We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and great overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong Victoria
Level Contributor
211 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great overall experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From arrival through to check out the service was sensational. Staff were attentive and super efficient right from the moment when Cliff took care of our vehicle.
Booked for club floor room and were upgraded to a suite.
We have stayed at a few ICs before and this one is up there on top of our list.
Bedding super comfortable. Air conditioning efficient and silent.
Club floor cocktails could do with a better selection of wine. We could do a lot better in Australia than showcase Jacobs Creek!
Breakfast superb.
I would definitely return to the IC Melbourne.

Room Tip: Avoid booking the cheapest room. Most likely will not have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Bozz56,

Thank you for taking the time to share the kind feedback from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne.

I am so delighted to hear that right from the start Cliff was able to make your stay a memorable one right from the start. Thank you also for your comments regarding the wine selection in the Club Lounge, I will be sure to share this feedback with the team as we continue to work toward making every aspect of your stay truly memorable.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germerhausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    571
    199
    65
    39
See reviews for
254
861
129
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great stay at Rialto- enjoyed the club room with full access to the lounge on level 4/5. One staff member at the check was rude/sarcastic and made a personal joke- but everything else was great. Cliff at the concierge/door had great service/recommendations. The hotel was a good 15 minute walk to the centre of town/mall, but still a good location. Enjoyed the hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Bert D,

Thank you for staying with us in Melbourne and for sharing the feedback from your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us however I do apologise for your check-in experience. This is certainly not to our usual standards and I will be sure to address this with the team.

I hope that if you visit Melbourne again I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for a truly memorable experience.
Kind regards,

Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

It was our wedding anniversary and we normally stay at a particular 5 star Melbourne hotel when in town but it was booked out so we opted for the Intercontinental which was approximately $470 for the night, pricey but it was our anniversary. It was a mistake. We went out for dinner and skipped breakfast the next morning just to leave. Valet parking costs are atrocious. We are used to being fussed over at the other hotel even thought we are ordinary people. This hotel didn't begin to compare. We won't be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Jen B,

Thank you for sharing the feedback from your recent stay with us in Melbourne.

I was disappointed to note that your recent stay with us was less than memorable I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. I have messaged you my contact information so that we can facilitate this and I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you personally.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

An excellent venue choice for our High Tea right from the start! We sourced online, visited the venue, met the courteous staff prior to our event, and all continued very smoothly from start to finish. Our guests were well cared for, a warm welcome from staff on arrival with coats taken and tea/coffee served from that point onwards. Food was delicious, plentiful, and the three tiered presentation added a special glam touch, champagne topped it off! We had a whole spacious area to ourselves for the afternoon with the atrium skyline ceiling providing plenty of light and atmosphere. We would not hesitate to return for a special occasion in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ssz59,

Thank you for sharing the feedback from your recent High Tea Experience in Alluvial Restaurant. I am delighted to hear that it was such an enjoyable experience for you and your guests and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnybank
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Love this hotel, rooms beautiful, spacious, love alluvial the restaurant, one of the best Buffett breakfasts I have ever had, brilliant choice.
Nice pool, helpful staff.
Good position in Melbourne approx 10 mins walk from most places you'd want to see

Room Tip: They're all good face inwards no views-- unless you book the turret room!! First class all the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jacqui B,

Thank you for sharing the kind feedback from your recent stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne.

It is lovely to hear that you love the hotel and in particular Alluvial Restaurant and the breakfast offering.

I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Booked last Nov as got a good rate for a wedding anniversary. Upgraded to an iconic suite from junior suite and room was amazing! Lovely friendly greeting from the concierge & efficient check in. Club lounge service was good - tried afternoon tea, canapés & breakfast. My friends did have a problem with their room & you know a great hotel when there is a high level of customer service. Well done Rialto for restoring our faith & we will be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickiCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear NickiCheshire,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your wedding anniversary and for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade to the iconic suite and that we have restored your faith in the hotel by providing great customer service.

I very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I missed my flight and had to overnight in Melbourne, With my laptop and iphone flat I had to go straight to front desk and ask for the cheapest overnight rate. At 10pm and checking out again at 6.00am all I needed was a basic room for the night. For $298 I received a comfortable room at the end of the hallway on a low floor and could not have been more happy with it for the price. For the business traveller if you can secure a good rate this hotel is well located , all the usual 5 star facilities you would expect. Staff were all very friendly , courteous and professional and just get on with their job. Intercon is a low risk option and it would be very rare to have a bad experience with them anywhere in the world

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipstream01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Slipstream01,

Thank you for taking the time to share the kind feedback from your recent stay with us.

Whilst it must have been frustrating to miss your flight home I am glad that my colleagues were able to relieve some of this annoyance by providing you with come comfortable accommodation and a friendly, courteous and professional attitude.

I hope that should you have the requirement to stay in Melbourne again I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,413 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,122 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 159 in Melbourne
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,597 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,723 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing