We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #47 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed in the hotel for my wife's birthday the weekend 21-23 sep and had a wonderful time. Room was immaculate and comfortable. Location is fairly central and with taxi or tram services at our door. Had dinner at the restaurant and was greatly disappointed with the our main meal, although the setting is amazing. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Theo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Theo K,
Thank you for sharing with me your review and I please take this chance to wish your wife a very happy birthday! I would like the opportunity to discuss with you your comments regarding your main meal, so that I may understand what has happened. I will message you my email address and I hope to speak with you soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,658 - 1,664 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the intercontinental on Sept 22 2012 and it was one of the loveliest stays we have had in Melbourne. The staff were consistently pleasant, helpful and friendly. The beds and pillows so comfortable and the total block out blinds really added to the overall sleep experience. There were quality touches everywhere. From the coffee and tea selection through to the hair products, soaps,moisturizer, bath robes and slippers. We have been members of the priority privilege program for 6 months ago and it is without doubt the best value reward package we have been a part of. We were entitled to a free cocktail each, 25% off the rate and was even given a free bottle of champagne and a card for my birthday. Coming back after dinner, we were greeted with chocolates on the pillow. Just a brilliant place to stay and a really worthwhile rewards program with deals also available at Holiday Inn and Crown Plaza. Overall rating of 10 out of 10. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliana2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Oliana2109
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful review, and may I take this chance to wish you a very happy birthday!
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting Melbourne over a weekend. This is a very nice hotel and the rooms were luxurious, but I am just not a fan of rooms looking out over an atrium or in our case a wall. It was just a bit dark. The hotel staff virtually ignored us at checkin and started serving other customers. Not great for a 5 star hotel. What I did enjoy about this hotel was the restaurants and bars. We decided to stay in one night and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel isn't in my preferred location in Melbourne but it is easy to get around with the tram virtually stopping at the front door.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandjSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear aandjSydney
Thank you for your review. I was disheartened to read that you did not have a seamless check in experience, please accept my apologies for this.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from the best stay ever in Melbourne! The staff were so friendly they really made the stay something special.
Our room was quiet and extremely well serviced.The double delux was a good size and had a fantastic shower. We chose to join the Club InterContinental as it was a special birthday treat and we were not dissappointed.Would suggest to anybody wanting a special treat to do the same. Without a doubt we shall return to this Hotel again. Shall not even consider anywhere else to stay when going to Melbourne.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor just above the Club lounge. Perfectly situated . Very quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear SueGeoff
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that the hotel team helped make your stay special. Club InterContinental is indeed a very special place and I am so glad you were able to make the most of it on this occasion.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have family and friends in Melbourne and I am Melbourne born. This is a super city and sometimes when we want to play tourist this is where we stay. Not the Paris end of Collins St but the other end. A good walk downhill to the city's heart. A very smart hotel with good staff and lovely comfortable rooms. A very quiet hotel with a nice vibe, great to be close to Etihad stadium for sports or concerts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange11rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Ange11rocks
Thank you for your review and great feedback of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the intercontinental hotel in Melbourne to celebrate his birthday and we had an amazing time.

We stayed in the intercontinental king club room and I can assure you that this room did not disappoint!

We were treated so well, the staff were so friendly and made sure we were happy and comfortable at all times.

We also dined at the hotel resturant, Alluvial and enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast in the club lounge. My boyfriend had even said that it was the best breakfast he had ever had and he is hard to impress!

I will be returning to the intercontinental hotel in Melbourne in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brea90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Brea90,
Thank you for your kind review and may I please take this chance to wish your boyfriend a very happy birthday! I was so glad to read that you were able to make the most of the Club InterContinental Lounge; it is indeed a very special place and that you enjoyed Alluvial Restaurant so much too.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights; Thursday, Friday and Saturday. I had some initial concerns about the potential noise since all rooms look onto a central atrium with the hotel restaurant and bar on the ground floor. My concerns were unfounded though, as the rooms have very good sound insulation and we weren't disturbed at all.

The staff are unfailingly courteous and very helpful, although the network cable in the room was faulty, and we needed to re-make the bed with a blanket (instead of the quilt) on each night, despite asking to have the quilt removed.

Breakfast in the Alluvial restaurant was very good, with quality food and chefs ready to cook eggs or omelettes for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enigmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Lurch0001,
Thank you for sharing with me your great feedback. I was so delighted to read your comments, in particular about the hotel team, and I will be sure to share this with them.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,032 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,832 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,465 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £111 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing