We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff really tried but it wasn't enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Staff really tried but it wasn't enough”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for work and given it's 5 star rating was expecting excellence. I had stayed over 10 years ago and noted back then that the rooms were quite small.

Unfortunately, nothing has changed on that front.

The things that were great about the hotel:
- Location (so close to the awesome Flinders Lane and near lots of shopping)
- Friendly staff who tried to rectify things that went wrong
- Excellent lobby bar/restaurant
- Great gym and health centre available for hotel guests to use

The things that weren't so great during my stay:
- Noisy plumbing which meant I could hear when neighbours were showering or flushing the toilet
- I could hear loud talkers in the hallway (waking me up even though I was wearing ear plugs)
- Never received a breakfast order form and when I did receive one after asking for it, I hung it on my door knob but no one came to collect it. So breakfast didn't come when I requested it (staff were great and managed to get me a breakfast in 15 minutes - although it was a bit cold)
- Shower sealant at the bottom of the shower screen was peeling off and brown
- On my second day I returned from work at 4.45pm and realised my room had not been cleaned. I called for this and they came straight away (although having to wait for it to be cleaned after a tiring day wasn't ideal)

All of which does not make this a 5 star experience.

I give credit to the Hyatt's manager who did contact me personally to apologise for the above shortfalls when I completed a post stay survey. That's a good sign of caring about their customer service.
The only problem is that these issues should not have happened in the first place, especially during such a short stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AussieLondon362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear AussieLondon362,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver some candid feedback on your recent hotel experience. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any disruption to your stay due to plumbing noise from surrounding rooms. We have shared your constructive feedback with our Director of Engineering, who together with his team are working towards determining a suitable solution for this sound generation. We are also currently experimenting various methods of reducing the noise from surrounding rooms and hallways.

The shortfall of service delivery during your stay was completely unsatisfactory and not a true reflection of our usual high standards. We would like to assure that what you have highlighted has been addressed accordingly with the teams concerned.

We do hope that despite this unfortunate sequence of events that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to experience the 5-star service we do pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,466
    932
    346
    115
    71
See reviews for
555
1,529
185
1,204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, AU
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Exceptional hotel. The service at this hotel is truly a breath of fresh air. The staff are friendly, helpful, professional and efficient. I was greeted warmly, immediately made to feel welcome and was very well looked after for the full duration of my stay. I would highly recommend the Grand Hyatt Melbourne - excellent in every way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Charl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Every time I'm in Melbourne, i enjoy staying here as it feels like i'm coming home from the welcome of the concierge, to the friendly reception checking you in and the great service provided by the food and beverage team.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Enjoyable stay in a professionally managed but friendly hotel. Good facilities for my 8 day stay. Great concierge help. The rooms are spacious with good housekeeping standards. Very convenient location in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank sharoncP1812GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent location close to shopping.Amazing views from our club room.Very clean and the house keeping staff very helpful.The food in the club lounge was not as good as last time.The walls in the room are paper thin and you can here everything in the rooms next door.We won't stay again because of this.

Room Tip: Club room great but walls paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Hills, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good location and nice downstairs bar, lobby etc. The room was OK - fairly basic considering the cost. But what was disappointing was that there was a reasonable amount of maintenance that hadn't been done on the room and it was near the lifts, which meant that everytime the lifts went past we were woken up.

Maybe they could look into soundproofing a bit more and doing a check list of the room to ensure its up to standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the lifts as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Raven920,

Thank you for advising us of your experience with the room, we will advise our Director of Rooms accordingly. We continually look to feedback such as yours to improve and ensure our 5 star service reflects in all aspects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night because we had a function in the city. King room with an awesome view. Very comfy bed, nice bathrooms, great table set up next to the window. The service was also great. One of the bet hotels I have stayed in! The highlight was the buffet breakfast. The very best I have ever had, especially the bacon!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jessi A,

We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us at Grand Hyatt Melbourne. The buffet breakfast is indeed, a highlight for many of our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay and perhaps you can tell us what you think of the afternoon tea then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
771 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing