We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but showing a little bit of age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but showing a little bit of age”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Overall I had a good experience during my stay. In particular I would like to mention that Roddy up in the lounge as being a particularly helpful and friendly staff member.

Our room was clean comfortable and quiet, but the bathroom while clean enough was not sparkling 5 star clean. The white marble in the bathroom was showing its age in places with discoloration, and some of the caulking needed to be redone. The view from the club lounge is nice, and it was a good place to relax when we needed to take a break. They have a pretty decent sized gym with towel service set up should you want to use machines, lift weights, do yoga, swim, etc. The pool was a little small but otherwise okay.

Location was good with lots of stuff close by to walk to and easy access to public transit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear The Pac,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and Roddy in Grand Club took good care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,648
    987
    363
    128
    76
See reviews for
605
1,635
194
1,293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location, excellent attention to deal, and welcoming staff. Highly recommend for work or pleasure, on your own, couple or a small family. We have stayed a few times and have enjoyed each experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Annie,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Really well located - close to trams, walking distance to plenty of great food and services. Reliable hotel, clean and well appointed. Several great bars. Better located for most services and businesses than the Intercontinental and with a much better selection of bars and restaurants both in the hotel and out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mesagsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and took advantage of our central location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My first time staying here, even though i've been to Melbourne at least 30 times over the years.
So I was really impressed and rather surprised in fact at my not having discovered this property sooner.
The place is genuinely classy- modern, fresh spaces - a large rlobby/reception area and excellent public areas throughout. The location is perfect, steps from Fed Square and on Collins/Russell sts intersection.
The city views from the Club Lounge floor 31 are beautiful.
My favourite experience was breakfast - on level 2 - a truly exceptional range and quality of offerings - I felt like I was in an Asian hotel rather than in Australia! The restaurant area was spacious, elegant and the staff all helpful and welcoming. My particular favourite was the cinnamon pancakes - but there really is something there for everyone - well worth the $40pp imo if its not included in your package (as with me).
June Jacobs toiletries in the room are also nice quality offerings - my only quibble is that the sink drainage in the bathroom sink and bath itself was poor.
On checkout, a lovely staff member called Maya looked after us and kindly accommodated our changed booking - so courteous and professional - we will definitey be staying here again in future. Thanks Grand Hyatt!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Garyin,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were helpful and property pleasing. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You can expect to receive excellent service, the buffet breakfast at the Collins Kitchen offers exceptional variety and quality of food including gluten free. The Club Lounge is the perfect place to escape to work or relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our delicious Buffet Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Grand Hyatt - is as the name suggests...Grand! We had a family stay, the kids loved the view from the room, the heated pool and breakfast in Collins kitchen was superb! Staff are very attentive & responsive. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank marktA7841WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

i have had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Hyatt on a number of occasions for both business and pleasure. Great location and excellent facilities are complimented by friendly and efficient staff. The lobby restaurant and bar are an excellent place to sit and plan the days activities or simply read the days news. The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and do try to make sure you are comfortable at al times. The rooms are well appointed, spacious and exceptionally clean.

Room Tip: try for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,659 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,510 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing