We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located, fine for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
Ranked #136 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms (Level 3) on New Year's Eve 2010. The room was booked online for around $100 AUD, a bargain for NYE. Check-in was fast and easy.

The room was smaller than average, but clean. Bed was comfortable, and bathroom was fine. Room had a mini fridge, tea/coffee and a kettle, good air-con and a large flatscreen TV. No hairdryer. If you are a light sleeper, you may need to bring earplugs, as the doors shut quite heavily.

Breakfast is served from 7-10am. Very average continental b'fast - toast, cereals, juice, fruit and yoghurt. Location is excellent for getting around the city.

Basically, this is a budget hotel. If you get a good price, then it is good value for accommodation in the CBD.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabanannaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
There are newer reviews for ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 January 2011

All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel, a centrally located accor hotel with beautiful and friendly reception, however we were very quickly disappointed. we booked 2 rooms and were put 4 floors apart, however upon request they happily changed one so we were both on the same floor, just at opposite ends of the building. the hallways are a maze and very dark, the renovations had apparently been done, but they can't have done all the rooms. one was lovely with new air conditioner,glass shower and beautiful artwork on the wall and 2 blinds on each window for maximum light reduction, however the one I slept in was L shaped with a dark dingy corner, an old noisy clunky aircon, bathroom and toilet about 1x2m with no lock on the door, dirty shower with mouldy curtain, toilet had to be flushed twice every time, shower head and taps drip and echo through room, toilet paper on opposite wall so you can't even reach it easily from the loo, only available power point is in bathroom, so not convenient for laptop, phone charters etc. kettle provided but nowhere to plug it in to switch it on. paint chipped and messy. housekeeping replace towels every day, but can't see anything else they did. certainly didn't make the beds or replace soaps etc. music and party noise from building right out our window kept us up til after 3am. however it was inexpensive to stay here. nice big, new tv with great reception, single beds very comfy (doubles not so great) full length mirror, heater as well as aircon (not that we needed it) staff very friendly and helpful, always able to arrange taxis and give directions if needed. smoking balconies on certain floors with seats and ashtrays means we don't have to go out on the street like some other places. walking distance from casino, aquarium, DFO, train station and shops. public transport close enough to get you anywhere else. I wouldn't stay here again if planning a long holiday. but if you just want somewhere basic that's central and inexpensive for a few nights, I would suggest here.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caitybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
goulburn
11
Reviewed 3 January 2011

we were very disappointed with the interior decoration (none), bed you could feel the springs, bathroom not very clean. Very suprised that this to Accor standards. The people on the reception not very friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Forbes
1
Reviewed 3 January 2011

If you are claustrophobic don't go to this hotel as rooms are very small and corridors are pokey. They do not have covers on the dooners on beds which is unhygenic but sheets are clean, Reception gave incorrect information and tried to charge twice. maybe OK for backpackers or single travellers but not families.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This hotel needs a warden....as the single rooms look like a prison cell.The rooms are painted gray with a busted windows that overlook the dumpsters below.A dreary place with no phone, a closet made of cardboard it seems then one towel one tiny bar of soap to boot.
Bathrooms are down the hall as are the showers.They weren't too bad as long as you have toilet paper as the hotel didn't supply any except for certain rooms.The hotel has a French Restaurant on the ground floor,the Bar is on the second floor as is the breakfast room with internet use $2.00 AUD for 20 minutes(it takes coins).The superior rooms ugah hemmm mugh(clearing my throat ..excuse me) were quite small with barely any room to walk around as I checked out the rooms yet they were nearly three times as much .I stuck to the Jail cell as I was just spending one night there....thank goodness.
The reception was alright,they seemed baffled by many things customers asked which seemed fairly clear to me in that regard.In closing this place is an " Inferior hostel/hotel."
The location is not bad down on Hill St. about 2 blocks from Downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Arrived early and able to leave my luggage free of charge so a good start, especially when at check in I was told I had been upgraded from my budget room. Upon entry into the room I was a little shocked. Dirty looking stained carpet , wardrobe door falling off and a very dirty looking bathroom. The room had air con and fully functioning air con but the fridge froze everything and I didnt dare go barefoot anywhere - even in the bathroom. The shower was essentially clean but somethng had obviously been put in the shower which left a bad stain as you can see. You had to ngotiate yourself into the small bathroom but there were nice touches as toiletries and ample towels.
Tea and coffee were provided and my room rate of 95dollars included buffet breakfast which was great. A further plus was the location and the staff were very friendly. Renovations were hardly noticable during my stay & rooms were quiet with a comfortable bed but for the money, I would have expected something better and this more represented a hostel than the grand name of All Seasons Kingsgate.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 160 in Melbourne
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#143 of 160 in Melbourne
246 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#148 of 160 in Melbourne
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: £52 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing