We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #40 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This has to be one of the most amazing hotel experiences I have ever had. As soon as I walked in the door the staff was amazing. The hotel has an excellent club lounge and worth the upgrade, a great pool (hot tub could be hotter and more jets), and the food was great. Tutu in the Club Lounge and James & Jacob the Concierges' went above and beyond any service levels and were truly star employees.

If you are ever in Melbourne you should truly stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    575
    201
    67
    41
See reviews for
259
864
129
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Some of the best rooms I've stayed in ever. Room service menu good quality & selection. Location great for central Melb CBD. Not as kid friendly as i hoped but good service generally.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I enjoyed my stay over the weekend at the InterContinental Melbourne. The hotel is in a very good location, central to everything and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very modern and tastefully decorated, though a little on the small side. The hotel public areas are also very modern and classy.
For the busy location the hotel is based it is very quiet in the rooms at night and I barely heard any street noise.
The only small complaint I have regarding my stay at this hotel was the quality of the bed linen. It was a bit on the coarse side and I don't think it had quite the fresh smell that you would expect from clean sheets. The bed itself was quite comfortable though.
I would definitely consider staying here again next time I visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oztraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I probably would have rated this hotel much higher if it weren't for a few issues during my stay that left me disappointed give the price I'd paid for a "5 star" star.

We discovered a dirty, used tissue under our desk left over from the previous guest.
The room was full of mosquitoes, we counted over 25 in the bedroom and bathroom. We had to call down twice to have them sprayed. The common areas including the Club Lounge were also teaming with mosquitoes. I can sympathize with the hotel as it's been a particularly bad season for mosquitoes in Melbourne, however it was still pretty off-putting seeing them everywhere.

Those issues aside the hotel is really quite nice - set in a magnificent old building. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjg004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We had a joyful stay and enjoyed the great room, great location, great breakfast and good "old school" quality service and friendliness of the well trained staff. Normally you can't go wrong with an Intercontinental property - this one is no exception to the rule.

Only con was a parking ticket (my own mistake - hint: the public parking wardens make white marks on one of your wheels so moving it one spot doesn't help if that white mark is still visible)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPH360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

It was our first time at this hotel and overall it was a very postive experience. We received a room upgrade, were put into it straight away despite arriving before checkin time and the room was spacious and very comfortable. Apart from the business centre (see below) everyone we met there, from the concierge, to the bar staff, to chatting to the cleaner of our room were friendly and helpful. The concierge was able to obtain a difficult restaurant booking for us and made a few other suggestions as well.

The minor drawback was the useless "business centre" -- unstaffed on the weekend, with four computers and one two day old paper the only things in there. One computer did not connect to the net, you had to ring up and pay for internet time, and it would not print boarding passes but saved them to the desktop that noone could access! But that was one minor (although frustrating at the time) part of the weekend and hopefully it will be easily sorted for the future.

The location is a little away from the main areas that we were going to but only a few extra minutes. And it may be that the new Grossi restaurant Merchant, which has just opened, will be a little inconvenient by not taking bookings even for hotel guests. (And while no big deal, being able to charge it to the room would be a nice touch.) But the food and service there were really good even though it has just opened and that topped off a fun weekend there. It would be worth coming back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vague travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed here only for a night, when I went for a business meeting. The location is very close to the Flinders Street Station, but at night the surroundings can get quite deserted. There are a few backpacker hostels around, as well as a few party clubs. And usually, this is the crowd that is present at night. The immigrant museum is also just around the corner.

But the hotel and the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,650 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,187 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,946 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing