We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gundagai, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here with our 3 year old. We requested a high floor and were given exactly that (floor 24). This hotel is luxurious and offers a high standard. The staff are extremely obliging and will do anything to make your stay easy. We didn't eat at the restaurant at night, although we did have breakfast which was fantastic and offered all things buffet! If you book your breakfast at the reception prior it is substantially discounted and our child ate for free. There are plenty of restaurants around this hotel and we walked around the corner to Chin Chins for some fantastic Thai!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpeeto14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Emma F,

Thank you for your kind words. We’re glad to hear you explored the eateries around the hotel. There is always a new cafe or restaurant popping up in the nearby laneways. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,549
    951
    354
    123
    72
See reviews for
576
1,585
190
1,232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Front desk staff is friendly.
Bar staff took their sweet time before asking what we wanted.
Pool and room are dated but kept in good state.
Very disappointing that we mentioned in our reservation that it was our wedding anniversary and we didn't even receive a welcome drink.
we work in a 5* hotel and we offer a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine for birthdays and anniversary. Very sad that Grand Hyatt which is meant to be luxury, doesn't match the competition's standards.
Beds are great and view as well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fra4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just a one night stay this time, very friendly staff and amazing hotel! The room was really nice and clean (couldn't find a bin though?). The only downfall I would say is that the walls seem a little thin and you could hear a lot of noise / talking / pipes etc. Overall though, I would certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear John D,

Thank you, we’re glad to hear that our staff were friendly and could help to make it such an amazing time for you here. We look forward to making sure your next stay is just as great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Clear, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The is a great place to stay if you want to spoil yourself or if you just want to stay in the heart of Melbourne. The staff are friendly and inviting and happy to help you out if you have any problems. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I expected excellent service, and I received excellent service. All expectations were met, if not excessed. Helpful and professional staff, warmth and friendly manner, overall a perfect experience Top marks to the team at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Steyson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely looking hotel but my 2 night stay was ruined by a few small incidents - Housekeeping (assuming accidentally) taking a sock from my room while cleaning. - Lid to shaving cream getting thrown out by housekeeping (must have assumed it was rubbish) meant I couldn't travel with it anymore. - Chlorine levels in spa left my skin stinging, itchy and smelling for days as well as ruining swimmers. Full credit to Simon the Health Centre manager for taking care of the swimmers, but the fact is that these incidents did ruin my stay. Have been informed the chlorine levels were in the acceptable range but I swim regularly in chlorine and have never had this happen to my skin or swimmers. I believe I was just unlucky as it is a lovely property. Rooms are well laid out and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ricky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ricky D,

Thank you for your comments and we’re sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was disappointing. It is the little things that can mar what should have been a great stay. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the five star service and amenities you expect from Grand Hyatt Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fantastic hotel close to theatres and fine dining. Great views over Melbourne. Great fitness/pool/spa/sauna facilities with friendly helpful staff through out the whole hotel. A short walk to transport

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, Front Office Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Susan P,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We’re glad to hear that our staff was spritely and helpful as we pride ourselves on offering 5-star service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Property: Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing