern, well presented and great service, stay here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A great 5-star hotel in Melbourne. Well appointed, comfortable room. 5mins walk to Federation Square, Chinatown and Bourke Street Mall. Just behind the hotel is Flinders Lane with a myriad of excellent restaurants and cafes. Most importantly, staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Chen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had fantastic room with a great view over the Yarra River and the surrounding parks and sports hub of Melbourne. The bed was like being at home, except it had better view, we could lay in bed and look out the window like it was a picture of Melbourne's great assets. Quite room and great place to relax and enjoy Melbourne and very central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A girlfriend and I stayed for a girls weekend. The room was great and comfotable. Breakfast in Collins Kitchen was great so much variety and great service. Perfectly located in the heart of the city close to all the great basr and restaurants

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location of the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne is excellent, being right in the heart of the city. Multiple excellent restaurants are walking distance away and concierge is very helpful in providing advice or making reservations. The friendliness of the staff is some of the best I have seen in anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Zachary James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing