We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The usual Intercontinental experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The usual Intercontinental experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. The hotel is well situated in the CBD area - easy access to trams and walking distance to main shopping areas, Southern Cross station and outlet shopping. The room was well appointed although a little dated. The selection at breakfast was typical buffet fare, but very nice and a good selection, including a do it yourself juice. Service was good for a busy time of day. The Club was a little small, not enough chairs at peak times - the staff managed this very well, and I guess it is time for the Management to explore another area or different groupings of tables and chairs. The lack of space wasn't helped with the many children using the Club as well. As IHG members we were upgraded - a nice room, with a very comfortable bed - and no compliants with the room or facilities. Overall - no issues and what I have come to expect staying at an Intercontinental.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilleePillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear LilleePillee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel within walking distance to all the main shopping areas. I hope that you had the opportunity to see the new H&M store!

I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germerhausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    554
    194
    63
    36
See reviews for
244
844
129
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Have stayed a few times in the last 12 months. Really enjoy staying here.
From entering the hotel you feel like a valued guest with great doorman and concierge.
The rooms are of a high quality with nice duvet's pillows etc.
Breakfast is fantastic.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJButler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear MJButler76,

As a return guest to the hotel thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

It is so great to hear that you feel like a valued guest from the moment you enter the door. I am glad that you also enjoy you breakfast with us, the most important meal of the day!

I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne and the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershuasen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The helpfulness of the staff is the very 1st thing you experience at the door to check in. Our room was upgraded and things just got better as the day progress, fruit in the room, nice comfy bed and a great hot shower to relax after a long flight. The balcony was looking inside over the bar area and restaurant the stay was awesome and highly recommend staying at this heritage hotel,

Room Tip: Ask and the staff will do their best to accommodate your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colonel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Colonel1957,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us.

It is always great to hear that we are on the right track with making people feel welcome at the hotel and I am glad to hear that you found my colleagues to be helpful.

I hope that if you have the chance to visit Melbourne again we would have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch,New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent hotel. Well situated for City centre. Twenty minute walk to South Bank. Well appointed rooms. Restaurant large with wonderful breakfast. Helpful staff giving good service. Historic building which has been well preserved. Swimming pool, gym and spa on top floor.

Room Tip: All have view over atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Cozboz,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share it with me.

I am delighted to hear that you loved the two buildings in which the hotel is housed. They certainly have a rich Melbourne history and I consider myself lucky to be working among such beautiful architecture.

I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne and the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at the Intercontintal on the Saturday. All staff from the valet to the waiters need to be commended for their world class service. Celebrated my wife's birthday and were treated to a room upgrade, glasses of champagne, discounts on the breakfast buffet (which was delicious) and allowed a late checkout. Would have loved to stay another night!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyboy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear BillyBoy26,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne.

It’s great to hear that my colleagues were able to provide you with world class service and I hope that your wife’s Birthday was a memorable one.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was impressed how seriously the hotel staff took customer service.
This started from the welcome card from Sebastian Germerhausen and then continued consistently during our stay.
Every staff member we met during our
was courteous, cheerful and helpful.
At check in Andrew and Michael did their absolute best to meet our Ambassador programme needs. We appreciated how graciously and quickly our suite
was arranged.
The Club staff (Emily, Coco and Ty) did not let how busy the Club was on Saturday night prevent them from courteous and attentive service.
Breakfast in Bluestone was also excellent and the self serve juice bar and the honeycomb were very sophisticated touches.
My suggestion would be to consider a quiet area in the Club away from mobile telephones and sport on the television. Also I would like to recognise that
Club staff were obviously put in a difficult position when guests chose to disregard the request for no
children in the lounge after 6:30 pm.
This guest noncompliance was handled discretely and tactfully.
Other reviewers have made comparison to other leading IHG properties and I will too:
in my opinion the Incontinental Rialto Melbourne is
easily equal to Bangkok, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur
with distinctly Melbourne touches.
Thank you for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiggerDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear DiggerDeals,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review and I am delighted to receive your feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you found my colleagues to be courteous, cheerful and helpful and they all made you feel welcoming during your stay.

I will be sure to recognise those colleagues you mentioned in your review for their efforts in making you feel at home.

I hope I might have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in March. The hotel is really well located on Collins street, in the heart of the city. Staff were excellent and the breakfast in the restaurant very good. We had a club room which was well appointed, clean and tidy. The club lounge was not large. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R8fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear R8fan,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share the kind feedback from your recent stay with us in March.

I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel to be well appointed on Collins street and that you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant.

I hope that we have opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,244 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 158 in Melbourne
1,905 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
771 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, IHG, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing