We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars or more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #49 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Have stayed at the Intercontinental Melbourne many times over the last few years. Each stay gets better! Always stayed at Club level and being an ambassador always had a suite room. There so spacious and well appointed. You do really feel at home in a larger room that is commonly full of natural light. The rooms are always clean.

The club lounge has improved over time with eggs cooked to order. Although the breakfast downstairs is great. Take your pick which one. Always found my Ambassador benefits are honored in full each time.

The pool and spa rea is very nice, always clean and well cared for.

Overall can’t complain, look forward to my next stay in the coming weeks. Would recommended this hotel for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Club level or greater gives you the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DylanP_ADL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear DylanP_ADL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and experienced the benefits of your Ambassador membership. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I've been staying at the InterContinental for all trips to Melbourne in the last 2 years due to its convenient location for my work.

My most recent stay indicates signs of cost cutting at the expense of guest comfort and cleanliness.

My room service tray, left by me in the hallway at about 5pm, was not cleaned up when I left at 7pm. It was still in plain sight of all staff/guests when I returned at 11pm. It was still there when I left for work the next day at 8am. Is there not enough staff to check the corridors in over a 12 hour period or have they just walked past this all evening and night?

My room was not turned down in the evening. On seeing this I also noticed my sheets had not been changed. Instead there were two small signs placed. One saying 'As per your request we have not changed your sheets'; another sign saying that for a turndown I need to call before 6pm each day to request one.

The fact that I need to walk around my room, during a busy work trip, and read every little note and place those notes in the correct spot or make the appropriate calls by said time, is simply ridiculous. These things should be done unless told NOT to. Not the other way around.
The same goes for towels in the bathroom.

What’s next? Do I need to place a sign on the toilet for it to be cleaned? another in the sink? …maybe one in the shower?

The room should be cleaned completely every day and turned down. Very simple. If a hotel can't do this on a daily basis without me needing to tell you - it should not have 5 stars.
If I don’t want my sheets cleaned, towels changed, toilet washed in order to reduce water/energy costs to the environment, I’m fine with being given this choice, but for goodness sake, this can’t be used as the default so that management can cut costs.

This being said – the service at the front counter and on the door is excellent.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
6  Thank Tjob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Tjob22,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review. I am very sorry to hear you found elements of your stay dissatisfying. As is the industry standard, we give all our guests the choice to opt in for new towels and linen daily and you may indicate your desire for this through the in-room card. This is in line with our broader environmental initiatives however participation is entirely the choice of the guest. Equally turn down service is optional at your request to reduce unwanted interruptions during your stay. I am sorry you found this system problematic however and would very much like the opportunity to discuss your experience with you further. I have sent you my personal details via private message and invite you to contact me directly. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was the first time I have visited the Rialto after several years.

In terms of location it is very good with easy access into the CBD, major train stations etc. The Hotel itself is physically a very attractive building and the setting internally is quite stunning. This is unquestionably a different look and feel from other 5 star rated CBD hotel locations in our other Australian CBD Hotels.

This stay was, however, very disappointing from a service perspective.

My chief issue was that, on arrival I presented a credit card, as usual, so an imprint could be taken for any extra charges. I had already prepaid my two nights accommodation. The first morning of my stay I realised, however, that my card had been debited for close to another $800. I queried this with reception and they acknowledged this was incorrect, but without apology. I was advised this would simply be acquitted following my departure. I asked that it be adjusted as the amount debited was large and well in excess of the cost of my prepaid booking. I was told action would be taken. The excess debit remained the next day on my departure. I again noted the issue and requested that it be adjusted promptly. It was 5 days before the amount was acquitted (this is not an issue just of bank clearance times - my experience is that other service providers process credits immediately).

Now this wasn't a problem for me as such but it could be for someone travelling extensively carrying a large amount of expense on their card.

This issue came on top of a couple of other instances of average and poor service in my two night stay.

I know that errors occur. I accept that. The mark of good service in a hotel is that when something does go wrong it is then dealt with quickly, efficiently and effectively. In effect a focus on customer service requires that you over service to fix the problem This did not occur. My strong sense was that customer service at the Rialto is about a standard process and that when something went wrong staff continued to follow that process. There was no apology, no follow through on corrective action, no customer service.

I will be disinclined to use The Rialto again and would not recommend it.

I must in conclusion acknowledge the great service from the gentleman who greeted me at the door on arrival and farewelled me on departure. It is a shame that the rest of the service was not on a par.

For those choosing to stay .... I found Wotif rates better than booking with the hotel direct.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear JeremyC-99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. May I first apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with your card charge and the manner in which this was handled. Please know that I will be following up procedures with the team. In regards to booking channels, our best rate guarantee ensures guests who book direct through our website receive the best available rate so while they may be similar, there are never lower rates available through third party booking services. I would still very much like the opportunity to discuss your stay with you and have sent you my personal details via private message. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It has been a very long time since I have experienced the high level of customer service that I got on my recent stay at the hotel. I was quiet overwhelmed by the welcome that I received and it began as soon as it got out of the taxi and continued until I picked my luggage up late on the day of our checking out. I look forward to my next stay in Melbourne and I am positive that it will be at the Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto. I am sure that many businesses in my home state would benefit from lifting their customer service to the level that your hotel has achieved. Many thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Derani P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Rooms are well appointed, our room was spacious + bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathroom a bit small but shower and amenities very good. All staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. Buffet breakfast has a variety of choices with eggs made to order. Only downside, we requested daily newspaper which we didn't receive. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the corridor which was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita-Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Rita-Marie Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with your newspaper and will raise this with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Was located centrally for us, we went to SeaWorld (walking distance), and caught a taxi up to the eating district, close to many shops. Had a lovely time. Windows faced inwards, pretty. Unfortunately I couldnt sit out there though, all sealed off. Lovely view. Enjoyed the Spa/Sauna/heated pool in the evenings, had a lovely view of the city from the top

Room Tip: if you want a view of the city, gotta ask for it. Half the rooms enjoy a view of the inside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russian_Jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Russian_Jag,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately due to health and safety regulations not all our rooms have balcony access, however when booking an executive room you may request one with access and we will do our best to accommodate this subject to availability. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just enjoyed another night of blissful rest at The Intercontinental. Loved the new touch of an email sent several days prior to my arrival giving details of the hotel, how to get there and general information including a very handy weather forecast for the duration of the booking

Room was spotless as always, staff very welcoming, room service prompt and delivered with a smile and my dinner was so so tasty!

Plenty of desk space to work from, quality toiletries in the bathroom and sumptuous pillows and bed. Always a good night's sleep

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank CarolynM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Mades66,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your kind review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,608 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,058 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
950 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
8,718 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £113 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing