We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing for an Accor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Ranked #134 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    353
    443
    251
    203
See reviews for
264
343
238
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

After booking the hotel through a Qantas package i read up on reviews for this hotel, some good, some not so good. We decided that as this was a quick stay and we would be out of the hotel most of the time; it wouldnt be a problem - all we needed was a place to sleep. Looking back i wish i had paid more attention to the reviews.

The location was fantastic very short walk from the drop off point for the Skybus, close to the Casino and DFO - we didnt need to use public transport at all.

The Kingsgate staff were fantastic; friendly and helpful

The room was small but suitable, clean and well presented. However we were not able to turn our heater off without getting a water hammer like sound but this was nothing compared to the pub/nightclub next door. Until 4am we could clearly hear the music from the club. We were on the 6th floor and could early hear converstations of people in the court yard, smashing of bottles, lyrics to songs, and the DJ pumping up the crowd. Needless to say we didnt get much sleep.The next morning we were greeting with footpaths covered in vomit and food.

I will not be staying at this hotel again; would be perfect for a quick over night visit if the noise issue was able to be resolved.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Collins Street side of the building (not little collins)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear booften,
Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel didn’t meet your expectations.

The King St location of our hotel means we are sometimes troubled by noise from the famous nightclubs on this strip, especially on the weekends. We are working to address these noise issues which challenge our guests' ability to have a peaceful stay in our hotel. This detailed feedback is helpful as it is something we can tangibly use in a submission to the Liquor Control Commission and Melbourne City Council as we work towards making the surroundings of the hotel quieter.

Thanks again for the feedback and I hope that if we do welcome you back to our hotel that we are able to provide a more enjoyable and quieter stay.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have stayed in many Accor hotels all around the world, from the five star Pullman in Bangkok, to the Novotel and ibis Auckland and Rotorua. this Accor Hotel, looked more like a YHA than a Hotel. the Bedroom was poor and dirty, the bathroom was the same. there was mold in the bathroom and paint falling of the walls. I have taken photo's.
I booked Accor, because i'm an Accor Member. i will think twice before i book next time.
Also the picture on the web site for the Kings gate Hotel isn't the hotel, its the train station. we probably would have got more sleep with the sound of the trains, then the noise in the hotel.
No i won't be staying at the Kings gate Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMS636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear DMS636,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel. We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

I’m sorry to hear that you thought that the hotel and your room weren’t up to standard. Our refurbishment of 2010 has tried to retain the elegance of the 1926 building while also modernising our rooms and services. I’m sorry that you found your room unclean and our bathrooms of a poor quality. Our Superior rooms have brand new bathrooms and we are currently looking into the fittings of all of our Standard rooms to assess complaints of mould and their need of replacement.

I apologise that our hotel wasn’t the right fit for you and what you were expecting but can assure you that all of the pictures on both our and the Accor website are pictures of our hotel.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel and other Accor properties the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last 10 years and will continue to keep going back.the location is great its close to Spencer street train station and walking distance to crown casino. and value for money.its has some nice rooms as well.I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patongguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed here for 2 days. From some of the reviews that I had read here, I was expecting it to be an awful experience. But it was okay. I got what I paid for. This is NOT a hotel for romantic couples or families with young kids. However, it is good for business travellers or people planning to sightsee all day. It is just one block from the southern cross station. How very convenient. It was exactly what it advertised itself to be - a hotel with a warm bed, a shower, location and that's it. Breakfast was included, but it is a cold breakfast of yogurt and cereal. The only warm things were toast and coffee. As far as the hotel goes, it is a 3/5. But the convenient location for its price gives it an extra star.

Room Tip: Get the rooms further from the night clubs. I had a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

What an absolute, total and complete dump! There is no other way to describe this place. Don't be fooled by the cheap prices or so called good location. I'd prefer to stay on a park bench. It is filthy, nothing works, everything is broken. The amenities are a total joke and if that wasn't enough, trying sleeping on. Friday or Saturday night with the thumping bass from the adjoining nightclub. Avoid like the plague, I stress - avoid at any cost.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank samoht103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Samoht103,
We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel. We hope that your feedback can help us to improve our hotel services.

Our hotel is a three star establishment with the basic amenities of a café that is open for breakfast and dinner, internet services and a guest laundry. We are located centrally in Melbourne’s CBD on King St but can sometimes be troubled by noise from nearby nightclubs which we are currently working to address. I apologise that our hotel wasn’t the right fit for you and what you were expecting.

I thank you for your comments as they allow us to better improve our hotel for our future guests.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 159 in Melbourne
1,149 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#133 of 159 in Melbourne
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#137 of 159 in Melbourne
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Property: ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Address: 131 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing