We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent stay yet again at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne. This time I stayed with my mum and sister who very equally as impressed with this hotel. Staff are very friendly and the buffet breakfast is amazing. Love staying here when I come to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our delicious Buffet Breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,638
    982
    362
    128
    76
See reviews for
602
1,631
194
1,286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As soon as you pull into the imposing driveway off Russell Street, you know you're staying in a high end 5 star hotel. After unloading my car the valet directed me to check in and whisked the car away. The staff at check in were very pleasant and helpful and quickly had me in the lift with keys to my room. The room was well sized with a great view over Federation Square, the Yarra and beyond. Great sized dark marble bathroom and a very comfortable king bed.
The foyer, as it's very large is perhaps a bit noisy - I had a meeting with a potential supplier and it was a little hard to hear each other, but a nice atmosphere. I had a few drinks at the bar post dinner and the staff were friendly and quick. Breakfast in the morning was great, with very friendly and helpful chefs and waiters and a great egg station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our delicious Buffet Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited the hotel for a corporate event. Massive event space and the whole function went through smoothly. Staff was very accommodating and had options available for all requests. Being a Banquets and Conference manager previously, I could very well make out that the wait team was managed perfectly and the managers/supervisors where always around to ensure a smooth flow of service....which is, for an outsider, not an easy task when the event in question is of more than 500 guests.

While the menu looked appetising, the pumpkin entree wasn't the best and the lamb for the mains could have been cooked a bit more..but then again, cooking meats to perfection is not an easy task in massive events like this one. Cheesecake dessert was great, though!

I would definitely love to visit this hotel again, and maybe this time, try the dining options and maybe even try to stay over the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_joshi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are very fortunate to have efficient hard working Banquets staff who go above and beyond to make sure our guests enjoy an unforgettable event. We hope to have the please of welcoming you back to the hotel one weekend soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent location, and great 5 star hotel. Perfect Hyatt experience and every need catered for. Excellent views from most rooms across Melbourne. Worth the cost without question. Great bar experience at RU-CO.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PeteGordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience our award winning ru-co bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was my first stay at the Grand Hyatt travelling with a baby. I usually stay at the Grand Hyatt for business, and find that its location is second to none, with great gym facilities and expedient check-in and check-out. I was hoping a family stay would be equally as good. Unfortunately I was slightly let down by the check-in, I arrived with a baby, wife and lots of luggage but nobody noticed us getting out of the cab and it took a few minutes for us to hail a bell boy to help us. They appeared busy with other guests, but if they had looked up, someone would have come to help us out. Aside from that hiccup, the rest of the stay was wonderful and all the staff (reception, concierge, bell desk, in room dining) were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you and your family did not receive a warm welcome upon arrival. We hope the rest of your time with us was filled with fun laughter and exciting Melbourne experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff at the hotel were very professional & efficient, could not have asked for more. Was just disappointed in my room allocation being a twin room with single beds, rather than room with queen/king bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Happy_Adelaidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are fortunate to have a wonderful team of staff that go above and beyond to make sure our guests receive 5 star service from the moment of check-in to check-out. We do apologies your the incorrect room allocation and hope to welcome you back to enjoy a King room soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was our first time staying here and we were really impressed! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great location! The only issue we had were the pillows. Not as great as other places we've stayed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. We recommend calling concierge to order your pillows from our extensive 'Pillow Menu'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,649 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,473 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,946 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing