We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #70 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We will stay at this hotel again, close to Queen Victoria markets, cheap eating spots and lovely Irish-inspired pub The Last Jar just up at the next block. Booked room through Accor Advantage PLus website, good price. We got upgraded to a splendid 2-bedroom apartment. Now when we are looking for an apartment in Melbourne, Room 601 will on top of our list. This is a clean, well-designed set-up, ideal for couples travelling together or family. It is clean, and quiet, Comfortable beds and working air con. Close to trams running down Swanston St or walk about 15 mins to the CBD mall and it is a lovely walk. Friendly staff, the counter staff limited by numbers but make up for it with courteous efficient manner. Overall big thumbs up.

Room Tip: Room 601 for great, quiet 2 -bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Lookingnorth,

Thank you for your review on review ibis Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am pleased to her that you were able to enjoy a complimentary upgrade of our two bedroom apartments.

Thank you once again for the positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    873
    316
    63
    30
See reviews for
497
493
163
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Yes its true that this hotel room could be in any city, but I will stay in the Ibis in future if only to make the point that it is ridiculous that WiFi isnt free in every hotel room in the city. I noticed the comments by other reviewers about slow speed. I didnt have this problem. I was able to browse the internet, download documents and do what I needed for work without any problem at all (you can pay to get faster speeds if you want). The rooms are clean and a decent size, I was comfortable. The hotel is not on the doorstep of anywhere in particular (apart from Victoria Market) but it is an easy walk to the city centre or Lygon Street. The staff were friendly and helpful. Oh and the price, at $130, was good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaBigBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear LisaBigBlue,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our free WiFi trial and found it suitable for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We got this room through a lastminute secret room deal. The room was a queen room that had recently been refurbished. Very clean. Fantastic shower. Comfortable bed. We got breakfast included in our deal and there was a great choice. The hotel is about 3 blocks away from the free tram service which is a great way to get around the CBD. We also used the free bus service that runs from the Victoria Market. A great hotel with helpful courteous staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luingxstitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Luingxstitcher,

Thank you for posting such a positive review. I am sure that our future guests will find your review helpful.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This hotel is a bit outside of the main centre of the town, but you can easily stroll down to the city centre in about 15 minutes. Please note that the "free" internet in this hotel is very poor and not even suitable for browsing google maps. The connection is limited to 256kbps (0,2mbit), which is way too low. You have the option to buy faster connection, but this is expensive. I think they should remove "free internet" from the hotel description.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eriso82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Eriso82,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback on our free WiFi service. We are currently undertaking a six month trial of free WiFi.

We are examining three main factors:

1. Internet browing speeds
2. Data limits
3. Pricing

We are in the third month of the trial and it honest feedback such as yours that allows us to evaluate this service.

Thank you once again.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We wanted a simple, clean modern Hotel in a good location. The IBIS fitted the bill exactly. It is right next to Victoria market where you can buy all sorts of food and goods at very cheap prices for Australia. Lots of breakfast cafes as well. It also not far to the city centre or the Italian quarter with lots of cafe style restaurants. The room was clean, modern with its own sitting room and a kitchenette. The only downside was the room we had was at the back of the hotel next to an office block so was a bit lacking in daylight. Good value and great location, my wife and I loved wondering around Victoria Market.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InterestedHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear InterestedHuff,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback. It is pleasing to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay.

The Queen Victoria Markets are certainly interesting and you are almost guaranteed to pick up some fresh meat and produce and a great price.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I always use this hotel for overnight stays in Melbourne, every 2-3 weeks and it never lets me down.

Great staff, easy check in and out, great location for both business and pleasure with a taxi rank over the road - for the price this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18Otis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear 18Otis18,

Thank you for your continued support of ibis Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Australia Day long weekend. Location is great, close to QVM and a variety of cafes and eateries, including a McDonalds that is open 24/7. Thus there really is no need to pay extra for the continental breakfast. Short walk to the free tourist shuttle and city circle trams making it ideal for sight seeing.
Room was clean and quiet, stocked with the expected amenities. No complaints about the cleanliness of the bathroom. The clock radio wasn't functional, but was not a big deal.
Overall, great value for money if you are not after the frills of a luxury hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdskyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear EdskyAu,

Thank you for recent review of your stay at ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to hear that you found ibis Melbourne great value and enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
1,052 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Property: ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing