We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of Melbourne”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well worth the high price we paid for 5 nights. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped. There is an excellent fitness center with top notch changing rooms. There were only two things that need to be improved:
1. Given the high price I would expect free wifi in the room but this wasn't the case and I had to purchase internet daily. This is strange given that the cafés in the city had free and fast wifi.
2. No free overnight parking was offered to guests. Parking overnight at the Wilson car park next door cost $79!! Hotel guests should at least be offered a discounted rate for overnight parking.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room with king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gowri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Gowri,

Thank you for your feedback. In regards to your wi-fi concerns, to allow us to offer an competitive room rate we refrain from adding wi-fi to the room cost and allow guests to purchase this as an additional extra. I would recommend using our valet parking facilities on your next stay as you will in fact receive a discounted overnight rate of $50.

Besides these issues we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,466
    932
    346
    115
    71
See reviews for
555
1,529
185
1,204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

With the Grand Hyatt, you get exactly what you pay for. So if you chose to splurge out and spend a bit of money for a retreat from life, you are going to have the best time of your life. Only thing that I encountered troubles with was confusion being made with the customer service in relations too how many people could stay in the room at any given time, and, if you are having a romantic get-a-way I would highly recommend using the privacy button on the door provided by the Hotel. Would recommend to anyone to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Keah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Keah,

Thank you for your 'honest' review. For safety and privacy reasons we are required to monitor all individuals accessing each room to keep our guest same and secure during their stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed here for business in June and hence spent a great deal of time in the hotel. Room was fine (city view but with filtered views to Southbank), bathroom was modern and well appointed, and the hotel generally exuded quality and ambience. A big plus for me was the gym. No cupboard-like fitness centre here. A large, fully equipped gym with state of the art machines, an extensive array of weights, fitness classes (including spin), as well as pool, spa, and sauna. Fantastic. Topped off with the availability of coffee from the pod machine in the gym area after a workout. The hotel provides basic free wi-fi, which while slow, is adequate. The only gripe would be the price of food and beverages ($6.30 is a lot for a regular flat white). Otherwise, highly recommended accommodation option for Melbourne (at a reasonable price with conference rates).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Jo,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is important as such Management has been notified of the issues you faced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great spot right in the middle of Melbourne, most attractions are walkable from the hotel.
Staff - Man on check-in was rude. Didn't look up, didn't smile - felt like we were in a bank speaking to a teller. Flipside - check-out receptionist was lovely! Asked about our stay and made pleasant small talk.
Breakfast - buffet was excellent, the waiters were excellent and everything was kept neat an tidy. Kitchen staff working in the buffet area seemed under the pump, but were handling everything.
Rooms - The bed was comfy and the pillows were amazing! Had a great night sleep.

Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige_je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Service was excellent and staff very attentive and accommodating. Valet parking people were superb and had great communication skills with a can do attitude. They ensured my luggage was already in the room on return from the theatre after we booked in. Reception staff and food and beverage staff were all professional in their manner and well trained with a friendly disposition.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gregory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham Vale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had theatre tickets so decided we would stay in town for the evening. Our room had fantastic views over the Yarra and Botanic gardens. Slept with the curtains open all night. Buffet breakfast was good with a variety of items. I would go for the bed and breakfast package as breaky on its own is very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Close to everything without the noise of being inside the CBD. Gardens and attractions on your doorstep. Large luxurious rooms. We loved the top floor members lounge and the spa too. Would go back for a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletch87523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
771 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing