We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for an Ibis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We did not expect much and were positively surprised. Yes, room is somewhat spartan, but for an Ibis it is a good size, enough space to unpack your luggage for instance. Comfortable bed and large bathroom. Knobs for hot and cold water should be done something about - lots of water wasted while adjusting the water temperature. Close to Victoria market, walking distance to central Melbourne and a block away from major car rental places. If the price is right would certainly consider next time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear PINELights,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for also mentioning our proximity to Melbourne tourist attractions around the Hotel.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. I will address your feedback to our maintenance team to adjust the cold and hot knobs. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Ibis Melbourne.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great Price, location, facilities and amenities, cleanliness, comfort. They gave us an upgrade to a 2-bedroom all for the price of US$134.10. It is right beside the iconic Melbourne Queen Victoria Market so I was able to pop out and buy some things for breakfast and prepare it in the room. The only problem was that there was a full kitchen but no pots or utensils for cooking. Other than that, a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Sue C,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay in our two bedroom apartment and had the opportunity to visit the famous Queen Victoria Markets.

I have shared your positive feedback with all of our team here. In our 2 bedroom apartment, we provide cook top and cooking facilities, please advise our friendly reception team if you require these facility in the room. I do apologise that you had not been informed of this prior to your arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.


Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our preferred accommodation is B and B but I couldn't find one convenient to the core of Melbourne so this hotel was our alternate choice. It was perfect for our needs. Large room, enough place to put all our stuff, quiet, clean, everything worked, nice and cheerful staff, decent wifi (free only in the lobby), close to transportation and restaurants and very reasonably priced for a big city.

Room Tip: Third floor was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank encyclopediabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear encyclopediabrown,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the ibis Melbourne on Trip Advisor.

It is pleasing to read that you had comfortable and enjoyable experience with us. We pride ourselves and delivering great value for money proposition with exceptional service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.


Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here for a week in January. This is a great budget hotel. The one bedroom apartment was nice and very clean. The beds are great. Amazing location, walking distance to little Italy which I loved. Close to all the trams. The only negative thing was that my room was on the top floor and on hot nights the AC for the building(not the room) was very noisy and made it hard to sleep. The staff was aware of the problem and offered me a different room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Awh2014,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I would like to apologise for the issue you experienced with noisy AC. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures and addressing the problem to our maintenance team to prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Our stay at the Ibis was fantastic. We paid for a standard room and were upgraded to a one bed apartment without even having to ask. Huge king size bed which was extremely comfortable. Better than ours at home!! Checkout was 11am but we could stay till 12 which was no bother at all. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennyandlenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Pennyandlenny,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay in our one bedroom apartment and found our team helpful and friendly.

I have shared your positive feedback with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and I trust you next stay will be as enjoyable as your previous one.

Sincerely,


Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights here - it is central to everywhere in the city due to its proximity to tram and train stations. We asked for a quiet room, so it was at the rear of the property with no view which suited us fine as there was absolutely no street noise day or night and we slept well. The rooms are well furnished, very nice bathrooms, and there was a safe. Room was cleaned every day by the time we returned. We didn't eat here at all, there are endless eating places within a 2 minute walk. As others have said, the free 30 minutes wifi each day is inadequate and apart from Travelodge this is the only hotel we have stayed in Australia which didn't have unlimited access - should be addressing this matter. The front desk staff are outstanding here, nothing was too much trouble for them and they are so happy to help answer the many questions put to them non- stop. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear janeybgood,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to post your feedback. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team friendly and helpful.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities. The feedback you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Ibis Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Giovani Sayuti
Assistant Manager
Email: h1564-dm05@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Guo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Giovani S, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,392 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £65 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing