We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #69 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is ideal for the budget traveller on a shopping or sporting trip.
The staff were friendly and efficient at check in. The rooms are clean and roomy enough for a simple stay.
The location is within a short 200m walk to the Queen Vic markets where there is many food and shopping options.
A taxi rank is located outside the hotel not that it was hard to get a cab.
There were some excellent cafés available nearby that proved great for breakfast.
We were able to store our luggage the next day before we moved on to our next destination.
On the tram lines which proved handy to catch a game to the MCG.
This was a good affordable option compared to many of the 5 star options that don't offer much more but cost....would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BundyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear BundyRed,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with ibis Melbourne.

I have shared your positive feedback with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are glad to hear you took advantage of our free storage facilities as well as the hotels proximity to the Queen Victoria Market.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
There are newer reviews for ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This looked like a good option for a 3 day conference trip, and had good reviews, and is in a good location. The hotel is just okay. The rooms are smallish. Mine faced a wall about 2 metres away. I suspect few rooms have any sort of view. The whole hotel looks like it needs a major makeover and paint job. But it's okay for a business trip if you're not spending much time there. My main gripe is the lack of free wifi. What is it about Australian hotels that they think it's okay to charge a dollar for two minutes? Anywhere else in the world wifi is provided free of charge. From now on, I'm not staying at any hotel that, if it has wifi, charges for it. There is no justification for it.

Room Tip: You can ask, but there may not be any
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BazzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear BazzaAdelaide,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I would also like to acknowledge your feedback regarding our internet charges and would like to advise you that we do offer complimentary WiFi at the lobby for a limited time using your own device as well as 24 hour complimentary internet access using our computer facilities. Please accept my apologies if you were not aware of this facility being available to you during your stay.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Ibis Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Repeat visit. Good clean rooms with comfortable bed and pillows, close to Aldi supermarket, pubs and eating places. Good location for exit to airport.
Special mention to front desk staff, especially Leah, who was friendly, helpful and knew her job. Also good coffee in the restaurant.
Hotel right next to Victoria Market. If you looking for clean and easy place to stay, then this should be a consideration.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lookingnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear lookingnorth,

Many thanks for your time to provide us with valuable feedback on your recent stay.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and more importantly the team were able to
assist you with your requirements. I have passed on your feedback to the front desk staff and specifically to Lia who you mentioned.

Thank you for also mentioning our proximity to the Queen Victoria Markets, Aldi Supermarket and nearby eateries, they certainly do create more value for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Sincerely,
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Albury
3
Reviewed 16 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

few steps away from queen v market, near yarra tram and city circle stations, decent neighborhood, cafe and shops nearby... free wifi at the lobby for an hour per day but pc are available also for 15 mins every log in... pleasant staff.. food average... no need to take breakfast buffet, would save you $10 by getting into nearby mcd or qvm instead.. food vendo available at 2 floors chips, soda and water... rates higher on friday and wkends...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank deeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear deeyen,

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.
I am happy to note that you found our location and services to your liking. I will share your comments with our team who will be encouraged with your feedback. I would like to thank you for sharing some features that other travellers will find useful.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
ibis Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 5 days in Melbourne prior to going to Sydney. The hotel was fine, the room comfortable and the reception and restaurant staff were very helpful and informative.
The location was great and everything we wanted was near by.
The only thing that let it down was the expense of the internet in your room. At $24AUD PER night. It was too expensive. Also you were only allowed 30mins on your own device in reception.
Wifi should be available for free or at a dost of around $8-10 per night!

Room Tip: The 8th floor was quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeannieCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Jeannie Cass,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you had a convenient and comfortable experience.

I would also like to acknowledge your feedback regarding our internet charges and would like to advise you that we do offer complimentary WiFi for our loyalty members - Le Club Silver and above. It is free to join and you earn points for every night stayed at any Accor properties.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and hope that, despite your concerns regarding the internet charges, we will be welcoming you back to stay with us once again.

Sincerely,
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Walk to Queen Victoria markets ,close to public transport close to convenient stores ,nestled between 3 major thoroughfares.What more could you ask for .Clean and tidy rooms , cleaned daily and reissued soaps tea/coffee towels every day.Staff couldn't do enough to make our stay any better.We WILL be back.Many thanks for great stay .keep up the good work..service with a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Peter B,

I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and our services to your liking. I will share your comments with our entire team. Thank you for pointing out some features that other travellers will find useful.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
ibis Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
1,065 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £68 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing