We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay at one of my favourite hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay at one of my favourite hotels”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel became one of my favourites earlier this year - rain shower, top quality toiletries and teas, reliable high-speed wifi, impeccable service - the front desk staff remembered me after my first stay even after I visited many weeks later, someone took my express checkout envelope out of my hands as soon as I walked into the lobby etc. Having been back a couple of times, I'm quite disappointed with my latest stay. Faulty hair dryer and toilet paper holder. Dirty iron leaving white marks on my clothes. Front desk staff appeared not to be paying much attention - recorded wrong newspaper preference and tried to tell me twice how to connect to Internet although I told them I stayed there lots of times before and I would manage just fine. Also, spa temperature is a bit lower than I'd expect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekuni_mai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear uni_mai,
Thank you for sharing with me your feedback. I am so sorry that on this occasion you did not experience the seamless service that we strive to continually deliver all of our guests; however I was pleased to note that on previous occasions you enjoyed your time with us so much.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again and I would invite you to contact me personally to manage your booking and ensure that your next stays are as wonderful as your previous ones.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    554
    194
    63
    36
See reviews for
243
844
129
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

You cant ask for more! Excellent service, friendly attentive staff, great location

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear jodi037,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

First, I'm here on business. I stay here a lot. Secondly, If it wasn't for a blackout during the golf some time ago where we stayed at four other Melbourne hotel, I would have stayed even more. It's convenient to the offices, otherwise I'd go elsewhere. I still might. Because, despite repeated requests, some things don't change. I have a standing order (supposedly on the system) for a blanket on the bed instead of a quilt. I also requested a quiet room away from lifts and escalators. Its usually late and after a full day at work and a flight. So, I arrive in the evening and am greeted, pleasantly by all new staff (mostly all). The receptionist gives me a room. He tells me it's non smoking ....and $200 etc. Standard, lets tell the stranger (guest) whats on the checklist. I waive his speech (surely a system prompt tells him I've stayed here often enough for the GM to kindly recognise I that I have). So a simple Welcome Back would do. I know the room is not what I requested, the elevator will rattle all night. Too busy and tired to request a change I bet the bed is not made with a blanket. I was right. So, noisy room, the elevator still rumbles as I write this. And, I pay for the privilege of making my own bed. I wonder why I bother? So, pleasant staff, bad training and systems. Some things never change and I so wish they would, I'd so like to write great things about the Intercontinental. I'm back in Melbourne next week (already booked). Perhaps I should change it after all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear GAAN,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your thoughts. I was saddened to read that your recent stay was not the seamless experience that we strive to provide to all of our guests.
We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you, and I will message you the contact details of Cameron, our Director of Rooms, who would like the opportunity to try and assist you. Alternatively, when you arrive at the hotel this week, please do feel free to leave a message for Cameron at the front desk and he will be in touch.
We remain at your service, ready and waiting to assist you and I hope that we can speak with you this week.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed for two nights with family to visit family in Melbourne. Booked reasonably well in advance to ensure we could get the room configuration required. Interconnecting rooms requested (and confirmed one week in advance) as we have young children, however upon arrival told interconnecting rooms not available and that the hotel would not have confirmed such a request in advance. How anyone can book confidently with a family in this situation is beyond me! Whilst the staff were friendly and tried to be accommodating, the overall result did not change. Provided with two rooms, fortunately on the same floor, however one down the hallway from the other. Very poor. To add insult to injury the little things that should make a difference were wanting also. Specifically requested a newspaper for the following morning after arrival, this did not arrive at either room; requested car be brought around in the morning advised 15mins wait, this is ok, but when the car still hasn't appeared for 35mins this is a problem; hallways obviously hadn't been vacuumed during the time we were there as the same drinking straw was in the the same place on the floor for three days. Not sure what else I can say, other than we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear David K
Thank you for sharing your feedback with me and please accept my apologies that you were inconvenienced by not having adjoining rooms. In an attempt to understand what had occurred I undertook some research and discovered that your travel agent had incorrectly confirmed adjoining rooms when they were not available, due to existing bookings at the hotel and the team had contacted your agent to advise this was the case. Please accept my most sincere apologies that this message was not delivered to you and there was some confusion.
Should you be returning to Melbourne, I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and I would like you to please contact me directly should you have the chance to return. I will message you my email address.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you and your family back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. Lovely spacious room, large television and great amenities. Have to make a special mention of the staff - they were lovely, always greeting us and we had a good laugh over the colour of our hire car! I think they are a credit to the hotel. Overall, great experience and unlike many large hotels, found the experience to be personal and warm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear shortyperth,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your recent review. I was so pleased to read of your wonderful stay, and in particular your glowing comments regarding the hotel team. I will be sure to share this feedback with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights to see an event in Melbourne and do some shopping/sightseeing. The hotel was perfectly located, close to shops and restaurants and tram line. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was perfect. I used my priority club points for 2 nights so it made the overall stay good value. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The fitness centre is on the 10th floor if you want to be near that
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cargo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear cargo999,
Thank you for sharing with me your kind review. I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay with us and that you were able to use your Priority Club Rewards points to make the hotel even better value.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great stay, would definitely recommend it! Very friendly staff, quick check in and check out and the rooms are modern and nice. Only downside was I was on a low floor which was a little nosier and had no view.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankCicerale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear FrankCicerale,
Thank you for your wonderful comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
771 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing