We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #71 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Had a very good stay at this hotel reasonable price for 2 bedroom with family, situated well to everything Victoria market, CBD not far away 10 minute walk. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Jenny P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our two bedroom apartment. Our Hotel is next to the Famous Queen Victoria Market and I am glad that you had the opportunity to visit.

We look forward to see back soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    849
    309
    61
    29
See reviews for
473
480
159
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at Ibis for 3 nights in August (booked through travel agent). The hotel is well located with many restaurants nearby (including subway, McDonalds and various cafes). It is also close to the tram station (including the FREE tram which goes around the city). Tour operators like AAT pick-up directly from the hotel so no fuss in travelling.

We stayed in a standard room, not much of a view but the room was spacious (as per Ibis standards) and clean. Looked refurbished and the beds were very comfortable.

While we couldn't get early check-in, we were able to store our luggage at the reception and set out to explore the town. We had buffet breakfast on all days and it was basic standard stuff.

Service at reception and the restaurant was good... nothing to complain about !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swathi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Swathi999,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and great review of our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback and I am glad that you liked the central location of the hotel and took the time out to visit all the major sightseeing spots which are within easy walking distance from the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back at Ibis Melbourne in the near future!


Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Ibis for 2 nights while I attended an interstate conference for work- it definitely hit the mark! Easy, clean, friendly and conveniently located.

I recommend this hotel if you're looking for comfortable 3.5 star accommodation, whether it's for business or holiday. Basic, but well priced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hjane0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear hjane0,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel is well situated to see the sights of Melbourne with easy access. Close to the Victoria market, walking distance to the rail net work. The hotel restaurant has a simple but nice buffet breakfast. Rooms are clean and have the basic commodities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Dear Darlly,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback and I am glad that you liked the central location of the hotel. Our buffet breakfast is indeed very nice with different selection to start your day.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind Regards,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I chose this hotel through a webjet special deal. The main draw card for me was late checkout 1pm , as I was flying at 6.20pm. The hotel has recently been refurbished. The entry and reception area were pleasantly modern in style and colour. What a shock when the lift opened at level eight...dark purple walls and crimson doors. The interior of the unit was disappointing, being rather dark and depressing. I could see new carpet, paint, furniture and cushions, but were all the practical dark colours that don't show usage, but in a poorly lit 1 bedroom apartment, it made me feel uneasy and certainly not a welcoming vibe! There is a kitchen with mid-sized fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster, kettle, cutlery and crockery. There was no kitchen equipment such as cloths, detergent.etc, so had to use a facecloth for kitchen spill. Bathroom had been partially updated, but still had an awkward shower over bath with shower curtain layout. Modern hand basin and self closing toilet.
BUT while my room was a let down in many ways the human element in all departments was OUTSTANDING. Reception was welcoming and helpful to the very end of my stay. Housekeeping staff were most obliging. The STARS on the crown were undoubtedly the staff in the Bistro. Special mention to Alison who assisted me at breakfast, though all were willing to assist me. I had an opportunity to interact with some of the kitchen crew also, who were very friendly, charming people who showed a genuine love of pleasing people. I ate two breakfasts and two dinners at the Bistro during my two night stay, and was very happy with all meals. Buffet breakfast for $20 was wonderful value, or $15 for continental breakfast.
My overall experience was positive, but I feel another attempt at interior design would significantly change first impressions, and ambience.

Room Tip: I requested a room near but not beside lift. Windows looked onto untidy view of adjoining building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suefifty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimIbisMelbourne, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Thank you so much for the review, Suefifty2. As mentioned, some of our rooms face onto the building next door and so block some sun light during the early and later hours in the day. Having said that, we take every step to ensure the room clean, comfortable (with the new Ibis King Sweet Bed), and of value as you mentioned. I will personally praise Allison for her level of service, and the wider team. We are proud to provide our guests with brilliant service and that is what makes us truly enjoy our work within the hotel.
I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

it's really nice and very convenient hotel. it's close to everything. the room is clean. Staff are very friendly as well. cost is not high. it's a good bargin. suitabel to your family trip and also good for your business trip. enjoy

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jun z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for you great feedback, jun z.

I am glad that you had a lovely stay and found our staff friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Good basic accommodation, everything you need at great price. We stayed in a two-bedroom studio with kitchen, so worked well for family. Heating in room was difficult to manage, sometimes too hot but other times too cool, it was freezing cold when we were there.

Suggest, you take a polar fleece jacket. Also on first day, visit Eureka Tower and the large visitor centre nearby.

Good clean and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Studio apartment was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimIbisMelbourne, General Manager at ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Hi Jan G! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Great to read you enjoyed our 2-bedroom apartments and that they were a good price. I note you have overall reviewed your stay as 2-stars, yet rate all components highly in your review. I'd love to get in contact to find out why. Hope to see you again soon.
Tim Gibson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#74 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments

Property: ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Address: 15-21 Therry St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Ibis Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing