We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay last night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great stay last night!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lovely room and so comfy! Bed was amazing. Staff were extremely good! Very friendly and obviously enjoy working there! Jessica at reception was wonderfull!

Great stay, loved it!! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Grand King with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingobango86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,638
    982
    362
    128
    76
See reviews for
602
1,631
194
1,286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had 2 nights here recently and this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Melbourne. Great location - right near Flinders Lane where there are so many great restaurants, bars etc. Also short walk to anywhere in the city.
We even walked one day to South Melbourne - Clarendon St shopping etc - only took about 25 mins.
Only gripe is that my room was all paid upfront - and the front desk then wanted to hold $200 ($100 per day) on my credit card - presumably so I don't charge up things to my room and do a runner. Well I am a Platinum Gold Passport Hyatt member - stay at Hyatt's quite a lot - so I feel this is not necessary. It took Hyatt 2 days after my check-out to free up the money in my account.

Alll in all though this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Go on a higher level for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We understand your frustration in regards to our credit hold however this is part of our 'bond' protocol. We are working with the management team to try make this hold last less than 24 hours as we understand it is an inconvenience for our guests, and for that we are very sorry.

On a positive not we are glad to hear you did enjoy your stay with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 days recently while attending a conference and got a very good rate on their standard city view room. The room was immaculate, service was spot on, and the fitness centre was an absolute highlight for me: a fully equipped gym with state of the art weights and cardio equipment, personal trainers, spa, sauna, and pool. A coffee machine conveniently located in the gym area supplied good coffee, which is useful as a flat white in the bar/restaurant will set you back $6.30. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jo,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most out of our coffee machine in City Club. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed at Grand Hyatt and experienced wonderful service and great level of comfort. When we checked in we were asked what we were doing in Melbourne and how we were travelling. We were then helped by providing us with Tram cards and directions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location ! Impeccable service! Great breakfast! Helpful staff! What more can I say ... Rooms are spacious but it would have been better if we had free wi fi. World class food and had some gorgeous oysters and accompanying wine . Will return again .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Silvana2867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have stayed twice this year at the Grand Hyatt. We managed to get a good deal by booking in at advance at a non refundable rate and I found the price really reasonable given the prices of other 5 star hotels.

The location is perfect with some wonderful little restaurants near by in Flinders lane. Despite being at the top end of Collins street it seems to be a handy distance to everywhere such as south bank where we visited the art gallery and of course the city for some shopping.

The hotel itself has a modern feel, the room is comfortable and has some great views. The bathroom is very nice with a shower and bath tub. I liked the furniture in the room, it had a slightly 70s feel, but was modern and sleek.

On arrival at the hotel both times we stayed we were lucky to get a room immediately which is always nice.

At the end of the night we enjoyed a night cap in the bar, superb martini's! And the staff were delightful.

We enjoy a night in Melbourne a few times a year and I'm sure next time we return we will consider the Hyatt as one of our top choices. You should give it a try too!

Room Tip: Even the lower end priced rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryMegsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buderim, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Unforgettable, luxurious, romantic weekend getaway with AFL football to boot. Great fun. When choosing to stay in Melbourne CBD don't overlook the best 5 star hotel experience in upper Collins St. Close to all the exclusive label shopping in Melbourne and a shot stroll to some of the best restaurants Melbourne CBD has to offer. Not to mention a short walk to the MCG for cricket or AFL or enjoy the delights of the Australian Open Tennis.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Isabella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,649 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,473 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,946 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing