We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was ok, the breakfast was outstanding, everything was clean, but the room definitely was not five star... For the price you would expect a lot more.... Perhaps a bath, bigger bathroom.... The bar was limited and the location is a bit more of a walk to the sights than other accommodation in Melbourne. Would stay again... If it was on sale.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rustykiwinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear rustykiwinz,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and would return. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    571
    199
    65
    39
See reviews for
254
861
129
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Wonderful building with character and tasetfully transformed into a hotel

The pool and gym area on the 10th floor has an attractive outlook and ambience and overall a pleasant place to chill out or workout.

Kingsize room I would consider an average size for a hotel although pleasantly appointed. One big let down is the placement of the TV to the side of the bed rather than in front of the bed which made it uncomfortable to watch TV in bed.

Bathroom was functional rather than capacious but the shower pressure was very feeble. Usually 5star hotels have power showers that are sufficient to clean you without soap, there is no excuse for a 5 star hotel to have feeble showers.

The room has a terrace but the French doors were locked for security and safety reasons meaning the terrace couldn't be enjoyed, with the poor shower and placement of TV these badly let down the room experience.

We stayed on the 7th floor so you don't have a row of rooms opposite you. On lower floors you will have rooms opposite you so privacy could be a concern for some although personally if people want to admire my handsome physique I don't mind but draw the line at skanky women.

Nearly all the staff we came into contact were very polite, helpful and courteous with the exception of the concierge whom seemed reluctant to acknowledge you as you greeted the with a cheery hello as you came back and forth in the hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reverend-spock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear reverend-spock,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the building, it is indeed one of Melbourne’s most unique heritage facades. Thank you for your other feedback, please know that I will be sure to share it with the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This Hotel is in a truly beautiful old building but the refurbishments are magnificent. Our room was lovely, staff excellent and the meals were delicious. We used the pool in the mornings and really pleased with the facilities. We will definitely go back there. Great breakfasts also but they have been renowned for this for many years.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear surfingtoday,

Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Have just returned from a 6 night stay at The Rialto. Great staff who looked after us very well. Had a lovely room but found the hotel to be overall quite dark - a restriction of its past life. Superb location allowed us to walk wherever we wanted to go. Close to many attractions. Only disappointment was the breakfast. The buffet on the first day was quite cold and although we advised staff who took immediate action to fix, the rest rest of the stay did not see much improvement. Omelets (cooked when requested) were terrific and hot!!! Treat yourself to a Club Room - it is worth the extra. Thanks to all the staff who made our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are worth the extra $$. You will hear traffic at the front of the hotel but it did not di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUThere_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear CUThere_69,

Thank you for your kind feedback, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will look into your feedback regarding the breakfast buffet and be sure to pass your feedback onto the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Lakes Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My daughter had never been to Melbourne. I travelled with her & her husband (it was to celebrate his 40th) & their 7 y.o & 2 y.o. We had an interconnecting room which was very convenient. We arrived at the hotel early in the morning and was greeted by the concierge who was very helpfull in advising of places to go and then upon our return when the rooms were ready by midday. The staff in every section of the hotel were very pleasant & professional.
The rooms had lovely amenities including lovely fluffy slippers, comfortable pillows, good lighting, drapes which operated automatically. Dad & children enjoyed the pool & spa which was very clean. Choices for breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Diane D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

truly exceptional experience, employees were very accommodating and understanding with the situation i presented them at a ridiculous olcock.
the rooms are tastefully decorated, simplistic yet classy. very comfy bed with high quality sheets. super speedy internet connection.
the buffet breakfast had a wonderful selection, the made to order omelette was delicious. my only complaint of the hotel would be the lack attention paid by wait staff over breakfast, i felt blatantly overlooked in comparison to other diners,. Narrissa of reception and Aaron of concierge are certainly a credit to the hotel however as is the gorgeous man of valet.
the intercontinental encompasses great facilities, if only i could have stayed longer to enjoy them, i will certainly make reservations when next visiting on business

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleladywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear littleladywanderlust,

Thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again when next you travel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millicent, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed Friday 14th June, 2013. What a wonderful place, we have stayed here before and once again it surpassed our expectations. The room was lovely, clean and had everything we could have asked for. The staff were lovely and welcoming, right from our initial meeting with the concierge when we drove to the front doors, our check in, staff at the wine bar, and breakfast. Everyone on duty was very friendly and all smiled and greeted us with a "good morning" or "good afternoon". We were very impressed and have told many of our friends that this is the place to stay when in Melbourne. We will certainly be coming back again.
Thank you to everyone at the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto - you should be very proud of how you all conduct yourselves.

Room Tip: We chose the city escape king executive which was great value and on the 9th floor. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine300773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear sunshine300773,

Thank you for sharing your kind review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team. I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 159 in Melbourne
1,938 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,736 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing